We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Nearby Hotels
$144
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$60
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Makedonia Palace(Thessaloniki)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daios Luxury Living(Thessaloniki)
$190
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Met Hotel(Thessaloniki)
$136
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Excelsior(Thessaloniki)
$150
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Astoria hotel(Thessaloniki)
$98
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$92
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$60
$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
76
149
92
38
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
149
92
38
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelchain hotelupgraded to a suitethe main train stationhotel is locatedunderground parkinglobby areathe main streetreception staffper dayroom was spaciousbusiness triptaxissoundproofingtowersquareport
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 387 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Difficult to say something "special" about this hotel. Everything is ok and the way you would expect it from a chain hotel like Holiday Inn. For sure the hotel saw already better days but the same problem have a lot of hotels in Thessaloniki. Good location, friendly helpful staff ... average rooms ... but again ... for the money we paid ... I didn't expect anything more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Gunther N,

Thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Thessaloniki and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the service received from our staff, as well as the convenient location of our hotel, close to the city’s hot spots. It is always our primary goal to deliver great service and value for money to all of our guests and your feedback is very important to monitor our endeavor to this direction.
Once more we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Holiday Inn Thessaloniki.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This marvelous hotel was perfect in every way. The food served to our group of 34 for breakfast and dinner was fantastic. The service at the front desk, the bar and everywhere else was first rate. Everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Rgm30,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Thessaloniki and for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the service from our staff, the breakfast, the dinner and your stay in our hotel in general. Guest satisfaction is our main concern and we are glad that we have met your expectations. Kindly note that we will share your kind comments with the hotel's teams.
Thank you once more for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Holiday Inn Thessaloniki on your next visit to our city.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Sales & Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I'm a little bemused by some of these negative comments, it seems people just like complaining for the sake of it and a lot of the information they give is inaccurate. We also got a great hotel rate and while it did not include breakfast there are places all around the hotel to get breakfast at a fraction of the cost.
Having arrived at the hotel I was wondering if I had read the same reviews. It is very easy to find and clearly marked in bright neon lights the "Holiday Inn". I have never been to Thessaloniki and driving in to the city we found the hotel no problem. Yes the city is having an metro installed and a station will be located outside the hotel. The disruption is not the fault of the hotel and indeed there was no noise or inconvenience associated with the construction. Yes it can be a little confusing as some of the roads are blocked off and traffic can be a bit of a nightmare but we were able to get to the back of the hotel to park up and check in without a problem. The hotel has free fast wireless internet access in the foyer. However our room was on the 4th floor, at the side of the hotel, and if we stood closed to the door we were still able to pick up the wireless signal.

The room was of a very good size and was comfortable and was spotlessly clean. The air-conditioning unit in our room (420) was not working very well so needs working on. Two criticisms - To ensure we came back to a coolish room we left the key in the room to ensure that after spending all day on the hot busy streets of Salonica the room temperature was of some comfort. However to our anger the cleaners had not only taken the room key out of the power slot but also took the key. When returning the room was unbearably hot and because the air-con unit wan't working properly the room took a very long time to feel comfortable - we advised the reception team who also provided us with another key card. Also there are no tea/coffee making facilities - something the hotel needs to provide.

The reception staff were friendly, the location of the hotel was fine and is just 5 mins walk to the main central areas and places to eat.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Bubwal,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the size and the cleanliness of your room, the friendly service of our staff and the central location - close to city’s hot spots. We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding your room’s air conditioning system, it will be surely addressed to the Housekeeping department, as we always strive to provide comfortable accommodations.

We have also noticed your comment about internet and we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that along with wireless high speed internet in all public areas, we will provide wireless high speed internet in all guest rooms in the near future. Regarding "coffee and tea making facilities", kindly note that these will be available in all guest rooms in the near future, as well.

Once again, thank you for providing us your valuable feedback and for your recommendation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Thessaloniki on your next visit to our city.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel is on the Main Street not far away from the city centre. Unfortunately the underground work makes its not so easy to find, as the work is just outside the hotel.

The hotel itself is outdated, in need of some modernisation especially for the price required and the brand name. I would say it is a 3* star hotel, with a name of 4* brand. Staff are friendly and there to help you, I did not get breakfast as I cannot justify the 15 euro for it, I have had Holiday Inn breakfast before and surely not worth the money. Wifi is only available in the lobby, which is totally unheard of especially in 2013,many business travellers have IPads rather than laptops for wired connection.

Bus stop is 5minutes walk and the bus takes you outside the terminal, excellent value and only 40min. I would recommend this rather than a taxi.

Overall it's ok, I would probably not stay there again unless i have more Club rewards points. There are far better hotels in Thessaloniki even if you have to pay a little extra.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuslimTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor reader,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you have experienced attentive and friendly service from our staff. As you most probably noticed, there is a metro construction throughout the city; however there is an open space in front of our hotel which makes it easily reached. We consider that this is a temporary situation.
Regarding internet access in our hotel for the time being, we provide wireless high speed access in all public areas and wired high speed internet access in all guest rooms. Please note that wireless high speed internet access in guest rooms is scheduled to be provided in the near future. Also, I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that our hotel serves rich buffet breakfast with a variety of assortments (hot and cold) at a reasonable price. However, kindly note there are available favorable rates on the internet, some of them inclusive of breakfast.
Your comments truly give us thought for future improvements and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Thessaloniki.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel accommodation choice was made based on the fact that is a member of well known hotel chain and therefore we thought that this would guarantee a minimum standard of quality.The reality however proved us as wrong;the last room renovation must have taken place ages ago.The toilet flush is so old fashioned that did not work properly, the bath curtain was stained and the toilet had turned yellow probably from usage through ages.In addition the room carpet was dirty and you could see dust & stains on the furnitures and in the wardrobe. Access to the balcony was restricted because the cooling system was set just in front of the window.This room costed 115 euros per night, and breakfast,parking facility and wifi access NOT included.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Niki_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Niki123_11,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Thessaloniki and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will surely be looked into.
We would be grateful if you could contact us at sales@hithessaloniki.gr, so we can obtain additional detail about the situation and the cleanliness of your room. In regards with the room’s price, we would like to take the opportunity to inform you that our rates were in line with our product and the market demand during this specific period of the Thessaloniki International Fair, which is the highest season of the year in our city. However, there are available more favorable rates on the internet for our hotel, some inclusive of breakfast, under certain restrictions, such as advance purchase.
We truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Thessaloniki and to offer you a more pleasant stay.


Yours Sincerely,


Christina Manolopoulou
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews