We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Super Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and Super Clean”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel is everything that a couple can wish for during a seven day stay in Kavala:

1.) Private Underground Parking. He-lo, have you experienced the Greek traffic? Parking is nearly impossible during the more busy hours of the day and the evening.

2.) Awesome Location - walking distance to tons of restaurants, cafes, the key, and the port. Try to get a room with a balcony (most of them) because it is gorgeous in the evening.

3.) Extremely Clean - if you suffer from germ-phobia this is the place for you! Extremely clean bathrooms, crispy white sheets, no dust, fresh clean smell :)))

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    57
    9
    10
See reviews for
37
44
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Had a few hours stay over at the hotel. Extremely basic but quite clean. Not much in the line of in room facilities. Some decent eateries around and hotel is very close to the harbour so seafood is a must here. About 30 mins drive from Kavala airport. Freindly manager and staff who took great pains in telling me that many of the residents had been coming back for years and years and years!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manwithplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We went with a couple of friends to a trip Kavala and Thasos Island. We stayed in Oceanis hotel and we were quite satisfied. It has great location, close to the fortress and all main attractions. Nearby there are wonderful restaurants and the most wonderful was that our room had a view over the sea and huge balcony so in the evening we could have our dinner there. The staff was very polite and even help us to organize a Greek night. The furnishing is not very modern but the rooms are comfortable and you have all you need for a good vacation. The breakfast was also one thing which I liked much. it was variable and there was pelbnty of food. During my next visit to Kavala I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine_i20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I was traveling solo as a (broke) undergraduate college student through Greece. But never once when I was staying at the Hotel Oceanis did I feel like a tourist, or even feel alone, for that matter. The staff at Hotel Oceanis was exceptionally kind and accommodating, the rooms were kept meticulously clean, the restaurant catered to tastes from all regionalities, and the nightlife surrounding Hotel Oceanis offered a true taste of what Greece was supposed to be.
Hotel Oceanis was affordable and convenient, and anyone looking to see Greece from beyond the mere tourist spa-resort (who needs a swimming pool ten feet away from the Aegean Sea?) should look no further than Hotel Oceanis.
Peak tourist seasons I believe start in June or July, but the weather is beautiful well before then. Booking early in the season and well in advance will secure you a great deal at Hotel Oceanis and exceptional attention from the locals in the nearby restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Follow Hotel Oceanis' facebook page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerb7789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Excellent hotel. Exactly what i was looking for my budget (50 euros/night )!

Location: Excellent. Exactly on the centre of Kavala. All public services and shops are next to you, just some steps away.

Rooms: Clean rooms decorated very nicely with a taste and a feel of luxury !! (they where probably new or re-inovated).

Bathroom: Excellent clean and big bathroom (also looked like new).

View from the balkony: Excellent view from the balkony as i could see the port of the city (thank you guys for this, this made my trip to Kavala memorable !).

All this for 50 euros per night. It definitely worths its money compared to some other hotel next to it, which i visited the other night and costed 50 euros / night but was like a joke in compare to this !

I will visit again for sure and as for now is my number 1 hotel destination when i visit Kavala again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Thanasis_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

As part of a large group tour , I had no choice but to stay here. Would not happen if I had travelled independently. One elevator that holds 5 people had to be used to transport 70 people and their luggage. Very tired, old rooms, hard bed, A/C works intermittently. Noise from street very loud. 2 blocks to harbour front- if you have a choice eat at one of the many restaurants facing the water. In the hotel, dinner was fixed. But I did not go to Greece to eat mushy peas and watermelon. Why is it necessary to ask for olive oil to go with bread? Breakfast was a disaster- No hot food, only cereal, buns, coffee , cold cuts (resembling bologna) and cheese. Orange juice was really powdered water.
Our tour operator was nuts to book us here.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mathladyca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kavala hotels

Sofia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Great location in the center of Kavala. Only 5 minutes by walk to the port and the old city. Old furnitures but clean rooms. No Air Conditioner in the room. I would not recommend this hotel for the summer and for those who are looking for leisure and calmness. It is just on the main street and the noise is very loud. The staff does not look very friendly but they were polite and helpful if you ask them something. The hotel looks like a typical old communist hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank georgivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kavala hotels
0.2 mi away
Airotel Galaxy
Airotel Galaxy
#2 of 14 in Kavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lucy Hotel
Lucy Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Egnatia City Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Imaret Hotel
Imaret Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traditional Hotel Akontisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceanis Kavala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceanis Kavala

Property: Hotel Oceanis Kavala
Address: 32 Erythrou Stavrou Str., Kavala 653 03, Greece
Location: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oceanis Kavala 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oceanis Kavala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing