We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Katsiki

Porto Katsiki
Ranked #2 of 55 things to do in Lefkada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

must be visited, would like to go back again, truly a piece of heaven

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,101
    350
    134
    40
    24
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

the best beach on lefkas dont forget to visit!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank nikol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Magnificent beach but be careful...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

It would be wrong to try to describe the beauty of this beach in just a few words. Just see any poster or leaflet, a photo is a thousand words. But if you plan to go there during the summer, especially in August, here is some good advice. First of all, even if it's not your best, wake up early and be there at 9-10 in the morning. It will be you and another 50-60 people and you'll enjoy it as we did. After 10 in the morning during the high season there is a human river coming down the stairs. Second, in the morning the sea is usually calm, so you'll be able to see the beach as it is in the postcards. After midday the possibilities are against you. And just don't make the mistake and put your umbrella nearer than 6-7 metres from the seashore. The waves are really big and come suddenly. It is not a dangerous beach at all, but the waves can be annoying if you find your things totally wet. Last but not least, though there are many parking spaces, the earlier you arrive there, the closest you will park your car.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank arinez02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful beaches on the planet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Defies description - go and see it! Untouched beauty in a phenomenal little bay, warm and clean see!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank miske50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

All I have to say is if you're visiting Greece- Please make this a MUST SEE destination.

what you need to bring:
towels. water shoes (is rocky walking to water). water camera/video. sunblock/lotions.
they sell @ the shop before walking down the stairs- floats (if u don't have, umbrellas (u will need 1 or 2)
they have a few boys who take your order for lunch...order early bc he gets too busy.. or venture back up the stairs to the taverna...

do get there early. we got there 8:30am and by 10 am the beach was packed!
once walking down the stairs make a left...you will need to walk a bit into the water before getting to the sand..so make sure you're not wearing your jeans or long dress.
they do rent lounge chairs w/umbrellas, but we decided to walk further down (less congested)

the beach BEAUTIFUL. the color of the ocean can't be justified with any of the photos posted crystal clear. i will return. we only spend 2 nights 1 full day @ Porto Katsiki but we know we will return.
i have to say we were there from 8:30 am until 7pm. the steps up were a mission the sun sucked the life out of me & i can't believe my husband walked up 3 x (food, umbrellas and drink purchases) anyway the beach is amazing- great for families- couples- groups

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Katsiki also viewed

Lefkada, Ionian Islands
Agios Nikitas, Lefkada
 
Agios Nikitas, Lefkada
Lefkada, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Porto Katsiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing