We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible, money desperate owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Socrates Studios and Apartments
Ranked #117 of 738 Specialty Lodging in Corfu
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“horrible, money desperate owner”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful location sidari is a place i would love to go back to
socrates is in need of a update and some softer beds, the first place we were given bins had not been emptied and the place was crawling with ants, we did get moved to a better room but after arriving late the last thing you need to be seeing is stinky kitchen bin!!
the food here is very basic and often quite expensive at ""the rock"" speaking to many people it used to be very good here when his parents ran it and has gone down hill in the last 9 years, people often complained of undercooked food here! its ok if you want to eat snacks like chip butties and are willing to pay over the top for the privilege of eating it pool side.
the staff george and maria are wonderful but both are new and apparently they staff turn over here is quite high with new staff every year
on the day of our departure Socrates exploded and shouted at me and my child from looking at his menu and not ordering, in short he was very aggressive and it upset me and my child considerably if it hadn't have been our last day we would of moved to another place.
i heard him have a "word" with other holidaymakers after they had hired a car and had been out and about not spending money at socrates!
you can get wonderful meals on the strip a really great place to go is mediterraneo for evening meals and smugglers inn do a fantastic breakfast and totally yummy milkshake the staff at both places are very welcoming and all meals we had there was quality, tasty and reasonably priced.
you will find people who go to sidari do so year after year and its very easy to see why its a beautiful place i will defo go back there again but i will never ever step foot in socrates again not even for a free holiday!!
i don't understand why people go back there and yet moan about him and how he has let standards slip
im quite aware greece is struggling at the moment but i have never come across a greek person like him, he is a very desperate man and it shows, he runs a self catering holiday yet gets aggravated when people choose to see more of the island and wine and dine else where than his! when working in hospitality you can not behave this way.
after my husband spoke with him he did promise to apologize but being the spineless man he is he didn't bother
the olive groove is a really nice place and i would think of staying here next time it is owned by a wonderfully welcoming family and shows what the greek people are really like

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holsrus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    34
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was our first stay here (most people seem to have been going back year after year), the studios are in a superb position with the sea approx. 50m away ans the nearest supermarket and taverna's just 100m away.
The studio was kept clean but it was getting rather dated - particularly the bathroom, we were lucky to have a 'half bath' which kept the water from the shower from going all over the floor as in some studios which only have a small shower tray with a curtain that doesn't reach the floor!
Sidari is a good mix of traditional tavernas and just a few British type pubs so you can get whatever you like.
The swimming pool at the apartments is very good with free sunloungers - even at 10.00am most were still empty.
We would recommend these studios to anyone, if they get updated we will certainly try to return.

Room Tip: The rooms that don't have the sticking out balcony have half baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeHStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from our third visit to Socrates and everyone we spoke to during our stay there were on return visits bar one couple. The studio and all other public areas were immaculate as usual. Socrates and Giannis the barman are so friendly and cheerful it seems to rub off on all the guests there and a good time is had by all. All the rooms have sea views which are amazing, the food is good and all in all it makes a perfect holiday. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzielou61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent location fantastic family run apartments. We travelled as a family of 8 and were made to feel most welcome by all the staff have already booked our return stayf or next year. Close to beautiful beaches and the views are unrivalled.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pudsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me (17) and my boyfriend (20) travelled here together for a cheap week away. We arrived in the early hours and were met and shown to our room which was nothing special, but immaculate. This hotel is great value for money! The pool area is quiet and has a very deep end perfect for those that like to dive, and a shallow end for those weaker swimmers. There is also a small childrens pool sectioned off. The pool overlooks a beach and the sea, which provides perfect photos. Socrates was very helpful as we checked out at 12pm but didn't fly til 5am the next day. He provided us a room free of charge to shower and get changed in. The food here is also good value! I opted for a 'childrens breakfast' one morning - which actually consisted of 2 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg, beans, tomato, mushrooms and a huge 5 slices of toast. All for 2.50!! We also liked the chicken nuggets and chips which were a great pool snack. The waitress worked long hours but remembered that we liked ketchup and brought this to the pool for us with our food, she was very polite and would do anything for you! Food and drink is extremely reasonably priced, and this hotel makes a great base for those venturing out on a self catering holiday. Location is good, within a 10 minute walk of the main strip which is well lit and relatively safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shanise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from the socrates after two weeks here, it is our fifth visit, as always all the staff are very helpful Socrates the owner is great and is always happy to help if he can, yani the bar man had a remedy for everything all alcoholic and all worked perfectly. The rock restaurant is by far the best restaurant in Sidari, with all Greek favourites and lots of other dishes available.
The hotel is family run and you get the feeling you are part of that family from the minute you enter, the only negative was the lack of enthusiasm from the Thompson rep who spent the whole time she was on site either on the phone or on her backside, I did not get one hello in the two weeks I was there.
Nevertheless this is the place to go if you are a family or older couple, and is not really suitable for the 18-30 set, just don't book it until I have, because I want to go back again next year.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The bar area, pool and restaurant are really good. The views out to sea are perfect when having lunch outside. We didn't use the small beach that is right in front of the apartments but it seemed popular.The serving staff are really friendly and attentive and are always rushing about. The Greek night on Wednesday was really fun, we were all given plates to smash. The room is pretty basic with rock hard beds, no teapot (although Socrates soon found one for us when we asked), no microwave and none of the crockery/cutlery seemed to match. Sweeping and bin emptying were regular and bed linen was changed twice in the week. There was quite a bit of noise from the separate apartments at the back of Socrates with shouting going on until the early hours. This end of Sidari is certainly much more tranquil and has plenty of places to eat in the evenings that we had enjoyable meals at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eastbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.0 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#3 of 39 in Sidari
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Stema
Stema
#2 of 39 in Sidari
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#2 of 15 in Roda
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Socrates Hotel
Socrates Hotel
#1 of 10 in Sidari
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vicky Apartments
Vicky Apartments
#84 of 738 in Corfu
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Socrates Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Socrates Studios and Apartments

Property: Socrates Studios and Apartments
Address: Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 738 Specialty Lodging in Corfu
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Socrates Studios and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Socrates Studios And Apartments Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing