We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but make sure room is in the new part”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but make sure room is in the new part”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a seedy but central part of town close to other hotels like the holiday inn but abt 10-15 mins from the port area which is the best and liveliest part of the city...this part is a bit quiet aside from seediness!

Important - check whether your room is in the old or new part of the hotel. We arrived late and asked re availability. We were given a dbl room for 50 euros per night but it was hands down the worst room I've stayed in in my life; small, old with dirty carpets and even at that price was gross. The tv is like an antique with abt 5 channels so don't have high expectations on that front.

On the positive the reception staff were lovely and judging by the entrance I'm sure the other rooms are nice but these ones are almost uninhabitable and i wondered if anyone else was even staying in this part of the hotel or just us! The bathroom was fine but didn't have a look and no sound proof. Infant the rooms just weren't soundproofed full stop. So also lots of noise from outside.

Breakfast was nice. Prob a little closer to 3* but a good hot and cold selection, both European and Greek dishes; bread counter, cereals, fruit salads, some sweet dishes. The juices are squash and the hot drinks are from a machine. No major complaints though.

Lastly You are not allowed to use an iron on the room so have to go to some dungeon laundry to iron your clothes but this is standard in Greece! Overall can be a good option if you get a good rate

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPSISSKG, Director of Sales at Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Capsis Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki.
We kindly inform you that out of the 407 rooms of our hotel, only ten are in classic style with the basic equipment, offering a budget stay in Thessaloniki’s largest hotel.
The supplement for upgrading to a modern and renovated room is 20€ and if you had informed us that this room did not satisfy you, we would have offered you another one, in modern style.
As far as it concerns the use of the iron, it is not allowed in the rooms, for your safety.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in our hotel and offer you our unique hospitality.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    319
    199
    66
    49
See reviews for
188
233
53
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Advantage of hotel is
1) Location near centre
2) Excellent breakfast buffet
3) Parking (although they charge)
4) Friendly personnel.
5)Good-plenty bath, wash creams in bathroom.

Disadvantages for a called 4 star hotel is

1) Little hole in my bed sheet.(Old sheets)
2) Cleaning ladies very-extremely noisy not only during their work but also when talking to each other out side the rooms with no respect to resting business man.
3) Very low speed of internet. (You have to pay a fortune to get faster internet to be able to watch video or call via Skype.)
4) I got a Room with no view, no sun, from the inside of the hotel with birds making noise at window all day and early in the morning starting from down.
5) Bathroom very small inconvenient sink .If you wash your hands your make wet all area.
6) Old tows
7) Outside hotel dirty area due to metro excavations. Dirty building. Balcony of breakfast is very dirty with cable and wires hanging out.
7) During check out I was asked to be charged for mini bar although not used. Finally I was not charged after recheck the mini bar.


Not bad hotel for the 70s

Room Tip: Ask for free parking Ask for free faster internet speed Ask for a room looking outside and not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasospilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The area may not be as interesting because there are a lot of abandoned hotels and there is a beautiful boulevard and many stores.But is a great place to relax especially for families with children or elderly people because it is very shallow and even far away it is easy to access for the elderly for crutches or on wheelchair someone drives you can take it to the water and can sit there .We do not have to worry about children because they can themselves to play in water by shoal.restaurants are perhaps small but very friendly.Food is delicious and plenty of it . dishes are prepared for fresh. I can not wait to be back there, position on the parapet under a palm tree, and I will rest for a siesta :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kolazonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Big hotel with facilieties. The rooms are clean and tide. Even if you are alone ask for a double bed room. May be if they reconstructed the area of the bar downstairs would be more fan to have your drink at the hotel, but nevertheless it's ok to have a coffee by the bar as it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Enjoyable stay at the Capsis for two nights in October 2013. Staying with a tour group, so booking was dealt with by the tour.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and efficient. Room was good. Excellent breakfast buffet, good dinner buffet (but not as good as breakfast!) Room was good quality. Free wifi but had to keep logging in (easy but annoying).

On the down side, the area the hotel is in wasn't particularly nice. We went on bus trips both days so didn't walk around the area, so I can't comment on it much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRichards30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Capsis is one of my favorite hotels in Thessaloniki. This time I went for business. Friendly staff, spacious rooms, great food and wonderful facilities. One of the highlights is its rich breakfast buffet. Also, the hotel offers parking facilities which is very useful when going to Thessaloniki by car. Highly recommended for both work and pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nik0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful hotel! I think my favorite part was the breakfast and dinner buffets. The food was wonderful. The room was great too except for the shower. The tub had a rounded bottom and so it was pretty dangerous to take a shower and to climb in and out of the tub. I noticed that some of the rooms had more modern bathrooms. I hope this will extend to all rooms soon. The conference room was great too. The pool area was nice, great views of the city from three sides. Wish the pool area was open in the morning.

Room Tip: Unless you want to take a bath, ask for a room with a real shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.7 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#10 of 58 in Thessaloniki
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Makedonia Palace
Makedonia Palace
#5 of 58 in Thessaloniki
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki

Property: Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Address: 18 Monastiriou, Thessaloniki 54629, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Thessaloniki
#8 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#11 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capsis with the new art character,is an ideal choice for the professional as well as the leisure guests of the city. The largest hotel in Thessaloniki, with 407 rooms with contemporary and modern decor, offers superior quality of Greek hospitality in the center of Thessaloniki. The Roof garden on the roof top, with a breathtaking view, offers the warm months of the year,an escape from the rythm of the city. The guests do not miss the chance, to enjoy until late in the evening, the highest pool in Thessaloniki!The facilities of Capsis including Gym, Sauna (two), Massage Room, Business office, free WI-FI, Cafe Capsis, Byzantium Restaurant, underground parking, conference center and the hotel's high quality services, make it a point of reference in the tourist map of Thessaloniki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thessaloniki Capsis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing