We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
larnaka
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Olympia Hotel last week for a weekend break at Thessaloniki. Trip was more likely <family escape> as we had our little son with us!
Room was spacious and very clean the bathroom was very clean and spacious as well, breakfast was vey good and adequate enough, people of the hotel excellent as always! We had a great time at Thessaloniki.
If going back again we would definately stay at Olympia Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giannismaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your kind words! What more can a hotelier ask for than a satisfied guest who even takes the time to write a review!!
You really motivate us to keep up with the good work - provide quality services at low rates - and further improve.
Take care! We'll be happy to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    185
    54
    13
    2
See reviews for
68
142
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Room & service was excellent and clean.

What needs improvement is the breakfast is too poor.

And the bathroom Shower is to small.

Car parking is free but only space for 6 cards and as the hotel is in the center is very difficult to find anywere else parking. I was lucky to find everynight at the hotel.



  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you dedicated to write this review. Indeed our hotel is the typical city 3* hotel with three types of rooms (business, executive/ family & junior suite) and no further facilities apart from the bar and the restaurant. However, bathrooms in executive rooms are larger. Furthermore we are working on improving the the breakfast buffet and the parking lot issue by having an affiliate garage (which charges very little for 24h) to better serve our guests.
Thank you again for your feedback and kind words regarding the service and cleanness and we hope next time you visit you will get to enjoy our new fitness room and sauna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel came through a recommendation from a business partner and I must say that it does represent a very good accommodation for its location, as it is close to the city center of Thessaloniki. The rooms are clean and spacious and have the added advantage to be rather new. The only shortcoming in my bathroom was the poorly designed shower tray regularly pouring water on the bathroom floor. Service level is good, personnel is helpful and friendly and does its best to grant an issue free stay in the hotel. The only real shortcoming is the internal restaurant that acts also as breakfast area, in both functions choice is very limited and food not of the best quality. The area offers limited alternatives in terms of restaurants, with a few tavernas and fast food joints. Plenty of traditional bouzukia and quality restaurants are available not far away in other areas of the city. I would definitely recommend it for business clients and tourists alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your long review and valuable feedback on the shortcomings you came across during your stay.
Indeed bathrooms either with a shower or a bathtub don't have a cabin but rather a curtain which makes it a bit difficult to handle with excess water. Although the hotel used to have cabins until 2005, while severely renovating, we chose to replace them and make the bathrooms more spacious.
As for H2O, our restaurant, it usually gets good critics but I'm sure we all have our bad moments. Our objective is to offer light dishes and easy to make Greek recipes somehow differentiated.
We hope that on your next visit our breakfast buffet and the new calorie intake menu will thrill you.
Take care and thank you again for taking the time to write this review!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a night at this hotel at the end of August.It really was a very hot day-about 38-39 cesius.The hotel is almost in the centre-just about a 10 minute walk to the centre square.Rooms and bathrooms are ok-clean and maintained.The staff is helpful-as we had to leave at 5 in the morning-they prepared us packages with food and drinks.The only bad thing was during the night.The air condition could not be well regulated-it was either very hot or very cold.So we opened the windows-but that was a mistake,because the noise during the night was horrible-the Greeks do not seem to work very hard-even it was a working day-they were having fun and a lot of drink all the night long.And a warning-too many mosquitoes in Thessaloniki in summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kotzeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

When we first reserved for this hotel our expectations was not high. However, our stay was almost perfect. The location is very near the city center. The staff is friendly and they give godd tips for sightseeing and eating. The room was some small for a 3 people family but in general the room is ok. There is really satisfying breakfast with a lot to choose. Overall, the price/quality is really high.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Edo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found the Olympia exceeded our expectations for modern accommodation in the city. Rooms and public areas are all recently renovated, with cool design and comfort. Rooms and bathrooms are modest, but equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Contrary to other reviews, the aircon did work well, during high summer temperatures. Our party of students and faculty made good use of the wifi in the lobby. Staff were attentive and pleasant, and attended to any minor problems. The self-service breakfast offers good choice and quantity. We were a party of 29 adults of varying ages, touring as a choir, and everyone agreed that the hotel was just what we needed: comfortable, affordable and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

A great hotel in a very convenient location, with amazingly helpful staff. Came on a choir tour with a group of 20+, and they let us use the conference room to rehearse, for free! Good selection for breakfast, and clean rooms. Air con worked perfectly (I was almost too cold) once you remembered to turn it on (card in the door slot, press the air-con power button).

The shower curtain does indeed allow water out onto the bathroom floor, but there is a drain in the middle of the floor, and it works like a wet room. I had no problem fitting in, and I'm 6' 5".

If you have mobility problems, you might want to find a place slightly further downhill, towards the harbour, but then taxis are SO cheap here (under four euros to the white tower) that it really isn't a problem.

Room Tip: Taverna on the other side of the street south side, which can be loud if you have the window open, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smashtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#8 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#12 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#23 of 60 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#15 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
#36 of 60 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Property: Hotel Olympia
Address: 65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 546 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#14 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1929. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including superior and family rooms, one junior suite and one room for the physically challenged) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Forum all share the same design features and facilities like flat screens, parquet flooring, brand furniture and more. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari Bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Omikron Conference Hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing