We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveler rating
681
129
19
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
129
19
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small luxury hotel espresso machine rooftop breakfast the heart of the city complimentary bottle of wine every evening junior suite top floor perfect location roof terrace restaurants and cafes aristotelous square excellent hotel a wonderful stay beautiful city rooms are spacious breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 835 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Perfect location close to nice restaurant area and shopping. Close to the sea. Lovely breakfast and breakfast room with helpful staff. Friendly and helpful staff at check-in/check-out. Lovely and comfortable rooms with good schampoo etc.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank asa72_2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Excelsior during your visit in Thessaloniki and taking the time to share your kind review with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and the service provided by our team. All our staff is truly happy with your encouraging comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Konstantinos Boulas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Rooms were clean and reasonably sized. Location is perfect, close to all major attractions and cafes/restaurants. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was delicious with a great variety of food, including cereals and fruit. Really enjoyed having cappuccinos and lattes there.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank VickiGarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear VickiGarb,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions following your stay at The Excelsior.

We are more than happy to know that your stay with us met your requirements and that you recommend us.
We are in the heart of the city, surrounded by the busy vibrant streets of Thessaloniki near many tourist attractions and we are always happy to give our guests the best tips on where to go and what to see.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Konstantinos Boulas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

As we wearily arrived at 2am, the Concierge’s warm greeting to us by name at our taxi set the tone for a wonderful stay. This is a beautiful hotel in a brilliant location, within walking distance to everything. The buffet breakfast was great and even included caviar. The hotel was very clean, bed was comfy and the hotel in traditional style is a haven. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank RobynR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear RobynR60,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit in Thessaloniki. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We try our best to keep all our services at the highest and best level in order our guests to have an unforgettable stay.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Konstantinos Boulas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

This boutqiue hotel is in an excellent location close to the main attractions, restaurants, shops and the seafront. We had booked a reasonably priced shuttle from the airport through the hotel, which was awaiting us with a friendly driver on our arrival.

Our Junior Suite (Room 11) faced what their website quaintly refers to as a "courtyard", but which is actually opposite the rear of other properties and their air conditioning units, which were a little disturbing at night. However, otherwise, it was very quiet in spite of being in the centre of the town. We turned off our A/C unit, because it's fan was a little noisy, even when set on low.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and greeted us with a gift of wine and fruit on our arrival and some pieces of cake in the evening. Our room, like the rest of the hotel, had been beautifully designed and was clean. and of a good size. A shame that there is no door on the toilet, which means that the other facilities in the bathroom cannot be used when someone else is using the WC.

The rooms are located on a number of floors with a very small lift serving both them and the restaurant on the top floor where we ate breakfast. I am not sure whether the hotel would be suitable for a physically challenged person.

Otherwise a great hotel, but lacking the facilities one would expect of a 5 Star property.

Room Tip: I imagine that rooms facing the "courtyard" are quieter than those facing the busy street
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBoyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear MBoyden,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Excelsior.
Thank you for your positive feedback for our staff and the quality of our rooms.

The Excelsior has 34 wonderful designed rooms, front and back view in order to fulfill every guest need. Our staff is always willing to hear and assist you in every possible way.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission we have addressed the noise issue.

Once again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Konstantinos Boulas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

I had a Cretian massage by Giota. She had an excellent technique, provided hot towels for the neck to start and then provided a full body massage to my required pressure for 70 minutes at very reasonable cost. Afterwards I felt totally relaxed and was provided with green tea and a finger massage ring which was most relaxing. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor with a sea view
Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Thank paulfF5533TQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews