We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Nicolas Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 113 Lefkada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location! Lovely boutique hotel! Very quiet and romantic! Just having dinner in the restaurant overlooking the pool and wonderful sea views! Food great x wine great x this is a great boutique hotel if you want to relax and chill out! Not sure about the yellow plastic outdoor setteescthough!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathiesavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is an amazing hotel in a most beautiful location. The views from anywhere in the hotel are stunning. The bedrooms are very spacoius, tastefully decorated with the most comfortable huge bed ever. The bathroom was also large,( with a bath ) And we had a good size balcony too. . Breakfast was very good , plenty of choice at the buffet but a cooked breakfast was also available ,again with plenty of choice. infact the hotel staff make every effort to give you exactly what you want at any time of the day . the restaurant had a good menu and we enjoyed all that was cooked for us. Lunch served down by the beach bar looking out over the bay was idyllic. there are lots of different sunbathing areas to chose from depending on your mood, by the pool, by the sea, by the beach bar and all have comfortable sun loungers. lastly i must mention the amazing staff. They are all very genuine, friendly people who really do want you to enjoy your stay there. Well Done San Nicolas !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was married at the San Nicolas in June of this year, and cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful boutique hotel and its wonderful staff. The location is idyllic, perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday. The areas with sunloungers down by the sea are beautiful, and it is lovely for swimming. Mikros Gialos beach is a short walk away, with some small and pleasant tavernas. For us, the staff made our holiday and wedding day unforgettable, they could not have been more kind and helpful. The owners made us feel so special, assisting with the smallest details in any way they could. The level of service was fantastic; we were in a party of eight, and everyone agrees with this. The breakfast was delicious, with numerous sweet and savoury Greek delicacies, and we ate in the restaurant most evenings - yes, it costs a little more than local tavernas, but we found the food to be excellent. I highly recommend the rose wine from the local winery! The rooms are stunning, with simple, relaxing colour schemes - we were in room 301 with the four poster bed and giant balcony. All rooms have superb views across the bay. We found this hotel and its staff (particularly Apistolis!) to be perfect - in some ways, I hate to tell the world about it, it's a real hidden gem.

Room Tip: Upper floors have larger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed 7 nights July 22 to July 29, 2012. This is a blissful boutique hotel - idyllic in location and beautifully appointed. It is far from the madding crowds and the best I have stayed at on Lefkas, bar none. Our room and bed was huge as was the 40m2 balcony with stunning views of the Mikros Gialos bay and beach. We loved it. The sea deck by the shore line is delightful and the wonderful barman Apostolos is the most accommodating you are ever likely to find. The hotel is superbly built, the standard of the fittings and decoration is high in bedrooms and communal areas and the outside spaces are stunning. I defy you to choose between the wonderful pool and the sea deck. We used both equally and most of the time had the pool to ourselves. A car is essential.

To sum up, we were thrilled with this hotel from the moment we arrived and we cannot wait to go back. Do not be put off by the reviews below. You will not be disappointed. I'd like to debunk some of the criticisms made by other reviewers

Travel - if you're travelling from the UK make sure you fly to Preveza, rather than to Athens. It's only a 45 min drive from the airport. Airlines: meridianfly, Monarch, Thomson Airways

Staff - are extremely hardworking pleasant, and all speak good English!

Wasps - if you were to believe reviews elsewhere you would think there are swarms. There really aren't many. The few that there mainly come out a breakfast when diners are on the beautiful terrace overlooking the bay. We simply moved inside. No problem.

Trees by the pool - They do not need to go!! They are small and beautifully formed and add pleasant greenery to the pool area. If you cannot be bothered to move your sun lounger an inch once or twice, go down on the sea deck.

Room Tip: 202 we miss you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very nice hotel and good service!The menu at the restaurant needs more attention for what it offers as it is quite expensive. Friendly staff, all rooms with magnificent sea view, breakfast very good. A small private beach right in front of the beach bar.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Gorgeous big rooms, beautifully decorated bedrooms. Great views all round. Lovely pool and comfortable sunloungers. A few nice tavernas a short walk away (especially the fish restaurant). Very peaceful.

A wide menu, but some big improvement needed - food too oily / Caesar salad came with mushrooms and greasy croutons and smothered in salad cream (what?). A dish listed as pesto pasta was in a thick cream sauce. They need better menu info and perhaps the chef needs to pick what he's good at and not try to do EVERYTHING. That said, stunning surroundings for an evening meal as the sun sets.

Problem is that the San Nic isn't as classy as it thinks it is, or is charging for - smart and nice, but not 4*. Staff speak insufficient English (we had various comedy episodes where odd things happened through misunderstanding a request) - even the manager charged a card we'd asked her NOT to charge with the bill, and swore blind that the taxi to the port was 15mins when it's 35.

Towels in the bathroom are v small, which isn’t a luxury thing at all. Configurement of the shower is ridiculous and you have to do a little dance between the wall and the taps. Air con also not too great.

Most annoying of all is that there are trees around the sunloungers that both block the sun (causing constant shifting about of the sunlounger), and drop blackflies on you as you sunbathe - these need to GO!

This place is NEARLY great, but needs a little work before it’s perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I strongly recommend this hotel which is a beautiful and quiet. We stayed there 5 nights and it was perfect. We had a suite (room 303) with a terrasse on the top floor of the hotel and such a view. Each room has it own terrasse but ours was especially spacious and the view is astonished.
This hotel has a high standing, the staff is warm and always helpfull and discret. The pool is a beauty and the restaurant is very good and offers a large choice. The beach (no sand) is a beauty. I think this is a perfect hotel for couples is you need to rest. The only thing not to ignore is that it is a kind of long (not hard) to get there. We arrived in Athens. Then, it takes 5 hours to get to Lefkas and then an hour to get to the hotel...! But once you get there, it is the paradise and really worth it. It is a very good hotel and we miss it every day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanoushkatlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lefkada hotels
7.2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
7.6 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#4 of 12 in Vasiliki
132 reviews
11.2 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
5.2 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 14 in Nidri
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Nicolas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Resort Hotel

Property: San Nicolas Resort Hotel
Address: Mikros Gialos, 31084, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Lefkada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Nicolas Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Nicolas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing