We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“2 star hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Athos Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athos Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kallithea
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2 star hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Minus :
1. Rooms have different quality. 80% are renovated.
Good rooms (in the middle of the floor, 1st level and up):
Furniture is new, but looks old. The walls make you feel like in a cave.
Single rooms
Have balcony, but don't have a door to step in it. So it's useless.
Unlucky's tourist rooms
At the end of the floor. Very hot inside. Very small, looks dirty. Suitable for dogs, or something.
Unbeliveable bad rooms
H Floor, green doors. Even the coridor looks like in a horror movie.

2. Cleaning : normal daily, but if you are unlucky, you can wait a week.

3. AC works 2 mounths in an year. Imagine stay at the end of june with no AC.

4. Loud music from the clubs arownd, all night.

5. Meal type
The hotel pretends that sells All Inclusive. It's not, it's a good full board swidish bouffet. Like in all you can eat restaurants. To be All Inclusive food must be served at least 20 hours daily. Any time client needs.

6. Parking places are not enough.

Plus
1. Food is excelent. And unlimitead. People working in the restaurant are great, very well prepeard for their job.

2. The big garden looks beautiful.

3. Animation team is good.

4. Receptioners are very kind and ready to solve any problem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank danspatarujr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    114
    80
    37
    44
See reviews for
205
68
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for a week in may after unpacking we went to bar to order drinks to given a bill it seems that you can only have selected few item on food and drink meal if you are all inclusive the pool bar snack meal was a joke you had the chose of chesse pie or pizza???? At no point when booking holiday with hotel does it say you have a limited meal if you go all inclusive...it also advises that there a beach bar which you can't use if you are all inclusive unless you want to pay for drinks also advises private beach but this is shared with 15 or so hotels along beach which in the high season would be very full....there is a night club half mile down the road which was playing very loud music till five in the morning this was over the weekend it kept me and my family up all nite and speaking to locals in high season its every nite...the area outside hotel is very run down with cars driving very fast, very scary when walking with family....staff are very friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I will start firstly by saying, I have no idea why some of the reviews are so bad... I have been to many places in the world and this holiday is up there with the best of them. All I can say is I think it's the peoples attitude nothing to do with the hotel or staff etc !!!!!

The hotel grounds are stunning, including the pool and the gardens, I have a two year old and a six year old, and they loved the pool. The beach is literally a stones throw away from the pool and is so beautiful, we used to use the pool for half of the day and the beach for the other.

The animation team were so friendly and made the holiday enjoyable for both the kids and the adults. They have activities on all day and night, fantastic people :)

We made very good friends with the restaurant staff because they are so friendly and lovely, a particular man who was are favourite Angelous was so kind and loved seeing him everyday, my 2 year old wanted to stay with him ha ha !!! The food was lovely, had so much choice and was so fresh.

The rooms do need renovating, but are cleaned everyday and for the amount of time your in there, did not bother us.

All in all was a perfect holiday for all of us and will defo return and stay in our ..,...."l.!!!!!!!!!!,memories :)))

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targoviste, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel at the end of May 2014. There are many things that made us a very pleasant holiday.
First of all we want to thank for the hospitality and for all the great services:
- the girls form the reception were very nice and promptuous for any request;
-the restaurant: the food was excellent, very many different cuisine-lamb, rabbit, turkey, pork, fish, sea fruits- even if you were a vegetarian you could choose from all kind of delicious meals, fruits and of course, sweets-EXCELLENT!!!
-the waiters and the manager of the restaurant were absolutely gentlemen and perfect host- many thanks for their services- we were treated as royals!!
- the animation team: Mr. Adrian- a very gifted host- excellent presenter and entertainer!! Mrs.Cristina- very pleasent and gorgeous- we share wonderfull moments with her!! Mr. Lucas- the perfect personal trainner- he made us feel more elastic :) ; Mrs. Villy- all the kids love her, very creative and trustfull- kids spent very nice experiences with her! Mr. Lenny- we enjoyed pleasent moments with his plays. Thank you all dears! We spent an excellent holiday with you and because of you!! Thank you Adi, Cris, Lucas, Villy and Banita!
-the mini club-the kids were very happy to enjoy nice moments playing, drawing, painting, creating and dancing with Villy and Cristina. My kids had a lot of fun also at mini disco-excellent choices of the songs and very funny coregraphy.
-the pool was and the beach were absolutely pefect for a bath at any moment of the day!! Very clean and well organized!
-the gardens are a piece of Heaven!! 7 stars for all the flowers, the trees and the people who work there!!
-the rooms were very clean-the sheets were changed every day and the maids were very efficient!!!
We recommand all our friends to go to Athos Palace Hotel as we had a perfect holiday and we were very pleased about all the services and the people from there!!
Codrut & Andreea from Romania

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amedea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel ... unfortunately for a short time, although we would have liked to enjoy the hospitality of this place and the services offered by the resort . We want to thank Marzan Adrian and animation team , special Mrs. Cristina and his entertained with unforgettable moments. I thank to this CERBER from dining rooms ..because is very attentive to everything what is happening.For a minus i want to tell you about the water bottle on the table.

We will return at your hotel with pleasure.
Fam. Ologeanu from Romania

Room Tip: thouse with view at the seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is a beach hotel with a beautiful view and a large pool. We optioned the all inclusive deal and we didn't regret it. The room was clean and decent. The only minus was the price but as I always say ''you'll get what you've paid for''.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Personally, I feel this hotel has character - which some people view as making it look dated. If you want a brand new, cutting-edge designed hotel, this ain't it - but if you want a change from cookie-cutter design you might well appreciate the qurky charm of the Athos Palace's architecture.

The staff could hardly be better - Costas, Pagona, George and George make you feel like personal friends, rather than holiday guests.

So what's the downside? Basically, the Greek economy. Money is being saved on staffing levels (making the friendliness of the staff even more remarkable) and facilities, with the consequences you would expect. Entertainment is being increasingly shared with the sister Pallini Beach Hotel, staff can be a bit thin on the ground at busy times. The food is pretty much what you would expect for an all-inclusive - no complaints about quality or quantity, although the variety wears a bit thin in the second week.

In short, this isn't a swish, 21st century style of hotel, but is far from the dump that some people have made it out to be. Given the current economic situation, that could almost be said of Greece itself ...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.1 mi away
Pallini Beach Hotel
Pallini Beach Hotel
#48 of 126 in Kassandra
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kriopigi
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macedonian Sun Hotel
Macedonian Sun Hotel
#7 of 11 in Kallithea
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ammon Zeus Hotel
Ammon Zeus Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kallithea
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athos Palace Hotel

Property: Athos Palace Hotel
Address: Kassandra, Kallithea 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: The Athos Palace is situated on the east coast of Kassandra of Halkidiki peninsula and it is 1,5 km from the lively village of Kallithea and 78 km from ''Macedonia'' airport of Thessaloniki away. Direct on a long sandy beach in attractive, impressive surroundings this recently fully refurbished first class and popular ''All-Inclusive'' hotel has a wide range of facilities which create a fun and busy atmosphere. ROOMS: All 414 comfortable rooms recently refurbished with balcony and sea view or mountain view are equipped with bath/WC, hairdryer, make-up mirror, telephone, safe (charge), fridge, SAT-TV in the room, air conditioning (July - August). Cots available. FACILITIES: There are reception, lobby, satellite TV area. It offers a variety of bars and eating places as main bar with sea view and land view, restaurant (non smoking area) with verandas overlooking the garden, beach bar, pool bar, snack bar. Apart from the ''All-Inclusive'' facilities the hotel has an ''a la carte'' candlelit Italian trattoria and other bars opening after midnight (payable). In the garden 1 Olympic sized swimming pool with sweet water where sunbeds and umbrellas are available without charge. On the beach there are sunbeds and sunshades without charge. Mini market, gift shop, jeweler's shop, video games, playground, laundry service, money exchange. Church. Conference facilities. Organized excursions to the many magnificent archaeological sites of Macedonia. All major credit cards (Visa, Eurocard, Diners, AMEX) are acceptable. SPORT: Scuba diving centre, water ski, paragliding, bananas, Jetski, 4 new Somclay-tennis courts and 2 synthetic grass, open air cinema, car and bicycle hire, billiard. ENTERTAINMENT: Day and evening entertainment programme with recreational games, quizzes, sport activities and shows with professional artists. KIDS: Miniclub (4 - 12 years old), early supper in the restaurants, playground, kidsdisco, kids menu, baby cot, highchairs, babysitting on request (at charge). MEALS: Breakfast, lunch and dinner are buffet style. Themed evenings, vegetarian dishes, lunch baskets. Our FlexiDining scheme allows our guests to choose where and when they wish to dine. They can choose from our varied 'a la carte' eating places such as the Italian trattoria, the 'cafe style' snack bar, the beachside self service or the Mediterranean delicacies of our shoreline taverna. The fresh vegetables and fruits offered to the guests are produced in the hotel fields, in an area of 150.000 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Athos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athos Palace Kalithea
Hotel Athos Palace
Athos Palace Hotel Halkidiki, Greece - Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing