We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located not far from the city center with very easy access to the lively areas of Thessaloniki. Spent 2 days with my wife we found it good, comfortable and reasonable priced. The breakfast was also good with lots of variety. The bathroom was quite small but this don't bothered us as it was pretty functional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words! You really encourage us to keep up with the good work, provide quality services at low rates and further improve.
Your feedback is extremely important to us and we thank you again once more. We'll be happy to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    197
    59
    14
    2
See reviews for
69
160
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The building has been very attractively renovated, with a somewhat Scandanavian feeling to the rooms, very fresh and well-maintained. Nice to come back to after a day in the city centre. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and a writing desk. Bathrooms are small (but perfectly functional), but I'm happy to have the space in the bedroom. Good shower.

I was lucky to be given a room at the back (402), delightfully quiet. But anyhow, in summer in Thessaloniki you'll need to shut the windows and keep the air-con on at night; I soon got used to this and slept well. Low rooms on Olympou Street will be a bit noisier but (if you follow the above advice) OK. There are bars on the street, but not too rowdy. The hotel is popular with Greeks who do keep Greek hours and do return to their rooms in the early hours of the morning, but this must be common to all hotels; it didn't bother me. Corridors are carpeted and rooms very well sound-proofed.

Breakfast is generous, unchanging from day-to-day and not exciting, but perfectly adequate. The reception desk is staffed by family members and cheerful and helpful. Great location, close to Roman Forum, easy walking throughout the city centre, and short walk to bus stops on Egnatia for university etc. Tree-lined street below is the Bit Pazar (antiques market), and kitty-corner at the bottom of this is an excellent restaurant behind a green hedge; also plenty of pastry houses nearby.

I spent a week here for a conference, did quite a bit of writing in my room too, and was sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or higher will be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bolbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay in our hotel and especially for taking the time to write this wonderful review! Your kind words encourage us and further motivate us to improve our services.
Indeed the "alternative" area around the hotel is becoming more and more popular but guests staying at high floors and/ or in internal rooms (like the one you had) shouldn't be annoyed.
I also confirm that our awarded "Greek Breakfast" is not changing from day to day according to the "regulations".

Take care and thank you again for giving us all this feedback! We'll be happy to welcome you again anytime soon!

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Greece, after having stayed in two comparably priced hotels in other cities. The location is great. . . Close to St. Demetrios and the waterfront. Also, the service was warm and friendly. The problem was that the non-smoking room was infused with the odor of cigarettes. When we asked about another room, someone was immediately sent to show us another possibility. Unfortunately the problem was the same in the other room.
Also, the bathroom had mold in the shower and despite the clean sink and toilet, it was obvious that the wall tiles need a good cleaning. Not the place for those with low tolerance for the odor of cigarettes or high standards for cleanliness. Nice breakfast, reasonably priced and friendly service, however. One final note...the hallways are all dark and on sensors for movement, so though they do come on in the space where people are walking, there is an eerie feel in the hallways.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay in our hotel and especially for giving us your valuable feedback. Our hotel indeed has non-smoking rooms, but unfortunately not any non-smoking guests... As you may have noticed, our country, Greece, may be one of the few in the EU where the smoking (or anti-smoking) law is inexistent. As a result, hoteliers can't do anything to stop guests from smoking inside the rooms when at the same time they are allowed to smoke in ALL restaurants around the country. I don't know if you noticed but we place an ashtray in every balcony so that guests do not use glasses or throw the cigarettes on the street... unfortunately they take the very same ashtray in the room and smoke while seating on the bed. And there is nothing we can do about it.
As for the bathroom, I must say I am surprised since the hotel is very lately refurbished and we usually receive congratulations for our cleanliness. In any case I am sure we all have our bad moments and I dearly apologize.
Finally, the sensors of movement in the hallways is part of a "green" project and the idea of saving energy...
I hope next time you visit we can make your stay more pleasant. Take care and thank you again for having taken the time to write this review!

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated, although the bathroom is very small and I found it to be a bit uncomfortable. The service is excellent and the breakfast very decent. The location is also very convenient as it is central, but not on a main busy road. However, one of the sides of the hotel is close to a number of small bars and it can be a bit noisy at night (if visited when the weather allows for outdoor sitting). My overall impression was very good and I strongly recommend it as I believe it is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay in our hotel and especially for taking the time to write this review! Your kind words encourage us and further motivate us to do what we know best, provide just like you said, descent services in a well maintained 3* boutique hotel.
Indeed the "alternative" area around the hotel is becoming more and more popular and especially during the summer the bars around can be annoying to some extent. Next time you come, please let us know if you wish an internal more quiet room.

Take care and thank you again for giving us all this feedback!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and pleasent accomodation just inside the beatiful and historic center of Thessaloniki! Recommend to visit hotel olymbia at least once in a time during your holidays or business trips!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words! Your feedback really encourages us to keep up with the good work, provide quality services at low rates and further improve.

We'll be happy to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chios
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed to ``Olympia hotel`` for the first time in mid-April 2013 for 3 days,travelling for bussiness.Usually i used to stay at another (very good)hotel at the same area,but this time after i have heard a lot of good comments for this hotel,i decided to stay here.And i did`nt regret it.The hotel lies at the north-west side of Aristotelous sguare area ,about 7-8 minutes walk to the center.The check-in procedure was fast and the (Greek)staff at the reception was helpfull and willing.The two elevators of the 7th floor hotel was fast and comfort for luggage.The rooms are rather small, but very clean and the amenities of them are over average.Sound proofing (internal and external)are very satisfied and the sleep guality is very good.The common areas of the hotel are spacious and very clean.Superb breakfast for the variety and the quality also.I had the opportunity to have dinner at the restaurant of the hotel,it was nice too.The check-out fast and with no problems.The staff of the hotel is friendly and proffesional.There is a GREAT problem with the parking,but all over Thessaloniki center is a common and usuall fact.Overall a worthwhile choice for staying at downtown Thessaloniki.I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miltoschios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay in our hotel and especially for taking the time to write this review!! Your kind words encourage us and further motivate us to do what we know best, be hospitable and provide a "home" for those traveling!
Parking around the historic centre of the city is indeed a nightmare and in our hotel we only have a limited number of parking spaces around the premises. However, there are to affiliate garages, 5' away from the hotel, which charge €10-13/ day. As for the size of our rooms, there are three distinctive categories based on m2: business, executive and junior suite. We'll be happy to demonstrate them to you, on your next visit.

Take care and thank you again for taking the time to write this review!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed there for one night last December on a business trip. The rooms are quite small but with tasteful and modern decoration. Breakfast is certainly above average but the hot dishes like scrambled eggs, bacon, steamed eggs etc are prepared later than the regular starting hour. Staff is helpful and professional. Parking is a bit difficult, there are only a few spaces in front of the hotel. Reception desk is not open after late hours and you have to access the hotel via a code keypad in the entrance. My only problem is that i felt that the aircondition was not heating the room well enough, but the reception desk officer offered me an electric heater immediately. If you are looking for travelling in Thessaloniki on a low budget, this hotel might be a good choice. It is centrally located. Totally recommended for business trips, and for holidays on low hotel budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggelos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words! You really encourage us to keep up with the good work, provide quality services at low rates and further improve.
Our breakfast buffet has really changed the last 15 days, due to certain changes in our kitchen staff! We are very proud to present our new, differentiated buffet!
Front desk is open 24/7 - there is always a night shift. It is just for security reasons that we further lock the main entrance and allow entry with a pin code.
As for heating, I believe it must have been one of those unlucky moments where something occurs in the VRV central heating system that we have since 2007 (after the thorough renovation and refurbishment). We apologize if this made you feel uncomfortable.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us all this feedback. We'll be happy to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#18 of 58 in Thessaloniki
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#12 of 58 in Thessaloniki
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Property: Hotel Olympia
Address: 65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 546 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#13 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1929. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including superior and family rooms, one junior suite and one room for the physically challenged) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Forum all share the same design features and facilities like flat screens, parquet flooring, brand furniture and more. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari Bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Omikron Conference Hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing