We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greek paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kastro Maistro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lefkada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kastro Maistro
Ranked #46 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Lefkada
Ungheni, Moldova
1 review
“Greek paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

In September we decided to go for holidays in Lefkada.
Some friends recommended us Maistro Kastro Hotel, built at the foot of lush mountains, surrounded by secular olive groves. We were pleasantly surprised by the fabulous scenery that opens the room with a balcony view of the incredibly blue sea, air-conditioning, free internet, varied and very tasty breakfast, a very clean pool (finally, I have learned to swim!) room cleaning is done daily.
The hotel’s staff brings back special memories and especially its owner - Nicos - the embodiment of Greek hospitality, all open, polite, very friendly and responsive to all our requests. We kiss them all! Hope to see you next summer!
At the hotel we played table tennis, we rented bikes and a sailing boat that allowed us to reach the deserted beaches and bays which are not accessible from the highway.
In about 10 minutes on foot we could easily reach the beach Agios Ioannis, a peerless blue beach. A lot of tourists from all over Europe come here to practice water sports such as kite surfing and windsurfing.
It was a great vacation: generous weather, worm water. In my opinion, I think September is the perfect time to spend your holidays in Greece.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Kastro Maistro for two weeks in September and it was an amazing experience. This is real greek hospitality. The owner Nikos is very friendly, also the girls at the reception desk were very helpful in every way. We felt like kings in ancient greece :-)

The rooms are simple, but nicely decorated. The small kitchen is perfect for preparing a small meal. Every room has a TV with international channels...mostly german though. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very clean, as was the bathroom.

Here you get real value for money. It is also nice that the compound has 2 grill stations with benches, where you can make yourself BBQ, which is great. The area is also very nice decorated with palm trees and plants. The big swimming pool with seaview is clean and real fun! To the beach it's approx. 10-15min by foot, it is better to rent a scooter or a bike though.

We will definetely come again!

Room Tip: Go up, up, up !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pau-I-Vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went with our 4 year old son for 12 nights in late August 13 in Castro Maistro after reading positive reviews of other travelers. The entire facility is very nice with lot of plants, room satisfactory and view solid enough. Good thing is the location, especially if you want to visit west side beaches and be near to the city.
However, the service provided is so poor that is hard to explain. First about the accommodation, be aware that all bathrooms are constantly heavily leaking – we know that from other guests. Small problem one might say, but we had to throw towels on the floor all the time just to get inside – and of course there were never enough of those. Shower cabins are so small that you can’t turn whatsoever. Second, the breakfast was same all the time, which by itself is not a problem. Unfortunately, bread, croissants and such are always a day old. It would of been a nice breakfast if pastry was fresh. Third, the most serious problem in general is how the place is managed and lack of any polices. There are some five people who handle the entire compound and most of them are foreigners. There are problems all the time and nobody is paying attention. In reality, this is not a hotel, but rather B&B where after 16h (when the small reception get closed) there is no one to ask to fix you problem. In 12 nights, we didn't have hot water 3 times for 24 hours! Couple of times our room was not cleaned. And most of all, the evening noise is pretty much like in downtown Lavkas. Younger guests drink and make terrible noise around pool and barbecue area almost every evening until early morning hours. When I asked hotel manager to do something about it, he said he’ll fix it, but that was it. I’m in my mid 30s, so I’m just to noise, but this was way too much. If we wanted noise, we could book a place in Levkas. There were other examples, but this is just to give you a hint.
The island is beautiful and we’ll come again, but not in Castro Maistro. It’s a pity, since if it would only have a better management, we would be happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
413 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Triple PERFECTION... and more....and more....


Hotel Kastro Maistro is the place when you can spend magnificant vacation...wonderful time...wonderful peacefull place......Wonderfil hotel,... wonderful view,... wonderful staff especially Dora.....and more...perfectly wonderful owners Nikos and Vula... who made this hotel wonderful paradise on Lefkada island....I very highly reccomended this hotel for frends and family vacations

Room Tip: deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our second stay in Kastro Maistro and certainly not the last. The place is wonderful in any regard, the location is just right, near the city of Lefkas, but also the best beaches could be reached in few minutes, the apartments are spotlessly clean, decorated in a tastefull manner, with bright and calm colours. The staff is very friendly, and willing to help at any time. Breakfast is rich, with lots of fresh fruits, tasty croissants, fresh yougurt with honey (best combination ever)....The hotel has also a swimming pool which overlook the Ionnian sea. The best place to stay in Lefkada for sure. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AneMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

In Kastro Maistro I spend the summer for two last years, I hope to be able to visit him and this summer. I found this accomodation quite by accident, through grecca.com and highly recommend it to all my friends. Owner Castro Maistro Nikos, a great professional in this business.
Villa Kastro is an excellent strategic location, it has a nice view. The apartments are very clean, comfortable and equipped with quality furniture. In front of the villa is a swimming pool where you can refresh yourself if you do not go to the beach. The pool is cleaned every day. Beside the pool is a bar where you can enjoy your morning coffee and breakfast. There are plenty of parking spaces.
Kastro Maistro place for a perfect holiday, and I will go there every time I visit Lefkada.
Jelena from Belgrade

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Before our trip to Lefkada last summer, I looked for other comments for Castro Maistro and I was pretty convenient to book it. Most of the pictures and reviews were taken before renovation of Castro, so we were REALLY amazed when we arrived to Ag.Ioannis! The location of Castro, just under a cliff where a beautiful monastery is situated, (but don't worry, You can hardly hear the church bells!) and a PANORAMIC WIEW from the room terrace over Lefkada and open sea, across the distant island of Kerkira and the mainland..
In most cases, in Greece allround (by personal experience) I was always disturbed with Vespas and other traffic noises.. in Kastro, THIS IS NOT THE CASE. :)

The rooms are nice, the staff is helpful and cooperative, we were really impressed when Nikos organized once a barbecue near the pool, A GREEK NIGHT with good music and with excellent troop of folklore dancers. To see a big guy, dancing on the top of A wine glass, it is spectacular. My only regret is the distance from the Ai.Iannis beach, when you are coming back (by foot) around the lunch time..

Afterall, you can choose one of a MILLION beaches around Lefkada, specially on the west coast.. Kathisma was our favorite.

Can't wait any more for next vacation!!!

Dušan K,
Belgrade, Serbia

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kocis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lefkada hotels
0.4 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#8 of 79 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.6 mi away
Vergina Star
Vergina Star
#7 of 11 in Nikiana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ioli
Villa Ioli
#54 of 114 in Lefkada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Giovanni Luxury Studios
San Giovanni Luxury Studios
#112 of 318 in Lefkada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kydonies Villas
Kydonies Villas
#44 of 318 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Dimitris Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastro Maistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Maistro

Property: Kastro Maistro
Address: Agios Ioannis, 311 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Lefkada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing