We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your home in northern Greece!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Big House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Big House
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Your home in northern Greece!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

An outstanding place, managed by delightful & warm-hearted Vicky et al. who has all the information that you need and more..

The building is newly renovated and beautyfully located in the quiet (and more breezily!) historic uptown. The house is embedded in a residential area, so it is quiet during night & day. Waterfront, bars & tavernas are 5-10 minutes walk downtown.

The "dorms" are actually seperate rooms of 2-4 beds which share a fully equipped kitchen, balkony and bath. The interior & facilities are functional and in best condition and include lockers & fans. A small patio forms a relaxing meeting place where there is freeflow coffee & tee all over the day and Vicky serves kindly (and teaches how to make) typical greek frappe (ice coffee). Prices are very fair. There is fast & free wifi and a PC for guests use.

The managing staff is around all day and happy to welcome you and help with whatever advice you may need (tips for food, nightlife, sightsseeing, beaches, transport,...).

In conclusion: Amongst the best budget-places I have ever been, definitely a great refuge in this quite busy city!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matiasRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Little Big House an excellent, charming hostel within walking distance of the centre of Thessaloniki. The staff are extremely helpful and answered all of our questions about the local area. The hostel is very attractively decorated, clean and secure. Lockers are provided. Our dorm had its own kitchenette and en suite bathroom. Staff provided very detailed instructions for finding hostel when first arriving in Thessaloniki.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank thameswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The decor is done with obvious care and understanding of travellers needs (personal lamps next to each bed), the beds are soft and comfy, the rooms and common areas are spotlessly clean, there are fridges, cooking and coffee/tea making facilities in every dorm, secure lockers for each guest, the 2euro breakfasts are great, washing is 2euro, the picnic area is welcoming and a great place to meet fellow travellers over a cheap beer, the location in the old town feels like a small greek village and is walking distance from the city (uphill walks are good after over-eating all the amazing food available), and the value for money is excellent.
The staff are exceptionally helful and griendly and I was totally hooked on the unlimited free nescafe frappes!
This is by far the best hostel my partner and I have ever stayed in (and between us we have travelled to Japan, NZ, Australia, Vietnam, Malaysia, India, Nepal, Egypt, Cyprus, Jordan, Lebanon, Dubai and Oman). We actually stayed here all 3 of the times we passed through Thessoloniki.
Stay here if you get the opportunity - I wish they were in every country!
Note - book early if its a weekend.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor at the front has the biggest shower, the downstairs (6-bed) has the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadiq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I was looking for a nice hostel to spend a few nights in Thessaloniki and ended up booking Little Big House as all reviews I found were pretty good.

The hostel was easy to find since after I made my booking I received an email from the owners with useful info, maps, photos and directions to the place.

Once I arrived I was greeted with a drink and some sweets by Vicky, one of the two friendly owners of the place. I felt "at home" directly. The place is nicely decorated, modern and very clean. I soon met other travelers as the hostel isn't big and most people hang out by the terrace at night.

Vicky and her brother Harris were very helpful, friendly and funny. They helped me booking my train ticket to Athens and advised me some nearby beaches to visit. They also offer free tea and coffee all day. As for the breakfast, it isn't included but you can get it for a 2 € fee. They also offer laundry service for a small fee.

I booked a 4 bed dorm with a balcony, ensuite bathroom and a small kitchen. It was actually made of two rooms so there was space enough for everyone. The lockers were big enough to fit a backpack. There was a fan in each room and each bed had its own little reading light.

The area is only a 15'walk from downtown, it was also quiet and felt safe at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frosti2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hostel is more like a guests house!
There is nothing about it to just give you the impression that you have been accomodated, thank you, here is the money.
The very concept of this hostel was based on the ideea of welcoming, sharing and helping and you really feel this every moment.
The rooms are nice, clean, spacious, with balcony, fully-equipped and cosy. Nota bene for the extra lights next to every bed! Tea and coffee free all day long and an orange tree just in front of the gate, full of oranges - that made my day !
What i liked very much was the location - the one and only Ano Poli! Imagine Santorini meets Montmartre but in a very genuine greek way! All you have to do is keep walking down the path to the Rotonda Church and you will be amazed by the only part of the town that has not been destroyed by the great fire of 1917 - very beautiful.
However, i can't finish this review without mentioning the true achievment of this place : the owners! Vicky and Harris are overwhelmingly friendly and helpful and everything they do is in the benefit of the travellers. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay! I will be back, even to say hello!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manuel_munteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Vicky and Harry have been really good host! Thank you! (: We arrived really late in the night but instead of experiencing the 'lets get down to business' attitude, we were greeted by Harry who warmly welcomed us. He showed us our room which was superb. Vicky, who was equally warm greeted us in the morning and introduced the city to us. Though it was a little exciting for us four girls to be taking the bus from SKG so late in the night, the stay here is super worth it. I am sure you would enjoy it as much as we did (:

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0vegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Located in a historic part of the city near the old Byzantine city walls, about a 10 min walk from city centre - this place is a little gem and was effortlessly the best place I've stayed in Greece.

On arriving Vicky served us free iced coffee and cake (both delicious) while we checked in. She was also very knowledgable regarding the local nightlife and airport buses - even giving us a map with directions and suggestions written on.

The room itself was a good size with kitchen facilities, balcony and comfortable beds. Part of the house is also a hostel where we met some interesting characters (in a good way!).

On checkout we met Vicky's brother Harris, who offered us iced coffee again - we get the impression they offer it whenever you visit reception!

It was a shame we had to leave so soon, will certainly be back next time I'm in that part of the world!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruitbeard115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thessaloniki
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
#36 of 60 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
6.6 mi away
Galaxy Design Hotel
Galaxy Design Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oraiokastro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#23 of 60 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#10 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pefka Hotel
Pefka Hotel
#1 of 3 in Panorama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Big House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Big House

Property: Little Big House
Address: 24 Andokidou, Thessaloniki 546 34, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Big House is a modern guesthouse, perfect for travelers looking for a quiet refuge to relax, meet people and experience all interesting aspects of Thessaloniki, its rich culture, its colorful history, its relaxed day life and its vibrant never-ending nightlife. It is located in the most picturesque, quite and safe neighborhood - the centre of the Old City (Ano Poli) of Thessaloniki- and is easily found in a short walking distance from the city centre and from the most popular tourist sites. Everything began in 2005 after a travelling experience in Europe. Guided by our desire to provide travelers with a cozy place where they can feel like home, along with all the privileges of being hosted in a modern, clean and friendly environment we created our guesthouse "Little Big House" in Thessaloniki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Little Big House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing