We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surely the best hotel in Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Excelsior
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Witney Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surely the best hotel in Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel had a lot to live up to given previous reviews and its review in the American Express Departures Magazine. Opened in November 2009 it delivered this and more although we were disappointed that the " hidden roof garden for sundowners" was not yet open -- did American Express write their piece from experience or a press release?
But that frankly is a tiny tiny issue. The hotel was far more than we had hoped for. Brilliant location -- we could walk to every attraction and top restaurants -- Seven Seas, The Island and Molyvos (don't miss this last one in our opnion the best in the city). The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, the rooms bright, contemporary with exceptional lighting and really comfortable beds. We travel with friends to "second cities" twice a year and this was a stunner; everything from scheduled BA flights from Gatwick for very good prices to the 25 Euro 25 minute taxi ride from the airport arranged by the hotel. Enjoy the walks along the sea front and the fabulous museums.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue311roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    95
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
91
310
38
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel is a Small Luxury Hotel and that is exactly what it is, just beautiful!! Wow, we were blown away by the hospitality, the friendly staff, and the quality of the rooms. The room is located 1 block back from water but we could see the sea. Breakfast also fantastic, great fine food and nothing a problem. Staff were so pleasant. The Hotel offered free wine, coffee and fruit - all part of the service. We stayed 1 night and then travelled and came back again on the return visit we received free wine. We also seen two different rooms and both great. Best bed I have ever slept on! We have travelled a lot and this would be one of the best Hotels I have ever stayed in. Value for money, best place to stay in Thessaloniki.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

If you want to be close to everything and experience a 5* hospitality this is the place to be accommodated. We stayed with my wife just 1 night during August and found it by change but it was really amazing and far the best hotel we have ever stayed.
The service perfect, the location couldn't be better, the newly decorating rooms were fantastic, they even have inside an espesso machine (I'm fun of espesso coffees) breakfast area and tastes more than good. It might be a bit overrrated but defintitely is worth to pay few extra Euros for such a lovely accommodation!
On our next visit to Thessaloniki there is no option for another hotel... we vote for Excelsior! Strongly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 189400Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

amazing hotel! exelent hospitality and very good services, maybe the best bed i ever slept ... is close to everything and the empoyes was really happy to help us with any information we asked.. its really one of the best hotel i ever been. keep on good work there

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had pleasure to stay few days in this hotel during our summer vacation. If you compare this hotel with any 5 star hotel in Greece, than hotel Excelsior deserve 6 stars! Location, service, interior design, everything is more then perfect. If you are planing to stay in Thessaloniki, even just to wait for your connecting flight, this hotel is definite "must see"!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandricica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.5 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#13 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#20 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior

Property: The Excelsior
Address: 10 Komninon, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#2 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel located in Thessaloniki center, next to Aristotelous square, right in the heart of this vibrant town. Situated in the historical building of the classic and glorious Excelsior Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing