We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice reception...really average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Thessaloniki
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent there one night on a business trip.

The location is very good at the center of the city within walking distance from the seafront and the commercial streets.

Extra attention has been paid to the decoration of the reception and the hall of the hotel with a "green eco" approach (the photos on the hotel's website are pretty accurate).

The rooms though have not been properly renovated. It is pretty obvious that that some "covering up" work has been done rather than proper replacement of the things that needed change e.g. the doors of the rooms are the old thin doors (not much of a security sense there), the door of the bathroom has simply been painted over (we can still see the glass part that bathroom doors used to have in the past).
The beds and mattresses also were really average resulting to a poor sleep quality.

Service good and staff helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthoulidis, General Manager at City Hotel Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear athensfan,

Thank you for your input about your stay in City Hotel.
Your positive feedback regarding the location, the “green eco” decoration, the good service and polite attitude of our staff is valuable to us and indeed much appreciated! Regarding your comments about the renovation of the rooms we will take them under consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel upon your next visit in our city.

Best regards,
Yiannis Anthoulidis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 716 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

this hotel has a perfect location in the very center of thessaloniki. the interior is great as well as the service and the level of cleanliness. the only downsides are there is no free parking for the guests (however they provide the discount in one of the nearby public garages), and the working hours of Spa; it works only from 10am to 06pm, which is quite inconvenient for those who want to have some daily activities and then enjoy in the Spa in the evening hours.
would definitely recommend and come again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livanstog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I recently spent a weekend with my family (family of four) in a family-type of room.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Thessaloniki, providing access to just about any attraction by foot. The room was spacious and well maintained. The staff was professional and eager to assist. Great quality and variety for breakfast. The price was absolutely reasonable for a 4* hotel in the center of a city. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

For its location, I think it is one of the best in Thessaloniki. We have stayed in a family room, which was good. The staff was really heplful in everything and the breakfast was good enough. So what else can you expect from a city hotel on the centre???

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikolyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Centrally located hotel in the heart of Thessaloniki with modern -albeit small -rooms with all amenities.
Walking distance to every where (market, Aristoylous square, restaurants in Ladadika etc)
Breakfast very eficient and staff very friendly .Recommended

Room Tip: Quite rooms are in the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the best location in city, close to sea and all attractions. Good value for price. Breakfast is good, room is clean.
Only bad point is if you stay in 113, room is big absolutely no site from window.Window looks at a wall

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanalcep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a wonderfull stay at CITY Hotel in room 107, first floor on the street (I particularilly LOVED the greek street noises as part of my GREEK experience!!!!) with a balcony and a table and chairs on it for sipping an extra coffee and smoke.The bed was perfect, the room was quite spacious and full of light! The bathroom had some small problems with the water evacuation, but still the mirror is huge and has a nice multipurpose shelve! The hotel staff is extremely active and undestanding in that typicial greek way when they don't comment much about things, but they do them promptly!I saw breakfast was very variated and fresh, and the caffe -bistrot is excquisite! I can only look forward to stay again and again at this same hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony and city vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anatolia Hotels & Villas
Anatolia Hotels & Villas
#9 of 58 in Thessaloniki
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,004 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#11 of 58 in Thessaloniki
586 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Thessaloniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Thessaloniki

Address: 11 Komninon Street, Thessaloniki 54624, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Thessaloniki
#10 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#12 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#14 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Thessaloniki 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the Thessaloniki, City Hotel offers 125 rooms & suites for leisure guests and conference facilities for businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Thessaloniki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel & Central Thessaloniki
City Hotel And Central Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing