We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Home Cooking”
Review of Polyphemus Restaurant - CLOSED

Polyphemus Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This is our 25th and last season! Open from beginning of May until most probably October 2nd, 2015, for lunch and dinner. (Last orders for lunch 2.30 p.m., 10.30 p.m. respectively, for dinner. Nice garden setting with cozy atmosphere. We are also serving indoors (begin and end of season). Greek traditional dishes, homemade cooking. No meat grill! We only serve Greek wines, beers and soft-drinks. Reservation recommended in July/August, always necessary for groups of 7 and more people. We speak 5 and our menu is written in 6 languages (Greek, English, Italian, French and German, Spanish). Vegetarian dishes are marked in the menu, so are the gluten-free and lactose-free dishes. Tell us your needs when given the menu.
Ithaca, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Home Cooking”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Polyphemus is situated in Stavros within a wonderful garden shaded by trees and lit by candles and low lights for the night. "Octopus Galor" you have to try this wonderful speciality.
The atmosphere is tranquil and run by one family which make you feel at home.
If you have had a day on the beach or on a boat it is a great change to be sitting surrounded by greenery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itha108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika D, Guest Relations Manager at Polyphemus Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive and very nice critic . i apologize for not having responded earlier. Na'se kala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    27
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will always be back”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been back for several delicious lunches during our visits to Ithica,...five times now.
It is such a pleasure, being out under the trees in the garden with lots it's collection of interesting things.Monica's warm welcome and our mutual catching up about the past years events is marvelous. The very good and varied range delicious food dishes and drinks is wonderful.We are often with a group of eight or so friends after being down at Polis Bay and Monica appreciates being forewarned of our number at table. Such times are always are of happy enjoyment for all.We look forward to being there again next year.....Boo and Mary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We keep going back.......”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having dined at Polyphemus during a previous holiday in Ithaca, we had it firmly on our list of places to return to when we holidayed to Ithaca again in Sept. In fact, we dined there twice during our weeks stay.
We were delighted that our memories had served us well and that the food and general ambience was as good as before.
Monica was the best host, helping with explanations of the menu and flying around the place, serving everyone promptly and with a smile.
I can't remember how these dishes were explained on the menu but do try the bean hummus, the aubergine dip and the best of all, lamb 'surprise.
Delicious!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Going on a recommendation for lunch, Monica welcomed us and once seated fully explained the menu. Varied and inventive range of Greek food of which we sampled a good range and enjoyed it all. The setting itself is wonderful, in a very pleasant courtyard with beautifully arranged shells, antiques, etc, fitting in with the leafy environment. If you come by boat - as we did - the 20 minute walk from Polis Bay is well worth the views on the way and the meal at the top!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 321Roger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Day trip to Ithaca”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is our tenth year of visiting this restaurant and we had an excellent meal the calamari was lovely as was the humus, infact we are always delighted with the service and food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polyphemus Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing