We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for peace and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Nicolas Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 113 Lefkada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect place for peace and relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Lefkas for a week at the end of September/beginning of October and stayed at the San Nicolas. We travel to Greece a lot and rarely out of season (or nearly) but more about that later.

We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room which was lovely. Spacious, high ceilings, generous balcony overlooking the bay. Not very much in terms of storage space so those traveling heavy and staying for 2 weeks may struggle a bit in finding place for their belongings but for us it was fine. I agree with a previous review in that tea and coffee facilities would have been a nice touch not least (as someone else has mentioned) because there is a sign in the room that guests should not bring in their own beverages etc. I felt that the hotel is trying to attract a certain clientele who, I expect, might find this notice a bit insulting? Just a thought.

The hotel is pricey - coffee at €5, cocktails at €9 or so (another reason why the notice in the room is a bit cheeky!) and the menu prices for the restaurant, although pretty enticing, were pretty expensive. We would have eaten there had it been a little warmer in the evenings because the outside seating area is beautifully placed and the view amazing.

The pool area was quiet and well maintained although the pool was ice cold! So we didn't spend any time around it. Rather, we spent our time at the jetty area at the bottom of the resort (it is on various levels - good access with lifts) which was lovely. Peaceful, generous amount of beds and the sea was absolutely perfect. There is a beach bar for drinks and food and Arriti, the best member of staff there in my opinion, will make up drinks and deliver them to you.

Breakfast was great - big choice. Always fresh fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheeses, cereals, bread, Danish pastries, cake, juice, tea & coffee. You can ask for eggs and bacon if you would like and again, Arriti was there to attend to everyone in an efficient and lovely way.

There was one chappie serving drinks at the pool bar who didn't seem to take to us at all or maybe he was just unfriendly to everyone - we didn't manage to get a smile out of him once no matter how hard we tried, including leaving tips... You clearly can't win 'em all! So we gave up and didn't go to the pool bar after the second time.

The resort is small and beautiful. It was winding down for the end of what we understand to have been a very busy (and long) season. As I mentioned above, we normally travel to Greece in season and so this was quite unusual although not entirely unexpected. Quiet, few people about. It has it's advantages but the atmosphere was a bit lacking - not down to the place, just the time of year. Our favourite taverna was Molos - family run, super friendly, delicious food at hugely reasonable prices. We were there one evening when we had a huge thunderstorm and they secured everything and we all had a lovely evening together!

We drove around the whole island one day and fell for Syvota as well. Nidri was fun - much more buzzy and a vast choice of bars and tavernas to eat at. We liked it a lot. You do need a car to get about because although we did see local buses, I am not sure if they come down the narrowish windy roads down to Mikros Gaios.

So, in summary, if you like quiet, do go as the season is coming to a close and the San Nicolas is a good choice for r&r in style. Be prepared for Mr Unfriendly though...! Thanks to Arriti who is a complete hunny and who works so hard, for making our stay special and also to the hotel manager who was lovely to us.

We will be back to the island again - for sure although we will probably go for 2 weeks self catering. Not a reflection on the hotel at all, just personal choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 726Tania_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

After a weeks sailing this was the perfect hotel to relax in just a shame about the exorbitant cost of drinks and food. We would have happily stayed in the hotel some evenings but it was better to take the short walk down to the tavernas which were very reasonably priced.
The hotel service was excellent, considering the reduced staff numbers close to the the end of the season.
The design of the building and its interior was modern and tasteful with a really good 25 metre infinity pool and ample lounging area on decking above the crystal clear sea.
We would definately return and hope that the owners have taken note of previous comments about food and drink pricing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the San Nicolas Hotel for one week, after a week of sailing round the Ionian Islands. It was a perfect way to relax in beautiful surroundings. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, all very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful to swim in the sea straight from lower terraces of hotel.
Just a couple of small niggles though - why no fresh orange juice at breakfast? It was just orange squash!! Also, if you were not down early enough at breakfast, several items were finished and not replaced. The food and drinks were very expensive; we only dined twice at the hotel in the evening. My pizza the first night was awful, burnt and cold. Also there was only one waiter serving, and he had to prepare drinks and desserts too. I know it's near the end of the season, but I think the hotel is understaffed. Whilst it was nice to dine outside overlooking the bay, it got quite cold as the evening progresssed and I had to wear my coat!! Not exactly the dining experience I was looking forward to!
The towels and bathmat provided in the bathroom have seen better days and need replacing. (The "bath" towel was more like the size of a hand towel!)
We hired a car for the week and it is certainly an "experience" driving around the numerous steep hairpin bends from the main road down to Mikros Gialos! Not for the faint-hearted!
Several friendly tavernas about 10 minutes walk from hotel, serving typical Greek food. Very reasonably priced too. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at San Nicolas, and appreciated the peace and quiet there.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison29Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved San Nicolas. They should not call it a "resort" hotel as it sounds so much bigger. In fact it is 17 bedrooms, so fairly small. If you like peace and quiet (we have only just returned and September is clearly a good month), then this is the place. The views are outstanding, the tranquility (no music around the pool), modern and minimalist. We found all the staff very helpful, though woefully understaffed in the bar and restaurant. It meant they had to work twice as hard, but nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant which was overlooking the sea looked incredibly romantic. Candlelit and elegant, we had high hopes. Sadly, most guests went to the local tavernas so it lacked atmosphere and was hugely overpriced. For real Greek food go to the local tavernas. The first 2 you come to are the best and only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. This was a real plus for us being able to walk. The driving is something else! With 17 sharp bends to negotiate before reaching the main road, it is pretty challenging and not one for inexperienced or nervous drivers OR passengers!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and overlook the sea, so you can't go wrong. The higher the level, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coopers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had some wonderful time at San Nicolas hotel. The rooms are nice and spacious, the staff is friendly and the beach (pontoon) very cosy. Also the restaurant is very nice. Fantastic view. Only negative is the setting which is a bit remote.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jercams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Decided to eat here for supper as a change from local tavernas, and I'm glad we came.

More than anything else it is the setting that would bring me back, and as the evening grew darker and lights begin to twinkle in the distance it felt more and more magical.

It's a well designed hotel, minimalist chic meets stone and decking - and expertly lit at night.

Food is fine, service warm and friendly - it's not as cheap as the local tavernas, but that's not why we came.

Well worth a visit, and the best Mojito I've had for some time, with the mint freshly picked from a bush by the bar, perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just come back from a week's stay, following a week sailing. The hotel and the location are idilic, difficult to find better.
A couple of small niggles, a shame (given the pricing) that drinking water is charged out and there are no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. A rather dictatorial note is left in rooms asking guests to only consume water and food that is bought at the hotel...maybe translation, but I did note the majority of the guests ate their evening meals offsite. I would have thought it better to offer guests complimentary water, I think it would pay dividends.
On the whole the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: We had two rooms at the top (3rd floor) the views from there are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lefkada hotels
7.2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
7.6 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#4 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
11.2 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
13.4 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#8 of 77 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Nicolas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Resort Hotel

Property: San Nicolas Resort Hotel
Address: Mikros Gialos, 31084, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Lefkada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Nicolas Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Nicolas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing