We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!”
Review of Ta Koumparakia

Ta Koumparakia
Ranked #89 of 945 Restaurants in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Koumparakia is a seafood resturant with mediterranean cuisine. An old family business in the center of Thessaloniki nearby one of the oldest christian church. kitchen open hours Tuesday Wednesday Thursday 12:00--21:00 Friday Saturday 12:00--24:00 Sunday 11:00--18:00 Monday closed
Boston
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Koumparakia was my favorite restaurant in Greece. I was there for 10 months and couldn't find better food anywhere else. Get the spinach salad with goat cheese, grilled mushrooms, fried feta, cod balls with garlic sauce or anything else! Everything is good. My mouth is watering just thinking about it! The staff is also incredibly friendly. Don't miss out on this amazing food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    22
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
“Delicious, Authentic, Fun, Relaxed!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Don't hesitate reading any further reviews of other Tavernas... this is the place to go! This is one of the first Tavernas I went to upon moving to Thessaloniki and have gone back many times since. With friendly and happy staff, a family run atmosphere, and a general aura of relaxation, this is the best place to go whether you are up for a fancy dinner or out with a group of friends. The food is top notch and very fresh, including great fish, cheese selections, and my all time favorite fried zucchini is the best in the city. To accompany the food, the homemade wine is served in a beautiful picture that enhances the experience even more. Not only are the appetizers and main courses good, but your meal will start out with warm, freshly baked bread and end with an in-season freshly made dessert that is to dye for! I have stayed at this restaurant for 4 hours enjoying the atmosphere, the old hidden church, and sharing laughter with the staff and friends. This is a restaurant I share with everyone and will take friends every time they visit. It is newly renovated which adds to its flare and authentic Greek feeling, leaving you with a full stomach and a face full of smiles at the end of your visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariP315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Its Closed !!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Read the reviews so thought we'd give it a try - August 10 2013,a saturday evening - closed and looks like it has been for some time. Best ring to see if still open before you make the trek.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Χρηστος Β, Owner at Ta Koumparakia, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are sorry for the inconvenience. We are closed due to renovations.
We will open in early September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Just go!...best food and service in two weeks in Greece!!! ❤

We had taramasalata, tatziki and olives to start and grilled octopus, chips (best in Greece!) and cod with a superb garlic accompaniment!!...I had this dish in Delphi and it just didn't compare....this was perfection!!! €30 which included wine and soft drinks....very happy campers!!! ;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family owned, central, value for money”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Small family run taverna, very close to Kamara, ideal for sea food in reasonable prices accompanied by some tsipouro or ouzo. The place is kind of hidden behind an old church giving an essence of the old city. After your meal they offer free delicious dessert. As a total a very good and authentic choice right in the center of the city! It's closed on Mondays and on Sunday it closes around 18:00.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpeedyEleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Koumparakia also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Been to Ta Koumparakia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing