We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, value for money”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Central location, value for money”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is well placed just a 5 min. walk from Aristotelous square, the centre of the city. It offers great value for money stay. The rooms are renovated and are offered at a very good price. Breakfast offers just everything and the staff is really polite and helpful. Perhaps the only negative thing is that the rooms are not that spacious. Overall an excellent choice for a budget city break.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    197
    59
    14
    2
See reviews for
69
160
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hove
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in September. Room was stylish and comfortable if a little small, and not totally sound proof, but in Thessaloniki I think this is the norm and for £60 a night for the room with breakfast, you couldn't complain.

Modern design fittings, balcony with table and chairs, room service till 2, flat screen, free wifi in the lobby, snazzy bathroom with products, even Egyptian cotton bedding... It really is top notch for the price. Location is great, short walk to Ladadhika and right by the forum and lots of other historical sights. Bakeries on every corner so make sure you try the amazing sweetcream filled baklava!!!

The hotel staff were friendly and eager to please. Breakfast was very good and plentiful, with all options covered ( hot and cold - continental - cakes - fruits and healthy options ) with even frappe being provided by the bar staff. A hearty recommendation for a lovely smart hotel in a cool city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnieschubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were in Thessaloniki for just 2 nights in late August, and the Hotel Olympia was perfect. Location is pretty central, albeit a bit of a walk away from the actual city centre. The room was on the small side but well decorated and equiped, including a fridge and a safe which were both welcome bonuses. The hotel looks really modern and stylish inside, so must have been redecorated or refurbished recently. The only staff we had dealings with were the ladies on reception, who were all very friendly and efficient. Overall we were really pleased with the choice we'd made. It really was like a comfortable, cool oasis in the heat of the city, and we would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_b_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very nice hotel,minutes away from city center,very clean and it has a very fair price.Rooms are quite small but very tidy.
The only thing that i find not properly was the car parking.

Room Tip: The first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teoBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very tidy & clean. Staff very friendly & helpfull. Nice breakfast and fantastic decoration, in the commonly used areas and the rooms.

Just a bit away from city center - only negative is the very few parking places available.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bemyguest1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Strategic location within Thessaloniki.
Clean, modern and with all comforts in the rooms (best compliments to the architect for his skills in squeezing everything comfortably in small spaces) for a very honest price.
Very generous breakfast, good for all tastes.
Some nights were a nightmare, thanks to a group of high school students; but this is not supposed to be a fault of the Hotel...
One afternoon I asked for a glass of milk at the bar (sorry, my stomach was upset after a Greek lunch): the waiter presented a bill of 3.20 eur, apparently the price of the whole cow; I gave him 4.50 (2.00+2.00+0.50), and he returned me 0.30. At my complains, he skillfully demonstrated me that I had given him 3.50. Is this is a sign of the hard times in Greece?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSpinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were accommodated at Olympia by our Greek hosts and I must say it was a good choice. The hotel is well located, within walking distance to the centre and seaside. The service good and friendly, food very tasty. The only problem was the lights which seemed to live a life of their own, coming on at weird intervals throughout the night and not allowing to be switched off. .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#18 of 58 in Thessaloniki
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#12 of 58 in Thessaloniki
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Property: Hotel Olympia
Address: 65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 546 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#13 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1929. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including superior and family rooms, one junior suite and one room for the physically challenged) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Forum all share the same design features and facilities like flat screens, parquet flooring, brand furniture and more. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari Bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Omikron Conference Hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing