We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marathonisi (Turtle Island)
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Marathonisi (Turtle Island)
from $32.80
More Info
from $28.70
More Info
Reviews (2,466)
Filter reviews
1,347 results
Traveler rating
833
323
135
31
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
323
135
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turtle island boat trip turtle spotting floating bar eggs glass bottom boat turtles swimming laganas beach small boat yellow submarine crystal clear water lovely trip swim stops nice beach blue caves boats sea
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,347 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Has a 3hr cruise Keri caves, turtle island and 2 swim sessions and turtle spotting beautiful day, Booked on Agios beach Keri caves were beautiful

Thank annbebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Tiny island shaped like a turtle. Took a speedboat out which stopped for a short while at the caves and then dropped us on the island to swim. We didn't do a turtle stop and I've seen loads all around the world and wasn't particularly bothered. The beach was very pebbly and the water clear but ice cold (mid Oct). There were about 3 or 4 docked boats selling hotdogs, drinks and snacks. Pringles were €4 but if you stop at the shops by Keri beach before boarding your boat you can get them for less than half that. It was off season during my visit and very full so can't imagine what it would be like in peak season. After a short swim I sat and read until boat came back to get us. I actually preferred admiring the island from a distant than be actually being on it.

Thank Godsgloriousworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful nature, this island looks like a turtle and turtles nest there, is that a coincidence? I will definitely go back one day

Thank bine2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first thing I noticed about Marathonisi Island (known as Turtle Island) is how coincidentally the actual island itself looks like a sea turtle! This isn't why it's called Turtle Island, that is because the sea turtles lay their eggs on this island and often come here for safety.

The island has a large roped off area explaining that the sea turtles use this for their eggs, so please obey the signs and be respectful - there's plenty of room for us and them so the species can continue.

The beach itself is fantastic, clear water, stunning colours (see pics) and a calm sea. The sea temperature is so warm you could swim all day long. There is a small boat that is actually a floating shop where you can buy drinks, ice creams, snacks etc. It is so scenic to swim here, many boats anchor in view of this beach (see pics) so it's nice to see them all - catamarans, sailboats, speedboats, even a pirate ship (see pic).

Thank BarbieMegaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided on a boat trip which was excellent value for money, only a hand full of people on the boat which was great news for us but not so good for business I suppose. We had plenty of room compared to other boats that appeared congested to the point of capsizing with so many people on board. Our captain was excellent had great personality, funny and very knowledgeable about the area. The turtles came to visit us in the marina and put on a fantastic display, we then went out to the island where we had time to chill or swim before heading out to the beautiful caves. we met some lovely people during our trip and enjoyed exchanging stories and trip ideas as well as a swim of the boat. I would 100% recommend this trip, not to be missed

Thank Cosyastoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Marathonisi Island on our boat tour around Zakynthos. Disembarked to see where the turtles lay their eggs, part of the beach is sectioned off to keep tbe eggs safe. There are a few boat vendors moored on the beach were you can purchase drinks, ice cream or snacks. Seemed a little spoilt by the amount for visitors and boats, maybe this should be restricted in some way?? Hope this is not hindering the turtle activity!!

Visited 7 Sep 2018

Thank Sue_and_Andy_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the island the caves were beautiful and the water was so calm. Would highly recommended and the turtles were amazing!!!

Thank judecullen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a boat trip via My Tours, used them for the shipwreck tour and they were good this time.
Stunning place, lovely island.
Unfortunately did witness people wondering over the areas which are cornered off to the public to protect the turtles.
The beach is on the island is stunning but i felt there was too many boats and people there at once and needed to be controlled more, people where left to do what they want.
Worth a visit tho

Thank Mikeyboy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a boat trip around the lovely coastline and our last stop off was Marathonisi. It’s named Turtle Island and is where turtles come to lay their eggs. It is beautiful but just can’t help thinking it ought to be there just for the turtles. Hope there are restrictions when egg laying season is happening?!!

Thank n55ffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Marathonisi Island in late Sept and rented a small motor boat next to Cameo Island.. price is based on how many hours you want and included fuel and insurance..it was so easy and so much fun!! it's about 10 minutes to the island, stopping first on the beach...it was way too crowded with tourist in all manner of boat. we left and went to a gorgeous cove on the west side with a small pebble beach , caves to swim in and the most amazingly clear emerald water. We anchored and swam and relaxed on the boat. then went over and explored Keri Caves but decided to go back to the cove because it was so beautiful. there were a few other small boats anchored there also.Every so often one of the larger tour boats arrived and let tourist swim in the cave and cove so it did get a little busy, mainly around the cave. make sure to bring snacks and food if you plan on spending several hours on the boat

Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews