We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was perfect”
Review of Avra Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avra Studios
Ranked #29 of 106 Zakynthos B&B and Inns
England, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything was perfect”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

we are family and choose this beautiful studios for our holidays

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nastazia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
42
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our holiday was doomed from the start, 11hrs delay on Monarch Air lines, 3hrs into flight we were told heading back to UK, we left from b-ham airport an 3hrs latter end up at gatewick... was not allowed to leave plain WAS NOT given any drinks or food while on plane just waited, then the hotel WELL, Nothing like the web page they advertise, the rooms were 1-fringe that i was so scared to put things in (dirty an very old), 1- kettle that would not turn off, 2-ring burner that was disgusting, (enamal pealing off, rings burntan blistered) an the beds WELL you had 2-sheets and dirt blankets ontop of the wardrobe, the A/C you had to pay for 6E, an the Mozies just eat you alive the Poolside drinks an Games room was storage no you had to trace up and down to your rooms for anything. and we only had new towels an sheets when we could get a cleaner. there were path lights that had fallen to the side an there were exposed wiring, a number of people had slipped on the stairs leading to the main foyour. i would never go there again, COSMOS pull your finger out its a disgrace, your basic human rights are not even met there!!

Room Tip: Make sure you put a towel at the bottom of the bathroom door, stop Mozies from eating you (stops a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitten_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zakynthos hotels

London
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in Avra Studios a few weeks ago, at first reading the previous reviews we were abit worried on what to expect. We stayed in the main block on the top floor. It was basic, but absolutely perfect on what we needed, kept clean daily, sheets and towels were changed. We had the most amazing view from our balcony so a view times we got a takeaway. We never stayed by the pool during the day, although it did look great but take advantage of the great beach which is about a 7mins walk away. For an umbrella and two sunbeds it is 5 euros, great value.

We also hired a quad bike for the day from Denis rentals, 12 euros a day, which is amazing value, we were shocked on the rental price. We ate out a few times, the best restaurant we thought was Paradosiako Tarvena which is towards Alykanas. The food was outstanding but do prebook. We luckily reserved a table and when we arrived on the night the queue was very long! Usually after eating out we would head to Buca Bar, which is on the beach front, they serve some very tasty cocktails, great way to finish off the evening.

We also did a morning trip to the caves and the shipwrecked beach which was 20 euros. I would recommend a visit to the shipwrecked beach, stunning!

Overall our holiday was fantastic, great accomodation with a good location. Absolutely love Alykes resort, just the right amount of bars and taverns and a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Well what can I say, my husband myself and our 11 year old son stayed here for a week in august, only payed £800 for all 3 of us for a week in high season, brilliant, I really don't understand what people are complaining about! Cause if I paid that so did everybody else and I don't know what people are expecting for the money, we were in the main block, block A the room was very basic, but cleaned every day, clean bedding every day, fully working air conditioning (we paid 40 euros for the week) well worth it if you ask me! You need it in this heat! The studios are about 2 minutes walk from the Lofos Apartments who do fantastic cheap food, another 2 minutes and you will come to a supermarket which sells everything you need, a further 5 minutes and you are right in the middle of Alykes which has everything you could possibly need. Loads of bars, restaurants and cash machine (when it feels like working) but hey your in Greece! I cannot fault these studios for the money, if your expecting 5 star accommodation for 2 star money then just don't go as you will be disappointed! We used the studios as a room only which is what we were sold it as, and it was perfect. The pool is lovely with plenty sun beds. I would definitely return for a cheap second holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in block A not sure what other blocks were like
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The ‘AVRA’ apartments: Don’t Go..!! I cannot believe that Cosmos are still offering these apartments to people ‘Victims’ is how we described those who arrived after us.

These apartments had been closed for about 4years, being opened up 2 days before our arrival. We were in the second group of victims the first having arrived the day before us. Cosmos describe guests taking a dip in the ‘well maintained swimming pool’ I would not let the my kids go in this pool as there had been two accidents already, the steps into the pool were not attached properly, the way this was dealt with was by them taking the steps out of the pool. Another of the guests nearly drowned as the lifesaver ‘rigid plastic ring’ had a hole unbeknown to us, this took in water which was then dragging this grown man under (thankfully it wasn’t a child). Thankfully it wasn’t a child. The camp beds are so old they have dangerous rusty wires supporting a dirty 1” mattress. The kitchen area? Two rusty electric rings, some having bare wires, fridges disgustingly dirty. When we arrived the fire extinguishers were out of date, new ones having been delivered that day – left around the corridors on the floor. No safety deposit box. French doors did not lock properly. All in all some may say you get what you pay for, but I would say no matter what you pay there are certain basic HEALTH & SAFETY requirements that any reputable travel company should ensure apartments that they are sending holiday makers to meet – COSMOS has failed miserably in this case. We were lucky enough to have been moved out but they still kept bringing people in. I actually felt sorry for their young rep.
The AVRA website states it offers a
Poolside snackbar = building site – if you want a drink/lolly you have a 5-10 minute walk to the nearest shop.
Minimarket = closed
Security boxes = wooden shelved area with lockable door in reception office, which is locked when no staff around
Friendly family run = they claim not to speak English until they swear at guests.
Pool table etc = if only…!!

Thankfully, other apartments welcome you into their pools, so you can spend your days in a safe environment providing you don’t stay at the AVRA.

Such a shame as you can see how nice it could be – with a hell of a lot of work.

HEALTH & SAFELY NIGHTMARE

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeDontGetAwayEnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked this holiday through yourholidays.com with a company called 'Cosmos'. It was easy and straightforward to book and was a good price as we booked the week before.

Upon arrival to the Hotel it seemed okay, not the best. To the right was a nive looking hotel with pool etc. and to the left there was a smaller building in the same pinky-orange colour. As we walked into our room I was quite surprised at how basic it actually was.

The bathroom had the smallest bath I've ever seen, with a shower hose attached to the tap but not fixed to the wall like showers usually are, the extractor fan in the bathroom was noisy so I wedged a knife in it to keep the noise down. The lights in the bathroom didnt work. Saying all that it wasn't in the best condition, it was however, clean.

The Kitchen light didn't work. The fride was leaking all over the floor when we arrived. There was a random mixture of cuttlery and plates. No bowls. We were given two single beds despite being a couple. The main bedroom light didn't work on the first day but misteriously worked on the next day.

All that aside, I think we couldn't have asked for a better location. We only spent the night in the hotel sleeping anyway, coming in at about 11pm and leaving by about 7:30am. We didn't cook in the room or eat there at all, we ate at all the many restaurants available on the strip which is about a 6 minute walk.

The room was cleaned daily and bedsheets changed daily plus new towels daily.

We didn't use the Pool because the hotel is located about 7 minutes walk from the sea and it's much nicer swimming in the sea with the beautiful landscape surrounding you. If you do stay there, I'd recommend hiring out a quad bike from Denis rentals which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It costs just 12 Euros for the whole day and we put in 6 Euros of petrol and drove it to Zakynthos town, the shipwreck everywhere, basically the whole island!

I'd say the in all the hotel is not going to be the best you'd ever stay in but being where it is located I'd say you get your moneys worth out of it as long as you don't sit by the pool all day which I think is pointless as you're on a beautiful isalnd which needs to be explored!

Room Tip: Ask for a deal on air conditioning in the room for the whole week on the first day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We recently stayed at the Avra Studios expecting a basic but clean room and hotel with the facilities promised, unfortuantly this was not the case. We stayed in the main block but our room was very dirty with many of the facilities in the room broken including the front door which is obviously a safety issue. Airconditioning was something the hotel falsely advertise on their website as being included in the price however this is not the case and it is 6euros per day. Although we were lucky enough to stay in the main block many of the other guests were
shipped across to stay in an old block on a farm across the road
from the main hotel!
The hotel was supposed to have a
pool bar, onsite supermarket and
pool tables etc. All of these
facilities were closed. There is a
local supermarket close by with
friendly staff so not having the
supermarket wasn't a big deal but
not having a pool bar was a
massive shame. The pool was clean, but some of the facilities around and in the pool were broken, the pool stairs were not attached to the
floor so were very unsafe and one
of the pool lights was broken away
from the side. The managements
idea of fixing this was to tape it to
the side and put it under the grill at
the side of the pool.
Our rep nazira was rude and
unhelpful and had no customer
service skills at all. She did the very
least to help us with our problems.
She said some very outrageous
things to us guests and even swore!
The location of hotel however was
good. It is about a 15 minute walk from the main resort and had bars, restaurants and supermarkets all very close.
In summary I would avoid this
hotel, well at least until these
problems get sorted!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jr240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zakynthos hotels
10.1 mi away
Katerina Palace Hotel
Katerina Palace Hotel
#7 of 27 in Argassi
642 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Alykes
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montes Apartments & Studios
0.4 mi away
Kanela Studios
Kanela Studios
#7 of 28 in Alykes
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Studios

Property: Avra Studios
Address: Alykes Beach, 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Zakynthos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our experience, excellent staff, and our passion to offer the best, make our hotel the best choice for your stay. Here you will find a beautiful, warm and friendly environment, all modern amenities, cleanliness, fast service and friendly prices your pocket. Enjoy your holidays with family or with friends, away from it all and leave all the rest to us. You will find us in Alykes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Avra Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing