We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, awful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vassiliki Bay Hotel
Ranked #59 of 115 Lefkada B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2011

It was my first time in Lefkas and the Island is gorgeous. We stayed in Vassiliki since we do windsurfing and overall the holiday was great. The only advantage of the hotel is good location, since it is two steps from the center of the beautiful little village Vassiliki. The room was poor but OK (with A/C) - it is exceptionally small and we hardly had enough space to put our luggage on the floor. The bathroom was awfull: dirty, stinky and soosmelly. The sink was so small that we hardly could brush the teeth over it. In one word - horrible bathroom. The cleaning was also very poor, there was a lot of dirt on the floor. The towels were changed twice in the whole week.
The staff is polite but most of them speek only Greek, so the communication is often a problem. The only advantage was the free wi-fy in the lobby. The breakfast was nothing special, but ok. We had a package organized and we had dinner in the local tavern (Ocean's see food restaurant) where the food was great and very delicious.
We would definetly be back in the beautiful Vasiliki, but never again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanaXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Vassiliki Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our vacation in Lefkada was awesome, however, the hotel – not so much.
Vassiliki Bay Hotel has a nice location, only one block from the center of Vassiliki. It doesn't have a pool or a garden or anything like that, just a little terrace on the ground floor. There are a few parking spaces in front, but you can park your car anywhere nearby. Wi-Fi works in the lobby (it’s not the fastest), but in the rooms it sometimes works and most of the time it doesn’t.

Their web page www.hotelvassilikibay.gr shows only their best and largest rooms, but no bathrooms (because they probably haven't been renovated yet, and they are definitely not worth showing).

We stayed at the room 21, 1st floor, which was exceptionally small for 3 people. It may be fairly OK for 2 people, but definitely not for 3. We literally didn't have any space to put our suitcases or anything else, so we tripped all over each other the whole week. However, the price was the same, as if only 2 people stayed in the room, which was not fair at all, but I guess that's the agency's fault…

The equipment in the room (beds, wardrobes, door…) is quite new, so you can see the hotel has been renovated.
The biggest issue with this hotel is the BATHROOM. Ours was quite disgusting. Old, dirty, tiny, with a smelly cabinet over the sink, the dirtiest toilet brush ever, the smallest sink, no room to put anything (not enough hangers for towels).
The shower was a special feature: I never expect much from such hotels, I know that you get what you pay for, but this shower was the weirdest I have ever seen. Extraordinarily narrow, dirty, no shelf to put your shampoos and stuff, so you have to put everything on the floor.
Of course, you could use the cabinet above the sink, but then you would have to open the shower door again, which usually collapsed onto you, because the top rod was not attached properly and it kept detaching. The shower door was a sort of a plastic harmonica-door that you could hardly open or close. I suggest you wear your flip flops if you don’t want to catch anything.

The reception and breakfast rooms are very nice, pretty, decorated in a cozy rustic style.

Breakfast is basic but quite OK: white bread, zwieback, sponge cake, jams, honey, butter, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, fresh tomatoes, corn flakes, chocolate cereal, juices, coffee, various tea bags, warm milk and delicious greek yoghurt (!! you have to try greek yoghurt with liquid honey – a gorgeous way to end your breakfast :). Breakfast is served from 7.30 – 10.30 am.

The hotel staff is quite nice and polite, especially the reception guy from Bulgaria (we talked every night).

There were some issues with the towels – most of the time we didn't get enough clean towels, even if we left the dirty ones on the floor; when we asked for them at the reception, we only got the small ones, because the large towels were in the laundry. So I guess the hotel doesn't have enough towels for all the guests… However, when we asked for an additional pillow, we got it without a problem, so no complaints there.

If you also have dinner in your holiday package, the dinner is not served at the hotel, but in a local tavern by the sea, about 30 meters from the hotel (Ocean’s sea food restaurant). It’s at the beginning of the strip with many restaurants in the centre of the village, the food is delicious (try stuffed tomatoes, tzaziki, giant beans, souvlaki, musaka…), our waiter was really nice. For the hotel guests they usually have 2 menus for dinner each night, usually with meat. But if you don’t want meat, you can order something else and they don’t make any problems. No dessert or drinks included.

I suggest not coming to this hotel in August. The reason: there was a large group of Italian guests (age 50-60 or so, around 20-25 of them) and they obviously thought they were at home. Loud, inconsiderate, annoying, they smoked inside in the dining-room during breakfast (they didn't care one bit that there were other guests trying to enjoy their breakfast without suffocating in cigarette smoke), the lobby, everywhere. If you asked them not to smoke inside, they were rude as if it was their right to smoke wherever they wanted. The hotel had no restrictions about smoking inside; I guess they think it’s OK and they’re afraid to say anything … The Italians used the hotel's little kitchen for preparing their own breakfast (I guess they had some sort of an agreement with the hotel), so you couldn't even have a little peace for breakfast, because the kitchen was next to the dining room and they kept coming in and out, shouting all over the place…You couldn't even use the terrace, because they occupied everything and you couldn't even hear yourself…

Their cigarette smoke was constantly present in our room as well (morning, day, evening, night…), because it came from the balconies next door and from the terrace below. Luckily, we had air-conditioning, so we could cool the room a bit.

The hotel has no ''peace and quiet'' policy – the Italian group stayed on the terrace until 2 or 3 am (or later) every night, and of course they were as loud as possible. No one from the hotel ever asked them to keep the noise down. So don't bring small children to this hotel.
I understand that such large groups are important to the hotel, because they bring them more money than other ‘’ordinary’’ guests, so the hotel lets them do what they want. That’s why I don’t suggest staying at such small family hotels in August, because you will probably have the same issues everywhere. Try larger hotels that don’t depend on such groups.

I will probably not be back to this hotel, especially if they don’t fix their bathrooms, which are a disgrace to otherwise quite a lovely small hotel. Shame.

Vassiliki is a great place for wind-surfing (it can be quite windy in the afternoons; evenings are usually pleasant) or exploring the gorgeous beaches of Lefkada, but I would rather stay somewhere with nicer bathrooms and more order.

About the village: Vassiliki is a smaller village, not as busy as Nidry or Lefkada town, however there a lot of taverns, bars, sweetshops, souvenir shops, markets, a small marina… so you have can some evening fun. Don’t bother to catch the happy hour for cocktails, because those cocktails are much smaller than ‘’normal’’ ones (served after 10 pm), and the price is just a few euros lower. Also, we found some cans with giant beans that were cheaper at the airport than at the local market in the village. So maybe go to the markets outside the village for your groceries, they’re probably cheaper.
The beautiful Agiofili beach is 3,5 km from the Vassiliki Bay hotel (40-50 minutes of walking, you can go by car or scooter or a boat from the Vassiliki port) - it is worth the visit, especially after 5pm, when it is not so crowded anymore.
You can rent a car (around 35 eur for a Fiat Punto per day – check what kind of insurance you have!) and explore all the gorgeous beaches on the west coast: Lefkatas Cape (Sapfo), beaches Porto Katsiki, Egremni, Kathisma, Kalamitsi… (all about 40-50 minutes drive from Vassiliki) – you will be thrilled. The sea is much warmer on the west side than on the south.
Nidry is about 40-50 minutes drive away from Vassiliki, Lefkada town is a bit more than an hour away – nice for some evening entertainment. Buy souvenirs in Vassiliki, because they are cheaper than in Nidry.
Renting a wind-surf is 20 eur/hour, 60 eur/3hours, 80 eur/day, 175 eur/week.

I strongly recommend vacationing on the island of Lefkada, it is gorgeous. We will be back to the island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tci210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

I found this hotel using the internet (http://www.hotelvassilikibay.gr). Unfortunately their webpage is misleading as far as it concerns the quality of the hotel. This is not a hotel actually; it is a motel, a house that was turned to a hotel by modifications. Check the wooden roof at the third floor and you will understand it is an addition to the original building.

The major issue is the bathroom. In my room the bathroom was stinking (probably due drainage problems). Also they were only providing a small round soap (not even hair wash cream).

As far as it concerns cleanliness, it was absolutely awful. I found every trash the previous owner left in the bathroom.

Last but not least, there was not a single page of paper documenting the services that were provided.

So, essentially you get the service that you would expect to have in a “room to let” but paying the price of a hotel. You can get the same level of service paying half the price in the surrounding rooms.

Make sure you have an alternative place to stay before arriving to Lefkada...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nytravelr067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Great Hotel, in a top location on the beautiful Island of Lefkas! The hotel is situated in a fishing village called Vassiliki that is much nicer that the overated town of Nidri. Here you won't find hoards of tourists looking for a chinese/indian restaurant, after all we go to Greece to experience the local culture.

Anyway back to the hotel, it's rated as 3star but more towards 4. The owner Panagioti makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk into the front door. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Very Clean and Daily Housekeeping Service. There is even a nightwatchman for security not that this island even needs it!

The hotel is only a short stroll to the beach and ferry to take you to the stunning beaches ie Porto Katsiki, Agiofili etc etc. Only 5euro per person to the beach and back. They have pick up's at many intervals.

if you are looking for a great price hotel with breakfast included, excellent customer service and very close to everything then don't even think of staying anywhere else!!!

enjoy

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank johnnyturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croquetta2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank FrancescoS_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank sofia_christoforidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lefkada hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Theoni Hotel
Grand Theoni Hotel
#2 of 12 in Vasiliki
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalias Hotel
Kalias Hotel
#7 of 12 in Vasiliki
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ponti Beach Hotel
Ponti Beach Hotel
#15 of 76 in Lefkada
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pension Holidays
Pension Holidays
#9 of 12 in Vasiliki
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akroyiali Resort
Akroyiali Resort
#6 of 17 in Vasiliki
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Savinos Rooms
Savinos Rooms
#4 of 17 in Vasiliki
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vassiliki Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vassiliki Bay Hotel

Address: Vassiliki Bay, 311 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Lefkada
Price Range: $40 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vassiliki Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing