We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
78
162
99
41
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
162
99
41
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel chain hotel the main train station hotel is located busy street underground parking the main street reception staff per day internet greek taxis toiletries tower position square
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 413 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. I'm leaving this morning with a very real food poisoning. At dinner yesterday - Parmesan, smelled and tasted so bad that I spat it. I told the cook and he replaced it without even apologizing. At breakfast - very spoiled pancakes.
I have to say that the rooms are clean and comfy.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Inbar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Inbar G,

First of all, thank you for your recent stay in our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We are proud of the quality of services & products that we offer to our valued guests, thus your comments are very troubling. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience, so please contact us at sales@hithessaloniki.gr .
Looking forward to hearing from you and we always remain at your disposal.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We stayed in this hotel for one night in early September. Although regular visitors to Thessaloniki we had not stayed at this hotel previously. It was therefore not our first choice but nonetheless proved acceptable for a single night, albeit reflective in room rate of the ongoing Trade Fair. It is situated to the west of the city, 10 minutes walk from the railway station, a short bus-ride from the KTEL bus station and about 20 minutes walk to Ladidika with a few minutes more to the city centre. There is a bus stop nearby for access to the airport. Although metro works continue across the frontage and pedestrian access is a little difficult we experienced no other problems from the ongoing construction. The hotel is a large one over nine storeys and over 170 rooms. But as a large hotel it does offer generous public space, with a separate bar area and dining area - the latter being archetypically Greek and rather dark and sombre. There is a public computer in reception and free wifi. There is a gym but we didn't use it. Staff were professional and courteous but not over friendly. Reception was very efficient on arrival and departure and recognised that I was an IHG loyalty card holder. There was disabled access. Rooms were basic but reasonably sized. Ours was on the 7th floor overlooking the main road. Whilst dated it was in reasonable condition, some scuffs but no major damage and everything worked - although the air-conditioning could have been better. The room and bathroom were clean, the room had a fridge and a safe. The bathroom was on the small side with a short bath and an overbath shower that would present problems for anyone with mobility difficulties. There was some inter-room noise but nothing of significance from the road. We did not use the restaurant except for taking breakfast. The hotel being large it takes large groups and that presented a problem when everyone wanted to take breakfast and chaos ensued - the layout does not make for easy circulation. All-in-all breakfast was disappointing for a hotel of this type. The selection of items was not unreasonable but it was all mundane and truly we had thought that weak, watery orange juice was a thing of the past. Restaurant staff were very pleasant. We would stay again but we would want to see a more competitive room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear Gelim,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in most aspects. Of course, our goal is to provide complete satisfactory to all of our guests and we keep our efforts to this direction. Regarding your comments about the breakfast, rest assured that we will share your feedback with our staff, in order to identify fields in need of improvement.
Looking forward to welcoming again in Holiday Inn Thessaloniki.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

They are building a subway line through the middle of Thessaloniki and unfortunately, one of the big construction zones was right in front of the hotel. However the staff did a great job of dealing with loading and unloading buses and taxis and while it was noisy and dusty outside, it really wasn't an issue once you were inside. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, especially when dealing with the typical small European elevators that could sometimes get congested. They always had someone on duty to help manage traffic.

The rooms were nothing spectacular, but they were pleasant, well maintained and clean.

The breakfast buffet had plenty of choices, although it could get busy at times.

The location was very nice...a short walk into the busy parts of the city and shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kansasrfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Kansasrfl,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again!

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

Stayed several days for work in Thessaloniki and company reserved a single room here. Nice place well organized and comfortable, very good position, in the heart of the town. Didn't tried the restaurant so cannot tell if it's good or not but daily menus looked interesting.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
Thank Tatanka1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Tatanka1978,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again!

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

I chose this as I'm a IHG member and was duly recognised as such and received the benefits including an 'upgraded' room and daily paper, complimentary drink.
Though not in the heart of the centre it's only a 10 min walk from it and the main restaurant area of Ladadika.
The hotel is clean but very dated and not what I'm use to for the Holiday Inn brand. However some of the staff were helpful and friendly. I had a junior suite which was ok though again in need of modernisation. It had a kettle as well as coffee pod machine, large screen TV, fridge, safe, desk and a grubby sofa. There was ample cupboard and drawer space for a long stay.

Internet service was on the whole very good. Unfortunately my window faced a wall so no view of any sorts, including sky but the blackout curtains were very effective. There are power points within easy reach of the bed.

Breakfast was just ok but when the hotel gets busy as it often does replenishment was slow mainly due to the small buffet area and amounts placed out. There's far too many tables set for the unusual number of 6 which restricted available tables. Choice was limited and I would suggest the management look at the hotel a few doors away on how breakfast should be if they want to compete.
Like most hotels laundry is ridiculously expensive but just a few doors away is an independent laundry service charging a fraction of the cost.
Sometimes brand loyalty is not enough.

This is my second review as my first was withdrawn by TA for being too honest so I have had to tame it down!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparty328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Dear Sparty328,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are sorry that we didn't meet all of your expectations. Our primary concern is to provide guest satisfaction and we keep our efforts to this direction.However, we are glad that you enjoyed friendly and attentive service from our staff, as well as our High Speed Intrenet Access. Regarding breakfast, we would like to take the opportunity to inform that we offer a rich buffet with a variety of hot and cold items. Thus your comments about slow replenishment are very troubling, as that is not up to our normal standards. We would like you to contact us at sales@hithessaloniki.gr, in order to obtain more information about this issue. Furthermore, we will share your feedback with our staff, in order to identify fields in need of improvement.
We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews