We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a nice meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Avli

Taverna Avli
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $47
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Wine Cellar Taverna
Rio Rancho NM
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and two daughters ate at this place last night and had a great meal. The service was good and the food was even better. A few of us are vegetarians, so finding a place that will make good vegetarian food in Greece has been a bit more challenging. Our starters were great and the glass of wine I had was slightly chilled just right. The chicken in the yogurt sauce was delicious and my lamb was yummy. The restaurant was nicely decorated in what seemed to be a higher end shopping arcade. In the end, the bill was 61 euros – which seemed very fair for the food quality, presentation and portion size. It is too bad it is two blocks north of the very touristy area where all the souvenir shops are because we were the only one eating at such a good place. We walked past those restaurants and even though the food looked ok and those places seemed 1/3 full of people, it didn’t really compare (visually) to the meal we enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

But unfortunately we were the only patrons in the restaurant so there was no ambience. Food was perfect.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blonde562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unbeliavable Restaurant in Halkidiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was for one week vacation at Kallithea / Halkidiki and i was totally/happily got surprised from this amazing restaurant. I couldn't believe that I could find in this area a place like that.
First of all, the atmosphere and the decor of the restaurant are pretty unique and you don’t find them so often. All the furniture (tables, chairs, etc.) are made from wood (handmade) and they are combined harmonic with a peaceful yard with plants. Very good impression made me also the traditional greek oven in the outside yard.
The menu of the restaurant is pretty rich and includes from the usual kind of meat stuff till seafood and fresh big fishes.
For people with big wallet the place has an amazing cellar with a variety of wine labels, cigars and very expensive alcohol drinks.
The average price is about 15-20 euro per person but the portions are pretty huge and at the end you have this beautiful feeling that it worth all this kind of money.
The chef of the place is a young Portuguese guy that he is pretty friendly, has a lot of fantasy and loves what he is doing.
If you visit the specific restaurant ask definitely for him and let HIM to suggest you what you have to order. Believe me, you will not regret it.
As closure I have 2 suggestions.
1) The restaurant is 100% suggested for people that they want to celebrate their anniversaries. Especially for couples.
2) For people that they eat this kind of stuff, I recommend the lamb that is braised in the oven inside of a foil. It’s amazing and totally melting inside of your mouth. The only thing is that you have to preorder that from the previous day or early in the morning of the same day, cause as I know, it needs at least 8-10 hours to be cooked.
If I have to say a negative thing for the place is that it’s not in the center of Kallithea but in the beginning of the village. However if you ask the local people they will let you know. Is about 5-10 minutes walking if I remember correctly.
Thanks a lot for the amazing nights that I passed there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Agapios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

By far the best food I have ever eaten!! This restaurant is not given enough praise!!! It was beyond amazing and a fantastic eating experience!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WHAT A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH TAVERNA AVLI!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Taverna Avli is a place you wish you had next to you every day!!! With simple, but of great quality and freshness, ingredients the chef manages to make every meal a unique experience... We are really happy that we discovered taverna avli (although, sadly, in the last days of our holidays) and we look forward to coming back. Thank you!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Smilla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Avli also viewed

Kallithea, Kassandra
Kallithea, Kassandra
 
Kallithea, Kassandra
Kallithea, Kassandra
 

Been to Taverna Avli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing