We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good resort, great food, ... horrible mattress !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athos Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athos Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kallithea
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good resort, great food, ... horrible mattress !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I don’t remember if I asked the front desk of Athos Palace for one bed of stone... or not ... anyway, I received one made out of basalt, Torquemada model. This makes me feel soooooo goooooood, I remember with pleasure every nightmare from every night, I never knew to be such inventive to create infinite horrors in my mind. So, thank you a lot, next time I expect to be treated as fakir if possible ... one little suggestion ... it’s better to sleep on crushed glass because glowing coal has some smell ... and I don’t smoke anymore.
Fortunately, we give stars for the whole picture, counting the amount paid, the atmosphere, the food and the service. Sometimes we forgive managers acquisition, like one bed imported from Somalia .. please, do not apologize, c’est la vie ...
The resort is without spot, everything is very clean and well maintained by some very talkative Greek women ... by the way ... KALIMERA!!! ... I learned from them this word meaning “good morning”. Also, rooms were ok – except THE bed ... 'll throw some curses to be vanished by summer of 2013. We had one room with Sea View and one little balcony. It was perfect in the morning to see the whole world waking up. Better paying for SV, other rooms have forest view.
The enormous garden is one beauty, well maintained, you can have also romantic walks in the evening, sometimes I had the sensation to be in the park. Million sparrows spend the night in some big trees. When twilight comes, all looks different and shadows are creating one fairy picture.
About clients, what to say ... no any kind of unsupportable persons, all was ok. Because the sojourn was almost the last of the season, Russians were 90 percents – Germans 5 percents – Romanians 3 percents – Indians and Italians and others what’s left ... and one single Britt in the 60’s who’s proposed to marry to all waitresses ... also he told never believe Ouzo to be so strong. Some instructions are necessary to identify correctly every nation when you use the elevator. Get in and tell ‘Good morning”. If someone say nothing or “mmmmhmmm” and fixes you, is Russian. If he will smile and will help you with the luggage, definitely is one German. If he will say “goo’ mo’ing” with on big smile, is a Dutch. The Indians will simply smile because your British accent isn’t enough literary, they only understand oxbridge. If someone yells KALIMERAAA!!!! behind you, certainly is, again, your maid who’s hardly trying to teach you Greek language.
What I liked the most (after the weather) was the food. Brilliant for the price we paid. Even now I try to understand how it was possible to be together with Russians to the end of the season, to pay almost nothing and to have such good food inside such a good location. I think the jewel of the crown were both, the master chef and the “chef de salle” always present and very vocal. All waiters were perfectly coordinated by this man without any pity for laziness or disorder. Beautiful. It was one pleasure for me to have live food music under the authority of such conductors. Only one question I have … in the restaurant, man must wear pants … but ... one evening I saw one girl from Moscow in a bizarre dress, the face red and opaque but the backside from something like nothing … 99 percent glass-like … and the … backside things decorated with smallest bikini ever seen … so all waiters have insurance for heart attack? Because some looked like freshly electrocuted.
The pool is big enough and well maintained. The beach is clean, 250m long, the sand without rocks or other debris. Seabed is almost 80 percent made by stone plate, fortunately not sharp. Sand is present only in some areas. I noticed that after the right dam (towards Pallini Beach Resort) the seabed is mostly sandy, very pleasant. For me, snorkeling was the greatest pleasure. Best areas to observe marine life are around the left dam. Million fish follow you when you trick them with pieces of bred left in water, all around. Equipment can be bought from the stores located to the ground floor, they have the same prices to the village.
The resort, located to - 40° 3' 38.70" N 23° 27' 35.20" E – on Google Earth - have one big enough parking. Other side of the reception is some desk for car rental, it is worth to see the surroundings. Try to drive as much as you can, a lot of miraculous views are waiting for you. We were all over, every lunch to another restaurant … now… embarrassing to say …. such simple but expensive food never saw anywhere else. I expected to feel Mediterranean taste but … nothing … beginning from huge prices (regularly fish starting from 45e/kg to 60e/kg weighed before cooking!!!) and ending with aaaaabsolutely unskilled chefs, all unpleasant things were present. I'm still dumbfounded. By contrast, the spices and the manners of Athos’ chefs were far better. One single man (!!!) around 60’s prepared us instantly a good meal (AND cheap) with all flavors and complete service, somewhere close to Siviri village.
If someone wants to buy some commodities or something to eat or to drink I strongly advise to go to the right side (to the continent) and after 6km one Lidl well-stocked offer anything for the best price I saw. Another retailer is 12km to the left but prices are around 30% bigger. The prices vary, the same fruit are 4.5e to 200m from Athos Palace, 3e to the village Kallithea (2km) and 1.4e to the village Kassandria (5km). The beer to cash and carry is 0.75e, 4e to Athos restaurant and 12e to the beach bar. For those driving their own car, take care to gas stations. No name ones – although large enough – can sell you miserable and expensive diesel or gasoline … I was one of the victims …. Look to the indigenous preferences (or ask) and fill up BEFORE entering the highway, otherwise it will be very difficult to find some fuel on your way (I tend to panic a lot in these sort if situations).
Like usual, one picture is worth thousand words so let’s load some … but not before a little talk about his highness, THE BED. Instruction for using it ... For honeymooners: do NOT throw the bride on the bed, you can break her column ... if you have some fantasies go on the floor, it’s softer and safest, so you will not get bruises. For Japanese samurais: it’s the softest tatami of your life, unfortunately wooden pillow is missing but they will be glad to fix it for you. For French: so, what? Jeanne d’Arc would never complain about it! For Russians .... remember Siberian camps?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    116
    85
    39
    44
See reviews for
212
68
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was exactly what I wanted. A hotel on one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever been. Clear warm waters and well maintained beach. A good mix of clients with a tendency to more Russians but I liked them. Food was good , drinks where a bit expensive, and the animation team was great.

Room Tip: The higher Floor the better but all floors have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dieter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Timis, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel was nice considering the budget we stay 10 nights with 1003 euro all inclusive in the middle of July 2012.
the food was good but not perfect.
the personnel was nice .
the beach was ok but the entrance in the water was rocky. but at nearest hotel Palini the entrance in water is sandy and perfect beach.
we visit all halkidiki area and we love Golden Beach, Furca, Vourvorou, ...and other beach
Sarti beach in bad...

Room Tip: mazanin apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Horhat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

(Review based on 10 days in September 2012)
Positives: Very clean rooms well furnished with faultless maid service; good shower/bath, amazing grounds including good pool, nice beach with clear water, tennis courts, water sports, children’s play area, olive grove and gardens.
Negatives: “All inclusive” includes the bare minimum – everything else was charged extra e.g. greek night, pool/beach towels, food at the snack bar, drinks at the beach bar, and the entertainment was often held in the next-door hotel where everything has to be paid for. There was very little greek food at the main restaurant – most food catered to the Russian clientèle and was not good; the restaurant was very badly run – the manager was rude to the customers and even worse to the staff which created a terrible atmosphere, far from the warm welcome you normally get in Greece (and woe betide anyone who hasn't finished their meal on the dot of 9pm when the restaurant closes – the manager will make it clear you are not welcome!). The indoor bar felt like an old people’s home, the outdoor bar was OK. In most areas the hotel would not go the extra inch never mind the extra mile to please the guests – for example on a rainy day you can forget being able to borrow a backgammon set or even a pack of cards from behind the bar! The town of Kallithea clearly caters mainly for Russians with plenty of fur shops and very little in the way of Greek bars or tavernas. Indeed the first language in this area is Russian – speaking Greek or English here is little use! Also you should be aware that staff were tasked to go around the pool area with a laptop pushing people to write a review on Holidaycheck, then they sat with you as you wrote it and made sure you rated everything highly and wrote only positive comments!
If you do stay here, bear in mind it’s a good hour from the airport and a taxi costs €100. However there is a car hire company called Panorama which is based near the hotel and they do airport runs for €70 if you book in advance. They’re generally very helpful so I’d recommend them if you need a hire car as well. The hotel is also on a bus route (stops right outside) and there are a couple of shops over the road for all the usual things you need.
Whether you'll like this place really depends on your priorities. If you value a warm greek welcome and good greek food then it's not here. But if you value clean rooms and good facilities and don't mind many things being extra then you'll be impressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicLoverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We (two adults and a 3-year old) spent 7 nights here at the very beginning of September 2012, all-inclusive package. We paid EUR 880 for our stay and we found this price acceptable for what we got (but nothing more than that).

Rooms:
Our room (715) was spacious enough, with a double bed and a separate bed for a child, and a balcony overlooking a green hill and some green plains behind the hotel. The view is nothing special, but you get to see the sun coming down every evening. However, you will hear the traffic noise, as you will also be looking down to a road. Now we get to the worst part -- the beds are totally uncomfortable! Both beds were very hard and we all spent the nights turning and tossing arround. So, if you are sensitive in that area (i.e. if you prefer softer beds), do not choose this hotel, as we also heard from other people that the beds were uncomfortable for them as well. Also, the wall-to-wall carpet does seem to have a certain smell (we also heard this from other people)...

Food:
Food was OK, just not that much to choose from. I expected a bit more fish, as this is seaside after all, but we got maximum one fish dish per meal (sometimes nothing) and it was always something very simple.The salads were great though, really tasty and fresh. What bothered us was that we are not early risers when on vacation and breakfast was only until 9:30. The lunch was also only until 2:30 pm and dinner only until 9:00 pm.

Beach:
The beach directly in front of the hotel was not so great for kids, as there are a lot of stones scaterred in the shallow water. Therefore, we spent our days at the next part of the beach (to the right) in front of the Pallini hotel, but this you had to pay EUR 7.5 per day. This part of the beach was really great for kids. The beach itself is sandy and there are some pebbles at the very entrance, but other than that all you see is cristal clear water and sand for at least 500m. That was great.

All-inclusive:
We are spoiled with the all-inclusive type of service you get in hotels in Turkey, where we spent several of our previous vacations. This was definitely not in that range, for the following reasons at least:
- no drinks in the room fridge;
- no food between breakfast and lunch (i.e. from 9:30 and 12:00) which we did not like as we do not like to get up early on vacation
- no free drinks at the beach, you need to take a long walk to the pool bar if you want something to drink
- no bottled water, only tap water is served (and for that you also needed to take that long walk...)
- you need to pay a EUR 10 deposit per beach towel and they can be changed only on Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays -- I am an eco freak and do not want fresh towels each day, but two of our beach towels were soaked with sea water on Monday afternoon (waves) and we were stuck with them until Wednesday
- Internet is charged extra -- EUR 20 per 24hrs and we found this really unaceptable for a 4star hotel, especially for an "all-inclusive" stay
- we did not have a right to dine for free in any of the a-la-carte restaurants, but could only opt for a 25% discount
- the waiters seemed to be a bit anoyed everytime one of us with the "all-inclusive" bracelet ordered something and were very happy to point out that for certain things you needed to pay extra (e.g. for pies or other snacks, expect for bad pizza slices and OK ice cream, at the pool bar; for espresso coffee, etc.)

Children activities:
The children playground near the beach is totally unsafe for children under 8 years of age! Guard your kids closely when there. Ww did not use the kids club, but what I could see was that this only included some painting activities in the shades. The kids disco in the evening was nice, but the music was a bit too loud.

Entertainment:
We spent the whole day at the beach and there was a Zumba dance each day for 15 minutes at 5pm. Also, after the kids disco (and after the buy-our-kids-disco-music-cd-and-bad-T-shirts event) there was usually a show of some kind. The fakir show was really good, you do not want to miss that as the gut really does cool stuff. However, other shows were ridiculous...(but they usually are, so we were not really dissapointed there). There is also some guy signing later in the evening at the main bar terrace of the hotel, and this was also nothing special.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are probably quieter. Also, choose lower floors in high season, as there are only 3 ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our holiday was decided last minute, we chose Halkidiki for the beautiful location, weather and cheap flights. We were delighted with the hotel which was family orientated with delicious food.
Our rooms were spacious and comfotable. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This holiday was just what we needed as a family. The facilities were clean, well organised and very good value for money. Our teenagers loved the water sports and the local clubs (which do not encroach on the site) whilst we enjoyed the Wine festival and the various activities offered each day. What a beautiful setting! Will def return.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room - a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Branca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.1 mi away
Pallini Beach Hotel
Pallini Beach Hotel
#45 of 127 in Kassandra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Portes Beach Hotel
Portes Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Nea Potidea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
7.3 mi away
Possidi Holidays Hotel
Possidi Holidays Hotel
#1 of 3 in Possidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Theophano Imperial Palace
Theophano Imperial Palace
#55 of 127 in Kassandra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athos Palace Hotel

Property: Athos Palace Hotel
Address: Kassandra, Kallithea 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: The Athos Palace is situated on the east coast of Kassandra of Halkidiki peninsula and it is 1,5 km from the lively village of Kallithea and 78 km from ''Macedonia'' airport of Thessaloniki away. Direct on a long sandy beach in attractive, impressive surroundings this recently fully refurbished first class and popular ''All-Inclusive'' hotel has a wide range of facilities which create a fun and busy atmosphere. ROOMS: All 414 comfortable rooms recently refurbished with balcony and sea view or mountain view are equipped with bath/WC, hairdryer, make-up mirror, telephone, safe (charge), fridge, SAT-TV in the room, air conditioning (July - August). Cots available. FACILITIES: There are reception, lobby, satellite TV area. It offers a variety of bars and eating places as main bar with sea view and land view, restaurant (non smoking area) with verandas overlooking the garden, beach bar, pool bar, snack bar. Apart from the ''All-Inclusive'' facilities the hotel has an ''a la carte'' candlelit Italian trattoria and other bars opening after midnight (payable). In the garden 1 Olympic sized swimming pool with sweet water where sunbeds and umbrellas are available without charge. On the beach there are sunbeds and sunshades without charge. Mini market, gift shop, jeweler's shop, video games, playground, laundry service, money exchange. Church. Conference facilities. Organized excursions to the many magnificent archaeological sites of Macedonia. All major credit cards (Visa, Eurocard, Diners, AMEX) are acceptable. SPORT: Scuba diving centre, water ski, paragliding, bananas, Jetski, 4 new Somclay-tennis courts and 2 synthetic grass, open air cinema, car and bicycle hire, billiard. ENTERTAINMENT: Day and evening entertainment programme with recreational games, quizzes, sport activities and shows with professional artists. KIDS: Miniclub (4 - 12 years old), early supper in the restaurants, playground, kidsdisco, kids menu, baby cot, highchairs, babysitting on request (at charge). MEALS: Breakfast, lunch and dinner are buffet style. Themed evenings, vegetarian dishes, lunch baskets. Our FlexiDining scheme allows our guests to choose where and when they wish to dine. They can choose from our varied 'a la carte' eating places such as the Italian trattoria, the 'cafe style' snack bar, the beachside self service or the Mediterranean delicacies of our shoreline taverna. The fresh vegetables and fruits offered to the guests are produced in the hotel fields, in an area of 150.000 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Athos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athos Palace Kalithea
Hotel Athos Palace
Athos Palace Hotel Halkidiki, Greece - Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing