We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top hotel, questionable location”
Review of The Met Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Met Hotel
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Top hotel, questionable location”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Other than the location, near the commercial port, this is a top hotel. New, clean, ample space, professional staff. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms huge and modern, amenities plenty. The breakfast buffet was somewhat of a disappointment for a hotel of this class. Free parking and free shuttle to the city center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokedeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame ,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your views on your stay with us.

We are pleased that the overall experience has been satisfactory. Concerning our location although it is not city center it is stil five minutes drive by our free shuttle service . Something that is clear to everyone that reads our reviews .

Once again, thank you for providing your valuable feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    296
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
205
425
62
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent my boyfriends birthday in this awesome hotel. To be honest, the area around is not beautyfull but there was a hourly driving service that took us in the citycenter and back. The hotel surprised us due to the birthday with champange and fruits also we got an upgrade due to his birthday. So we had harbour seaview. The room was big with a really big hard matrassed bed that expected us. We slept so, so good. The aircondition was perfect, no blowing into the face and really quite. Everything was clean and you could have eaten from the floor. The pool was amazing. You are in the pool and you have a stanning view from the 7th floor over the city including sunset. Really good cocktails and so nice people that are working there. The pool light is changing in green, vieolett and blue. So great. We missed unfortnuately the breakfast but we had a latte macciato which tasted amazing!

Thank you Met Hotel for such a great service!

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are loud. But you close the door to the balcony anyway due the hot weather. Think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jucynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service received.

Your words will not only motivate our colleagues, but inspire the entire team at The Met to continue providing the best service experience.

I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Met Hotel

Sincerely,

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

TheMet hotel is a great hote at the commercial port of Thessaloniki....just dont plan to walk around it. I was warned by mutliple friends never to walk in the area and always take a taxi as the port is not safe, and the righ wing party headquarters are also near. fortunately the hotel offers a great hourly shuttle service to the center.The hotel is very stylish the rooms are beautiful and the pool bar is a great place to relax. The stuff is extremely friendly and helpful. According to the newest fashion, this hotle also has a bathroom block wth walls made of glass, but this is the frst hotel where you have a wooden sliding door to cover it :) Overall, a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallusdomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetHotelGM, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service received.

Concerning our location , though not in the central square , is in proximity with the major city attractions. As you mention there is a free shuttle service though some guests are prefering to walk day or night as well as our staff menbers heading to central square . Adiitionally there is always the local bus option that stops in front of the big toy departmant store just accross the hotel .

I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Met Hotel

Sincerely,

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelte
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really fantastic, from the moment we arrived till leaving the hotel the next day: everything was super. Personal attentions in the room, excellent and friendly personnel. perfect beds, party buffet, breakfast, pool on the roof, underground parking, free shuttle service to city center (less then 10 minutes). Free of charge late check-out! The whole ambiance, we were really pampered! Thank you mr Haris N. Neofytidis and your staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service received.

Your words will not only motivate our colleagues, but inspire the entire team at The Met to continue providing the best service experience.

I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Met Hotel

Sincerely,

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We live in Thessaloniki and were on the lookout for some decent Asian food and came across the CHAN restaurant in the Met hotel. We booked a table and decided to make a night of it and stay over. Arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and had a few drinks in the bar. The hotel is ultra modern with some interesting art. Rooms are really nice. Not huge, but with comfortable beds and clean and modern. In my opinion though, the rooms at the Nikopolis are much better with a much better view if you look out to the pool. That Sid, our evening meal at CHAN was spectacular! Coming from London, we have eaten at some amazing Japanese and Chinese restaurants but the sashimi and the black cod here was definately on par. My husband also had the duck which was equally as good and we shared some dim sum and edamame beans.

We also used the pool at the spa before we left in the morning. very clean facilities although not that big. didnt have time for a treatment unfortunately :-( the breakfast had a great selection of food and my morning frappe was perfect :-)

Overall, I was very impressed with the hotel and we absolutely loved the food and the view from the rooftop which was great. We will definately return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetHotelGM, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay at The Met Hotel and that you were pleased with the service faciliteis and food at Sky Bar Restaurant
I appreciate you recommending The Met and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

When attending a conference in Thessaloniki, Greece last year we were fortunate to stay at The Met Hotel. This is a beautiful, high quality modern hotel that offers an excellent level of service. It is a little way out of the town but this is overcome by a regular free shuttle service to the town centre and everything you want can be found in the hotel itself. There is a great rooftop pool for summer travellers and the breakfast is one of the best I have found in all my travels. The Manager of the hotel is very personable, warm and welcoming and this is reflected throughout his staff. My companion had a fall in the town and upon returning to the hotel the staff could not have been more helpful both medically and also with general support. The Manager went out of his way to ensure we were okay for the rest of the stay. I recommend this hotel highly and thank the Manager and his staff for a remarkable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentravellerand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service received.

Your words will not only motivate our colleagues, but inspire the entire team at The Met to continue providing the best service experience.

I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Met Hotel

Sincerely,

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Top class hotel, roof top pool and bar with a Underground spa, you'll feel like a VIP. Nice outside area to eat and drink. Good for couples and families. Food excellent and Staff so helpful also has a free air conditioned coach into city centre with pick up. :) great stay, and lovely city to walk around and shop.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niki_app
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetHotelGM, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service received.

Your words will not only motivate our colleagues, but inspire the entire team at The Met to continue providing the best service experience.

I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Met Hotel

Sincerely,

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thessaloniki
1.6 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Nikopolis Thessaloniki
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Thessaloniki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel

Property: The Met Hotel
Address: 48 26th October Street, Thessaloniki 546 27, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Met Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MET HOTEL, a newly built, exquisite combination of unique location, modern architecture, high-end luxury, launches an avant-garde hospitality concept in the city of Thessaloniki. Experience deluxe hospitality in the city of Thessaloniki with our 212 stylish rooms and suites. Thirteen meeting rooms provide ample conference space in an ideal Thessaloniki location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Met Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing