We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makedonia Palace
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Astoria(Thessaloniki)
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Palace Art Hotel(Thessaloniki)
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mediterranean Palace(Thessaloniki)
$173
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Luxembourg(Thessaloniki)
$92
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
$142
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Porto Palace Hotel(Thessaloniki)
$132
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bristol Hotel(Thessaloniki)
$185
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveler rating
545
380
96
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
380
96
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewmain restaurantsea frontstar hotelvery nice hoteloutdoor poolcity centreamazing breakfastrooms are spaciousexcellent locationwalking distancebusiness tripbreakfast buffet ismini barhotel is locatedbars and restaurantsrenovation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Rather like an old seaside resort that has fallen on hard times the Makedonia Palace is a large hotel by the sea that now offers only three star comfort. We had booked a suite which must have been great thirty years ago but is in urgent need of complete modernisation. The aconditioning in the bedroom didn't work at all (well it is thirty years old) and with a friend who had booked another non smoking suite and was given a foul suite smelling one like an airport smoking room we were jointly moved to share the two bedroomed Presidential Suite. Another disappointment despite it's massive size. A €600 price on a room posted at €3,900 was still overpriced. A/c didn't manage to cool the room properly (and another that didn't work at all), a mini bar fridge that wasn't working either; and a noisy bedroom on the 7th floor where the double glazing has clearly failed.

I hate to go to a place where I wished I'd stayed somewhere else but Trip Adviser users are absolutely correct. If you want modern luxury stay at the Met.

Finally a comment on the other reviews of this hotel. If you are used to staying at one star hotels this might appear like a good hotel. I'm used to staying at 5 star hotels around the world and this really is lousy. As for the much lauded breakfast buffet; yes it's ok but nothing like a great buffet in Mandarin Oriental, Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons. I suppose it all depends on what you are used to (or maybe how much you were incentivised to give a
positive review)!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim503s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were on the second leg of our journey after a four night stay in the Anatolia Hotel which is about a half hour walk to Makedonia Palace. This was for another four night stay as we fancied a larger resort type hotel for a few days before heading south to Sithonia. A big rather ugly looking building, which in my opinion wastes a lot of space in areas, but lovely rooms, breakfast choice was huge and always so much of it with attentive staff. Have to say that you don't get the same treatment in this size of hotel, especially after our stay in the Anatolia (can't be beaten), but then you do get the proximity to the boardwalk, the White Tower area, shops and restaurants and of course the pool. Our only complaint was that over the weekends there are a lot more visitors that are greek/surrounding countries that visit and there are simply not enough sunbeds/umbrellas to go around. Yet above the pool is a huge patio that is completely empty and could make good use of the sea views in making it a sunbathing patio for those who do just want to sit around and read or relax. At one point we had people lying on the floor next to us or asking to share umbrellas and for this size and grading of hotel, we would expect better ammenities. On a good side, the greeks are good at not reserving beds, so you don't find lots of towels on empty beds when you do arrive poolside. Free wifi, great rooms, we were relocated to a seaview after a small complaint which was lovely and would stay here again for the convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if you're city side, it can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieAntoinette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel is not exactly in the center located but alongside the harbour road after the white tower, which is still o.k. The service is excellent, the outside pool for a city like Thessaloniki quite big, but what one mention, is the excellent buffet breakfast choice, really recommendable. We loved it and we'll be back. Even though from the outside the hotel doesn't look as great, but inside it is really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roswitha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and it still looks the same. Rooms are nice and clean but a bit dated. I guess trying to maintain the classical look means that things look old.

Rooms were clean and functional. We had a nice big balcony overlooking the street. Quite noisy but the double glazed doors made a difference.

Beds were comfortable and the rooms size was average.

Breakfast was fantastic. The range of food was great and very fresh.

The pool was ok. Could do with bait of a facelift. The exterior of the hotel looks very poor and not quite 5 star looking.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room service was very nice.

Overall quite nice and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blublufish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The hotel is a real 5 star by the sea. It has a guarded closed parking place. The breakfast is perfect with many local food and lots of choices. Room service was perfect, rooms are very big and confortable. Only negative is that the swimming pool is too little and it was closed when we arrived. Other than that, it worths all the price you pay and %100 recommended! Perfect hotel in Thessaloniki!

Room Tip: room with a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esraraphaeldaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews