We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had great holidays in there”
Review of Rouda Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rouda Bay Hotel
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Lefkada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We visited lefkada this summer and we loved it! Poros is an ideal place if you want to relax and enjoy the greek summer. Guys in the reception are really friendly and helpful. the front rooms-suites are just perfect. Nothing luxury but it is not necessary, there is a very nice atmosphere and a Perfect view of Poros Beach. i will definitelly visit them again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alaloum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

From the welcome on arrival, to the spacious, well furnished rooms, to the helpful and friendly staff, to the excellent food (One well-travelled member of our party judged her moussaka the best she had ever tasted) to the quality of service throught, we could only award full marks.

The beach really is only 50m away - and the delightful Eleni brought our coffes to our sunbeds!

We will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanrburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed in September for 3 nights ! We had a nice spacious room with a big balcony. If the palm tree was not exactly in front of the room we would also have a very nice sea view. Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception and at the restaurant. The location is very quiet, perfect place to relax. Choices of food are limited as you will find only 3 taverns there Nydri is a 15-20 minutes from Mikros Gialos where the hotel is, be careful at the road as it is very narrow.
In general we had a very time at Rouda Bay Hotel and as it was our first vacantion together we will always have great memories from there and one day we will be back ! Thank you for your hospitality !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misfits7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable, great sea view and lovely balcony! Literally 2 mins walk from the beach and you can order from the cafe and it's brought down to the beach. Good wifi that even reaches the beach! Staff were very helpful and continue to be so as they are arranging for some stuff I left behind to be sent over to the UK. The bay is gorgeous and I highly recommend walking along the sea front and trying out all the restaurants. Can get there from the nearest airport for about 65euros if you don't want to rent a car.
Would definitely go back, very relaxing week!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The first thing we noticed when entering our apartment was an overpowering smell of toilet/drain cleaner which took almost 24 hours to clear.

Secondly, the apartment was set towards the end of the ‘horse shoe’ layout and was therefore ‘wedge shaped’. The main bedroom was at the back of the apartment and although there was a window it wasn’t possible to have it open as it opened directly onto an outside stairway. The room was painted in burgundy and grey, the bed had a dark wood headboard and there were dingy brown, fraying rugs either side. The overall impression made the room seem extremely dark and claustrophobic.

The second room, which opened onto a small terrace, would have made a nice lounge area, but the fold-down double bed had been made up and took up most of the space, so it was not possible for us to use this area.

All-in-all, the apartment was nothing like the light and airy photographs shown on the hotel website.

I went to the reception to ask if we could change rooms or even pay for an upgrade, but I was told that the hotel was full and there was nothing else available. Had we not had to pre-pay for the room we would probably have moved out of the hotel. Over our stay there were many people moving in and out of the hotel, but we were not offered a move.

On our second morning when I opened the bathroom door there was a shocking smell of sewage! We had to open every window in the apartment (even the one next to the stairwell) to clear the smell. I went to reception to tell them about the problem and the reply was “I will tell the lady”(?) I don’t know who the ‘lady’ was, but nothing happened, because the same thing happened on our third morning. It became obvious that there was an ongoing problem with the drains in the apartment, which was probably why it initially smelled of strong toilet/drain cleaner.

Unfortunately, the apartment also smelled strongly of damp, especially the kitchen cupboards.

As often happens when things aren’t going well, there were other “niggles” in the apartment, such as the wall light in the adjoining room which flashed all night long, even though it was switched off. This was inconvenient as there were glazed panels between the two rooms. Also we couldn’t use the wall fan because it was really noisy, which was a shame because the weather was hot, and we are used to sleeping with a fan on at home. After the initial responses from reception we didn’t report these problems, as there didn’t seem to be any point.

The food in the restaurant was mostly very good, but the level of service was inconsistent. The first time we ate there the service was excellent, but the second time we had to wait for an hour before we were given the menu, and some of our party didn’t get their main meals until after others had finished theirs.

The hotel was situated conveniently across the road from the beach and it was possible to park nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Goldberry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Being sorry and owed by reading this review, the management of Rouda Bay would like to ask Mrs. Julie, for the dates and the room number she and her family stayed, as quite many things of her description can't be putted together. Especially considering the good reviews we gather every day (please check booking.com), and which are the best answer to any kind of comment. Moreover as Mrs. Julie commented in this time of crisis we are indeed full, which again is one more good answer to any comment of that type.
So without the dates and the name of the client, we cannot confirm she was indeed a client of ours and which circumstances made the client to comment so in detail, and in such perfect English (even for a Greek person).
Last but not least, no one can guarantee that nothing will happen in anyone’s vacations as it's up to God and nature, but Rouda Bay Hotel's stuff will always be next to every visitor to help him!

We wait for the detail we requested so as to give a more accurate answer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed in Rouda Bay Hotel for 4 nights last summer and we really enjoyed it. First of all the village of Poros is really beautiful and the hotel is right next to a really beautiful beach, where we spent many hours having fun with my friends!!

Our room was comfortable, clean and fully equipped. Also it was very quiet. The stuff was warm and very helpful.

The hotel has also a restaurant where we enjoyed greek traditional cuisine.

I'm really looking forward to visit Poros and Rouda Bay Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ioanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would like to share the beautiful experience I had staying at the Rouda Bay Hotel on the beautiful island of Lefkas!
First of all, the location of the hotel itself is amazing! Right on the Beach within walking distance of just a minute! And Rouda Beach had crystal clear water with an amazing colour! Staff was really helpful and polite on all occasions as well as the service provided in all sectors (sunbeds, really fast wi-fi, fresh ,local cuisine in their taverna, outdoor activities). We happened to have had a credit card problem while checking in the hotel and the manager exhibited great kindness and discretion about it.
The room was fully furnished in a minimal Greek island style and extremely clean. We had room service cleaning the place every single day and were indeed fully satisfied.
The hotel was generally quiet and the atmoshere totally fulfilling!
I would recommend it to everyone coming to Lefkas: youngsters can benefit from a variety of activities provided (ping pong, bike rides) while the elderly can benefit from a relaxing surrounding with an amazing deep blue beach and enjoying an amazing greek food.
I would most certainly visit this again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lefkada hotels
5.4 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#5 of 12 in Vasiliki
146 reviews
11.1 mi away
Villa Olga Lounge Hotel
10.9 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nidri
191 reviews
5 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouda Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouda Bay Hotel

Address: Rouda Beach, 311 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Lefkada
Price Range: $53 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rouda Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouda Bay Beach Hotel is a small, family run apart-hotel, just 1 minute walk from the beach. Located in the small village of Poros, Rouda Bay Beach is set amidst exotic gardens just a few metres away from the beach. It offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and has a traditional tavern serving Ionian cuisine. The air-conditioned studios, suites and apartments open out to a private balcony overlooking the Ionian Sea or the garden. They come with a kitchenette with dining area and a living area with satellite LCD TV. Free toiletries and a hairdryer can be found in the bathroom. Seafood and local specialties can be enjoyed at the sea-view tavern. There is also a café-bar serving breakfast, as well as salads, sandwiches, crepes and cocktails throughout the day. Within easy reach, guests will find seaside restaurants and cafes. The village of Nidri is 15 km away, while the main town of Lefkada is at 32 km. Free private parking is available near the premises. Couples particularly like the location — they rated it 9 for a two-person trip. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rouda Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing