We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in Mediterranean Palace for 4 nights. Rather typical business hotel with spacious lobby. Too much outside noise during night hours coming from Ladadika area bars and restaurants. Very convenient if city centre has to be avoided.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Mediterranean Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 453 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for just one night - so my review may not be complete. Location was very good, right at the start of the main shopping area in Thessaloniki - this means you need a 5-10 min walk to reach the very centre. The room was termed as "deluxe double". As such it was of a comfortable size, with relatively good bed. Bathroom was large and comportable. The whole of the room though, was calling for a renovation in order to bring it back to 5* standards - as it is it may be classed between a 4* - 4 1/2* (if there could be such a rating). Breakfast was rather good with saficient choice. The staff was pleasant and professional. Please note that you need to add to the cost of the room 11 Euros if you need parking (very reasonable for a 24h service).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sotiris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

As others have said this is a faded 5 star hotel, but it still has a good feel to it. The rooms are not modern but our room was well equipped for a three night stay. Valet parking was very reasonable and needed in this buzzy city. Breakfast was good and a reasonable choice.
The hotel is on the edge of the central area and provides easy walking access to shopping and the busy waterfront cafes and bars. We really enjoyed Thessaloniki as a place to visit. The history, shopping and cafes make it a vibrant city. The Byzantine Museum is well worth a visit and the cafe there a gem. There is a bus outside the hotel that goes to the Museum.
Our first night was disturbed by noise from the revitalised precinct across the road from the hotel. It has cafes, restaurants and night clubs all very convenient but at a weekend it is worth asking for a room on the front or back of the hotel. The management had no problem moving us to another room for the last two nights and we were no longer disturbed by noise.
Internet booking sites over some very good value rates that make the hotel very competitive.

Room Tip: At weekends or festivals opt for a room on the front of the hotel not on the street side.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bh256tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good central location. The rooms and the bathrooms are okay but need some refurbishment... The Breakfast is okay with a mix of styles. The ultra small swimming pool in the basement is however a joke, Just not inviting This hotel is suitable for short stays , certainly not up to 5 star hotel standard more like 3+ stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkfromPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very good location in a walking distance from the down town. Helpful stuff and great breakfast,i don’t care about the old TV but i must emphasize that the cleanliness of the room was excellent

Room Tip: back rooms while not overlooking the sea have less noise
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmanouil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This s not a 5-star hotel. I would rate it 3+. The rooms are fairly good, I found furniture very nice. However, overall refurbishment is required. I recommend not no take rooms with street view - I stayed 2 nights in a room with a horrible view to a back yard with waste. Take sea view, but there's an up charge of course. Room service was not impressive: dust and food remains on the floor, after making the room. Reception is good: very helpful and friendly, but overall that's the only plus in this hotel. I stayed long and was badly disappointed with breakfast. It was very slim and monotonous. During weekend mornings the breakfast room was very crowded. The location in not perfect neither: near the harbor so you can imagine nearby streets and bars.
Swimming pool is joke: very small and narrowly blocked by 3 walls. i did't even want to try gym.
But in general I doubt you can find a better hotel in this city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I made reservation and paid with credit card for a normal room. Then I communicated with the hotel to improve and take a room with sea view. When I arrived in the hotel the reception informed me that there was no room with sea view and they denied that I communicated with them and that I had changed my reservation for a sea view room!! In general the hotel is decorated in something like baroque style that personally I don't like and i think that it has no character. Shortly it will need renovation. The rooms are large, I didn't like the fact that there is no LCD tv. Also in the bathroom one would expect for a five star hotel to be glass instead of curtain in the shower. The breakfast was satisfactory but not enough for 5-star hotel. The grill for bread was terrible like the one that someone has in his own kitchen. There was no real orange juice. In my opinionThere are a lot better hotels in thessaloniki than this one.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yannismd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.3 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,118 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Makedonia Palace
Makedonia Palace
#5 of 58 in Thessaloniki
960 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace

Address: Salaminos 3 | Karatasou, Thessaloniki 546 26, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#14 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: $133 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Palace is a five-star hotel in the center of Thessaloniki, with 111 rooms and 7 suites; all meticulously decorated, and equipped with modern conveniences, next to the traditional district of “Ladadika”, and with an astonishing view over the Thermaikos Gulf. It features the most beautiful aspects of Thessaloniki; the live cosmopolitan atmosphere, sophisticated sense of serenity, and traditional, warm hospitality. Luxury and style, in conjunction with its strategic location at the heart of the city’s shopping and financial center, make Mediterranean Palace a unique destination. Taking only two steps inside will be enough to fascinate you. The inspiration for the decoration of the lobby was drawn from the aristocratic atmosphere of Thessaloniki in the 30s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing