We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and pleasent accomodation just inside the beatiful and historic center of Thessaloniki! Recommend to visit hotel olymbia at least once in a time during your holidays or business trips!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words! Your feedback really encourages us to keep up with the good work, provide quality services at low rates and further improve.

We'll be happy to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    185
    54
    13
    2
See reviews for
68
142
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chios
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed to ``Olympia hotel`` for the first time in mid-April 2013 for 3 days,travelling for bussiness.Usually i used to stay at another (very good)hotel at the same area,but this time after i have heard a lot of good comments for this hotel,i decided to stay here.And i did`nt regret it.The hotel lies at the north-west side of Aristotelous sguare area ,about 7-8 minutes walk to the center.The check-in procedure was fast and the (Greek)staff at the reception was helpfull and willing.The two elevators of the 7th floor hotel was fast and comfort for luggage.The rooms are rather small, but very clean and the amenities of them are over average.Sound proofing (internal and external)are very satisfied and the sleep guality is very good.The common areas of the hotel are spacious and very clean.Superb breakfast for the variety and the quality also.I had the opportunity to have dinner at the restaurant of the hotel,it was nice too.The check-out fast and with no problems.The staff of the hotel is friendly and proffesional.There is a GREAT problem with the parking,but all over Thessaloniki center is a common and usuall fact.Overall a worthwhile choice for staying at downtown Thessaloniki.I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miltoschios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay in our hotel and especially for taking the time to write this review!! Your kind words encourage us and further motivate us to do what we know best, be hospitable and provide a "home" for those traveling!
Parking around the historic centre of the city is indeed a nightmare and in our hotel we only have a limited number of parking spaces around the premises. However, there are to affiliate garages, 5' away from the hotel, which charge €10-13/ day. As for the size of our rooms, there are three distinctive categories based on m2: business, executive and junior suite. We'll be happy to demonstrate them to you, on your next visit.

Take care and thank you again for taking the time to write this review!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed there for one night last December on a business trip. The rooms are quite small but with tasteful and modern decoration. Breakfast is certainly above average but the hot dishes like scrambled eggs, bacon, steamed eggs etc are prepared later than the regular starting hour. Staff is helpful and professional. Parking is a bit difficult, there are only a few spaces in front of the hotel. Reception desk is not open after late hours and you have to access the hotel via a code keypad in the entrance. My only problem is that i felt that the aircondition was not heating the room well enough, but the reception desk officer offered me an electric heater immediately. If you are looking for travelling in Thessaloniki on a low budget, this hotel might be a good choice. It is centrally located. Totally recommended for business trips, and for holidays on low hotel budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggelos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words! You really encourage us to keep up with the good work, provide quality services at low rates and further improve.
Our breakfast buffet has really changed the last 15 days, due to certain changes in our kitchen staff! We are very proud to present our new, differentiated buffet!
Front desk is open 24/7 - there is always a night shift. It is just for security reasons that we further lock the main entrance and allow entry with a pin code.
As for heating, I believe it must have been one of those unlucky moments where something occurs in the VRV central heating system that we have since 2007 (after the thorough renovation and refurbishment). We apologize if this made you feel uncomfortable.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us all this feedback. We'll be happy to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed overnight there. Appart from the parking nightmare (for which Thessaloniki is famous for) I can hardly find any bad remark. Staff is friendly and very helpful, the hotel has a nice design, very fancy, modern style. The location is perfect, less than 10 min to the Aristotheles square. The only thing they should work on is try to provide parking for your guests cause it can cause a nightmare and ruin your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words!! They encourage us and further motivate us to do what we know best, be hospitable and provide a "home" for those traveling!
Parking around the historic centre of the city is indeed a nightmare and in our hotel we only have a limited number of parking spaces around the premises. However, there are to affiliate garages, 5' away from the hotel, which charge €10-13/ day. We'll make sure to inform you on your next visit!
Take care and thank you again for taking the time to write this review!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larnaka
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Olympia Hotel last week for a weekend break at Thessaloniki. Trip was more likely <family escape> as we had our little son with us!
Room was spacious and very clean the bathroom was very clean and spacious as well, breakfast was vey good and adequate enough, people of the hotel excellent as always! We had a great time at Thessaloniki.
If going back again we would definately stay at Olympia Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giannismaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your kind words! What more can a hotelier ask for than a satisfied guest who even takes the time to write a review!!
You really motivate us to keep up with the good work - provide quality services at low rates - and further improve.
Take care! We'll be happy to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Room & service was excellent and clean.

What needs improvement is the breakfast is too poor.

And the bathroom Shower is to small.

Car parking is free but only space for 6 cards and as the hotel is in the center is very difficult to find anywere else parking. I was lucky to find everynight at the hotel.



  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you dedicated to write this review. Indeed our hotel is the typical city 3* hotel with three types of rooms (business, executive/ family & junior suite) and no further facilities apart from the bar and the restaurant. However, bathrooms in executive rooms are larger. Furthermore we are working on improving the the breakfast buffet and the parking lot issue by having an affiliate garage (which charges very little for 24h) to better serve our guests.
Thank you again for your feedback and kind words regarding the service and cleanness and we hope next time you visit you will get to enjoy our new fitness room and sauna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel came through a recommendation from a business partner and I must say that it does represent a very good accommodation for its location, as it is close to the city center of Thessaloniki. The rooms are clean and spacious and have the added advantage to be rather new. The only shortcoming in my bathroom was the poorly designed shower tray regularly pouring water on the bathroom floor. Service level is good, personnel is helpful and friendly and does its best to grant an issue free stay in the hotel. The only real shortcoming is the internal restaurant that acts also as breakfast area, in both functions choice is very limited and food not of the best quality. The area offers limited alternatives in terms of restaurants, with a few tavernas and fast food joints. Plenty of traditional bouzukia and quality restaurants are available not far away in other areas of the city. I would definitely recommend it for business clients and tourists alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your long review and valuable feedback on the shortcomings you came across during your stay.
Indeed bathrooms either with a shower or a bathtub don't have a cabin but rather a curtain which makes it a bit difficult to handle with excess water. Although the hotel used to have cabins until 2005, while severely renovating, we chose to replace them and make the bathrooms more spacious.
As for H2O, our restaurant, it usually gets good critics but I'm sure we all have our bad moments. Our objective is to offer light dishes and easy to make Greek recipes somehow differentiated.
We hope that on your next visit our breakfast buffet and the new calorie intake menu will thrill you.
Take care and thank you again for taking the time to write this review!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#8 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#12 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#23 of 60 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#15 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
#37 of 60 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Property: Hotel Olympia
Address: 65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 546 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#14 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1929. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including superior and family rooms, one junior suite and one room for the physically challenged) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Forum all share the same design features and facilities like flat screens, parquet flooring, brand furniture and more. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari Bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Omikron Conference Hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing