We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Country Inn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nostos Hotel(Kallithea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ammon Zeus Hotel(Kallithea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nikos Rooms(Kallithea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
204
60
9
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
60
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo weeksother guestsgreek yogurtbbq nightminute walkrelaxing breakplenty of sunbedsshower cubiclesea viewlittle gemfull size fridgebeautiful greeksmall hotelpine treesour favouritelovely hotelpool bar
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 279 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from our. 2 week holiday at the country in hotel , it was everything we wanted in a holiday. Peaceful location, wonderful hotel, perfect for a quiet , relaxing and chilled out holiday. 10 mins walk to restaurants, shops and bars in kalithea. We did eat in some recommended restaurants there ( faces and Eleanor's) , had lovely meals and service but the resort was a bit too commercial al for us and very busy with lots of kids and arcades . So when we found out of the local Greek village called Afitos, you could there by cab for just 5 euros or we walked on. Few occasions (only 25 ins), and the village is wonderful. Typical Greek village , unspoilt , cobbled streets, tavernas , a few few bars, hardly any British , all local Greeks , greek music, we had fantastic meals their and it is so relaxed there, well worth it.
Wll definitely return to the hotel , the service was excellent, just 16 rooms there so you felt looked after at all times, staff who work at the pool bars during the day and evening were fantastic. On arrival you are greeted by George who takes you to your room, everything is so laid back and chilled and nothing is too much trouble. We had a lovely room ( room 306) , sea view just perfect for when you want to sit on your balcony. Rooms are cleaned every day with clean towels and linen!! The cleaner works on her own and is brilliant . The only 2 kids we seen were a Greek family for about 2 days, so personally I wouldn't say it was a family hotel, as there is nothing for children to do and it's perfect for couples looking for peace and quiet
Thompson small and friendly hotel it certainly is

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ahickman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

No - only joking!!
Everything you have read on here about The Country Inn is true - the people are great, the place is not a high class hotel, but it is decently appointed and kept spotlessly clean. Food is good - we ate 5/6 times and the cost is similar to places in town. Drinks are reasonable, a 500ml beer is 3Euros, wine is relatively expensive for some reason, but still cheaper than most hotels we have been to. If you get the chance, go to the BBQ evening on Friday - food is good (not great, but certainly good) for 10 Euros and we had a whale of a time with some really nice fellow guests.
Access to the beach is....interesting. The route down the cliff is pretty tricky for anything other than a mountain goat, but we used it all the time and it was fine. If it bothers you the long way round via the road might take an extra 5 mins - what the hell, you're on holiday!
If you are looking for somewhere quiet, laid back, clean, well maintained don't think about it - go!!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with sea view, very cool, but even better with a/c at 6 euros per day. Mind the peacock though!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff are amazing, kind, polite and will help you in any way they can. Lovely and relaxing with enough sunbeds for everyone so no rush needed in the morning, just as it should be on holiday! Having said this week one was much more relaxing as just couples, week two had families which made for more noise and a little less consideration for those relaxing in the pool......hotel does not scream child friendly as pool quite deep and steeps away quickly and the 'save a sunbed but don't use it for hours' crept in, not my cup of tea! However that shouldn't discourage as hotel and staff were fab and I'd come back, although think Thomson should say suitable for couples

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lefthalf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Will keep it short as most of the previous reviews tell you everything. Rooms are a good standard for Greece, cool and airy with a large balcony. Air con was brilliant, did the job and was very quiet. Beds comfy, bathroom small but clean, shower is the usual Greek standard (wash yourself and the bathroom at the same time - though it does dry out very quickly!!) The pool area was lovely, enough beds and no towel brigade. Food was very good and very reasonable as were the drinks. A nice laid back ambience during the day and evening and the staff were all friendly and approachable. Afitos is lovely but the 25 min walk is a bit dull, Kalithea is not so pretty but only 5 minutes away and has all the shops, bars and eateries that you need. Try the Yellow Bar on the beach in Kalithea for food, this is under the Margarita Hotel down the slope and first on your right. Good food, not so traditional but a nice varied menu. Also Christo's in Afitos was very good too. Was disappointed with the beach as it is narrow at the bottom of the slope in front of the hotel and there are no beds. The beds are further on where the beach widens but there are too many rows and columns for me. No elbow room if you know what I mean! Perfect hotel but would be better if closer to Afitos...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zantebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Country Inn is an exceptionally clean and well kept hotel - especially for the price we paid. The staff are very accommodating even gluing my broken flip flop! There is a mixed age range with no children staying whilst we were there. I don't think it is really suitable for small children as the bottom of the property had a steep hill down to the beach which isn't fenced off.
There are 16 rooms in total with 10 being sea facing on 3 levels and 6 are side sea view. The sea view rooms are cool as the sun doesn't seem to reach these at all which is probably just as well as the air conditioning is €7 a day. It was in the 30's while we were there and it never fell too hot without it. The end rooms are cooler that the middle ones as they have 2 side windows above the bed which can be left open overnight which helps.
There is a safe in the rooms which cost €3 per day. Ours was loose in the cupboard but the owner did fix it to the inside of the cupboard when it was pointed out to him.
Money can be changed at reception but the rate wasn't good - only €1.10 to £1 but we didn't see any money changers so not much choice. It would probably be cheaper to just use ATM'S. There is one outside the bank in Kalithea and one off the main square in Afitos.
It is 5 minutes walk to Kalithea but we weren't overly impressed with the resort overall. We found most of the restaurants to be of poor quality. We did find one though that was exceptionally good and slightly more up market but for the same price. It is the first one along the seafront and is below a very sleek looking glass and steel hotel. The bar/grill is called Yellow and really was excellent. You can reach this one via the path down to the beach through the pine trees (but it really is quite slippery and dangerous) or via the main road and then walking down the steep road to the beach.
The walk into Afitos took 25 minutes along a Tarmac road. The condition is rough in places but it is lit at night, but not that well. It may be a good idea to take a torch as the cars seem to have a job seeing you when it is dark. There is a row of fish restaurants along the front which have nice views. This area is known as "the Balconies"
We hired a car for 2 days from the Thomson’s rep as it was as cheap as going directly to Avis. The cost as €109 plus we used €50 in petrol.
We did Kassandra Peninsula one day stopping to sunbathe on a beach. On the second day we did Sithonia Peninsula which was very scenic. We especially liked Nikita which is a cosmopolitan resort with a lovely beach. Parthenonas, which is a traditional mountain village, was also lovely with views to Kefos "turtle island"
The mount authors boat trip we also booked through Thomson's as it was only a couple of euro cheaper in Kalithea so we played it safe. It took 2 hours on the coach each which was due to the high volume of hotels to collect from. The boat trip was about 4 hours and the monasteries were interesting. You were then dropped off in a village for 1.5 hours for lunch (no much there to look at but plenty of bars/restaurants) Not sure if it is actually worth such a long day though.
To sum up – a very pleasant holiday in a clean and well cared for hotel.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms are cooler
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GO50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews