We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, but not good enough.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Thessaloniki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Hotel Thessaloniki
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice location, but not good enough.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

It is a city hotel located in the very heart of Thessaloniki. Probably the best location in town for shopping. We stayed for two nights with our kids. The main lobby is recently renovated and the first impression is very nice. Very, very friendly and helpful staff. The problems started as soon as we got to our room. We asked for a two bedroom family room in order to have more space, yet the room was very tiny. The second bedroom had a sofa practically occupying the whole bedroom so no free space at all. Although the hotel seemed recently renovated, the rooms have a pseudo-renovation with old things simply painted. The wc was so tiny that no one can stand there if suffers from claustrophobia. We definitely didn't ask for a sea view room, but we didn't expect the view that we had from our windows as you can see in the photos uploaded.
I think it needs a major renovation in order to be competitive, although the location is the best.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mickeytzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    248
    90
    33
    14
See reviews for
120
184
33
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
274 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. Bus #78 from the airport stops on Tsimiski Anenue(Platia Aristotelous stop) only about 100-150 yards away. The names of the stops are displayed on the bus also in Roman letters, but it'll help to print the list of the stops coming from the airport before arriving Thessaloniki, so you can get ready to get off.Bus tickets can be bought(Specify quantity,80 Euro-cents each) at a kiosk very close to the bus stop at the airport. . From the Aristotelous Square stop, you can also take buses to the train and bus stations.

Basically this is a business hotel. Make sure to reconfirm your reservation few days before arrival. We stayed here twice,with one week in between, and, although I had reconfirmed the 2nd stay just before arriving, they could not find the reservation when I asked about it while checking out after the 1st stay! I re-did it, but again,they could not find it during the second check in(lost about 30 minutes and, thankfully, the hotel was not full)!

The room was small but manageable. There is a coffee maker. I thought the breakfast,included, was pretty good. The hotel gives some discount coupons for the businesses in the area. We used one to eat at the Excelsior Bistro(Good),30-40 yards away at the hotel with the same name. There is also a small supermarket right across the street.

If they can improve their reservation system, this could be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Perfect location to visit the city, convenient and clean room but nothing special. The bathroom was extremely small for two people, the rooms have absolutely no noise isolation, no parking available (although the hotel offers you a price discount at a parking place nearby-13E per 24h). The renovation done is more than average. The hotel is more a 2-3 star hotel rather than 4 star hotel. OK for a stay of one or two days but not more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Location! That's about it! The City hotel is right where a traveller to Thessaloniki would like to be. Everything is within walking distance from it! 4 mins to the White Tower, 1 minute to the seafront, 5 mins from the Ladadika area (restaurants), 10 from the Rodunta and the Roman city ruins... And exactly in the heart of the shopping area!
On the other hand, it's just an average budget civic hotel. It has been renovated and it's ''adequate''. The staff are polite and hard working, always willing to serve. Small basic rooms, very clean and tidy. Breakfast is not worth it, except for the fresh coffee. Have your coffee and then buy a peynirli, or a mpougatsa from any of the neighbouring bakeries.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ar1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

City hotel in the center of Thessaloniki was extremely pleasant to stay.The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated.The breakfast, along with the restaurant in the hotel,was very good.The most amazing thing about City hotel was the wonderful and polite stuff who made sure we had everything we need to make our stay unique. A special thank you to Chrysa and Nichola who made sure, with their politeness and their interest we had a lovely stay!!I will recommend it to couples and families for sure.Thank for everything,hopefully I ll see you soon.
Lily Koumania

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angelica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are renovated and very clean but you can see that it's only on the surface. If you are in to luxury and pay attention to detail this is not the hotel for you. The room is tiny, bathroom barely enough for one, lifts are frightening and you can hear the people walking on the other side of the corridor while in your room. The beds probably have the cheapest mattress on them. Slept for a night so far and I feel that I need a visit to the chiropractor!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikatsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is located in the city center next to Aristotelous square where you can reach most of the city's attractions on foot. Ideal for business travel as well as a city break it gives you the opportunity to enjoy the heart of Thessaloniki. The personnel is very polite and friendly always trying to help and make your stay comfortable. The breakfast buffet has a lot of choices on local and international delicacies. Our room was ambient and clean with great pillows and mattress. Free wifi in the room and the other areas of the hotel was working perfectly. I enjoyed very much my coffee or drink in the lobby of the hotel - at a very reasonable price - watching people pass by outside the big window. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.0 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#2 of 60 in Thessaloniki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#11 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Thessaloniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Thessaloniki

Property: City Hotel Thessaloniki
Address: 11 Komninon, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Thessaloniki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#11 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#13 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Thessaloniki 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the Thessaloniki, City Hotel offers 125 rooms & suites for leisure guests and conference facilities for businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your City Hotel Thessaloniki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel And Central Spa
City Hotel & Central Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing