We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macedonian Sun Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kallithea
Reviewed August 29, 2009

At the Macedonian Sun Hotel, you get exactly what you paid for. It's not luxury, but its alright. The tourists there are 70% romanian, and there are also 2 romanian waiters.
The rooms are quite basic but clean. Each room has a balcony with a view to a veeeery beatiful garden, full of peacocks, which are very cute.
Breakfast is alright, the food is not very variate but its pretty good. I recommend the pasta. The staff are very nice.
The hotel is pretty far from Kalithea, but you dont actually need to go there, because there are shops with everything you need right next to the hotel. The beach is nice but slightly crouded.
If you have a car, you might want to visit the beautiful cave of Petralona, located nearby. But, BE CAREFUL what you leave in your car. Ours was broken and a handbag was stolen.
Also, the mall in Tressaloniki, Meditarean Cosmos Shopping Center, is a nice place to visit.
You have to go to the Greek Night, hosted for the romanian tourists in the hotel. Its very nice. Overall, its a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreea312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

We had a lovely stay.The staff were great to us they made us very welcome as we were the "only english in the hotel" We mixed with nearly the whole of europe.It was certainly a different type of holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkerbell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I don't recommended this hotel: the pool bar and the lobby bar doesn't work, the program of the jacuzzi is only 2 hours per day, the staff are unfriendly, at the restaurant its alowed to put near 2 table if you are a grup bigger than 4 persons, the foods its orible, the AC doesn't work in the rooms.
If you go there for sure you will have a bad holliday. My advise its to think twice.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIKIBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Hello,I was there last week and it was a good ideea to stay there.
It was a clean hotel, good food (enough for everyone - even the late ones).
The beach is 350 meters from the hotel but it is a nice walk to go there.The hotel has a nice big garden which will compensate the fact that you can't see the sea and the beach.
In conclussion if your are expecting a 3 star hotel this one is a good choice in Halkidiki.
I had a god time there.Danny -SB-RO

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny_Sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Old fashion hotel , disagreable rooms and bad location far away from the city of Kalithea. Average food and rude stuff . The only nice feature is the green garden.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

The best thing about this hotel is definitely its garden- it’s simply gorgeous. U can't stop admiring it, and they’ve also got peacocks wondering around, which is very picturesque. The rooms are ok, they are large enough, clean, with a simple furniture. The one we got was very chill, so we didn’t even need to use the air conditioning, although the temperatures outside were high enough. And of course, we had a garden view, which we loved. One of the not-so-good aspects is that the hotel is at a 7 minutes walk from the closest beach, and 1.7 km away from Kalithea – which is indeed a very long and not so pleasant walk, so make sure u have a car / scooter … – your own or rented! The worst thing about the hotel is the food – although they serve a buffet, and there are several types of dishes, there’s not much to choose, and the food is almost the same every day! The salads, although they may look great, are simply tasteless. Not at all what I imagined about Greek cuisine!
Kalithea is a nice and vivid place (especially at night, of course), but if u go there, make sure u visit other villages as well – personally, I also liked Hanioti (cosmopolitan) and Paliouri (not so touristic, but very beautiful).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cristina_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank podivilovala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.0 mi away
Athos Palace Hotel
Athos Palace Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kallithea
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pallini Beach Hotel
Pallini Beach Hotel
#64 of 125 in Kassandra
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel
0.0 mi away
Alkion Hotel
Alkion Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kriopigi
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ammon Zeus Hotel
Ammon Zeus Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kallithea
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macedonian Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macedonian Sun Hotel

Address: Kallithea 63077, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kallithea
Price Range: $63 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macedonian Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TheMacedonian Sun Hotel is situated on a hill top, with accommodation amongst wonderful vibrant gardens, surrounded by evergreen mountains and only a 5 minutes walking distance from the sea. In these colorful gardens, near the calm sea with its fabulous Mediterranean blue color, its sandy beach, with gentle breeze and sun filled days, guests will experience the vacation they desire whether with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macedonian Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macedonian Sun Hotel Halkidiki, Greece - Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing