We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Thessaloniki”
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in Thessaloniki”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The room was a little noisy but this city never sleeps, right? The room was clean, staff was very friendly, and the location is perfect (downtown, extreamly near the airport bus station and the sea). So if you can choose this hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    150
    56
    13
    1
See reviews for
75
125
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We are generally in agreement with other reviewers that this hotel works well for a budget accommodation right in the heart of the city. Only two blocks from the pedestrian promenade by the sea, a block from the bus stop, it couldn't have a better location. Room was quite small and a bit on the dingy side. Bathroom clean but had no place to hold the shower head. However, when we brought this to their attention, it was fixed the next day. Good service! The two brothers who mostly run the place are friendly and very helpful (an older man checked us in and he wasn't quite as friendly but no real problem). Breakfast is basic but fine, and is served in a lovely old dining room. Overall, the hotel building is quite historic and charming with its marble staircase, quaint elevator, etc. The rooms could use some updating, but then they might have to increase prices so it's good value as is. Even tho in a very busy location, the outside traffic noise is manageable by closing all the windows and turning on the fan. The only negative for us is that the doors and marble floors are very loud and echo, so we did wake up a lot with people coming and going. However, overall we felt that the owners are trying hard to offer a good, comfortable place to stay at a very decent price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, friendly stuff, very good value. However, rooms require some maintenance. Bathroom is tiny, the shower is missing a door and the beds are noisy and squicking. Overall good value and nice place to stay in the hurt of the city

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Wales
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Bookings website said this was within 100yds of bus station unfortunately not the main long distance bus station which is about 5k away (€7 taxi) that said we got a fabulous welcome and the hotel is immaculate, old charm, high ceilings, lift out of an Agatha Christie novel. Brilliant. Good continental breakfast
30m from airport bus stop. I would stay there again without hesitation and probably will.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is a gem! Run by 2 adorable brothers who cant help enough. Clean and grand! Fantastic old lift in centre of building. free wifi. Made the end of our Greek trip very special. Thessaloniki was a total surprise...very cosmopolitan, lovely cafe and student scene. great bars and night life!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Picked this hotel via the internet for its location & we were not disappointed. Close to the airport bus stop, shops & promenade. The staff were so friendly & extremely helpful, we were in the Thessaloniki area travelling around for 2 weeks & returned to this hotel for middle weekend & final weekend as it was so lovely, each time the staff made us very welcome & were genuinely interested in where we had been. Older style character building with a great original lift, crispy clean sheets & loads to eat at breakfast. Would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Either ask for a room at the back - but you can't sit on a balcony & watch the world go by o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.0 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
695 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#12 of 58 in Thessaloniki
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: 21 Mitropoleos, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "TOURIST" housed in one of the most historic and listed buildings in Thessaloniki, built in 1923. Located in heart of the city center, on the main street Metropoleos, one of the most important shopping, business and cultural arteries of our city, just 20 meters from the seaside of Thessaloniki and the famous Aristotelous Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing