We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a suprise !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marigoula

Marigoula
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a suprise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I visited "Marigoula" in August 2012 during my summer vacations in Chalikidiki following some friends' recommendations.
It is somehow hidden in the center of Polygyros, behind the Municipality building. If you do not know the place you have to ask for it. But, definately, it worths looking for it!
You just cannot expect from such a small restaurant such a huge variety of dishes. We tried different appetizers, salads, and main courses and we loved all of them!
The highlight of the visit is the when Sofoklis (the owner) describes the menu !
Do not miss it !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DIATGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thíra, Kikladhes, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1000+1 tastes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Imagine a small restaurant, friendly people, tastes that you have never taste again... and you have Marigoula. This place is amazing! But, I have a trick for you: be sure that you decide first what you would like to drink with, because there are so many different tastes and probably you will be completely lost when Sofoklis (the manager) will tell you all the dishes that he has for you! enjoy!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkoudi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in Polygyros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We went to "Marigoula" in August 2011 during our vacation in Greece. The place was recommended by local friends. We would never have discovered it otherwise! We went with family and friends and went back for more during our stay.

"Marigoula" is a hidden treasure in Polygyros. It's family run. The guy who owns it is amazing. He takes personal care of all his customers. Everything we tried was superb. The guy experiments a lot with different tastes and, as a result, the variety in the dishes was totally unexpected, especially given the size and the location of the place. Every single dish was unique. We loved the various cheese appetizers, creative salads, sausages, big variety of meats cooked tender and delicious, amazing desserts... We pretty much liked everything.

The restaurant is really small. The interior is decorated tastefully. On the cons side, the location of the restaurant is nothing to rave about. It's located on a rather uninteresting road behind the Town Hall (not a pretty building). The outdoors has tables on the sidewalk. You need to be clear that you will go to Marigoula to enjoy the food, not the location. It's closed on Sundays, which is unusual for Greece.

Try to avoid busy times. The owner makes sure he takes personal care of every table which can cause delays when the place is very busy.

Prices are fair given the dishes, more on the expensive side but not too much.

We highly recommend this place despite the location cons. The food is extraordinary! If you are in the area, don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marigoula also viewed

Polygyros, Halkidiki Region
Polygyros, Halkidiki Region
 
Agios Prodromos, Halkidiki Region
Central Macedonia, Greece
 

Been to Marigoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing