We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday :)”
Review of Stamatis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stamatis
Ranked #209 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday :)”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've just came back after 2 weeks here, San stefanos is my perfect holiday for relaxation! Stayed in the 2 bedroom appartment with my mam& dad, it's like our 2nd home, staff here are so nice and friendly and Tom the owner is such a nice gentleman. We ate here almost everyday for snacks food is delicious! They do a lovely pizza and cheeseburger!! Defo recommened the cocktails here on a night! Most days we had the pool to ourselves the first week! Pool area is clean and looked after very well! Rooms are very basic could do with an upgrade especially the wardrobes and bathroom.. 5 mins walk to the beach, lovely restaurants my favourites are manthos- gorgeous fish and roast lamb! 2 star and town pizza- best pizza I've ever had!! Best bars to go to on a night are condor, bar 38 and El Greco! Going to book up soon to come back again next year and we can't wait!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurajaneclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We booked the Stamatis as part of a late package with Thomson and as a result got a very good deal. If we had paid full price I would have been a little disappointed as the areas around the pool were a bit faded and tatty ( broken unbrellas and sunbeds and litter that was not picked up ) .That said we were lucky enough to have a large apartment in the newer of the 3 blocks. It had a very large bed ( super king ) dining table & chairs , sofabed & chair and kitchenette with fridge and cooker. The balcony overlooked the pool and was nice and cool morning and evening. The room was generally clean and bright and was cleaned everyday bar Sunday. We were there for 2 weeks we had fresh sheets and towels 5 times.We didn't need the air con as the evenings were pleasantly cool
( some evenings even a little chilly due to the Mistral) The bathroom itself was OK the shower attachement was broken which meant you needed to hold the shower head - not really a problem but the shower curtain was mouldy ( I don't understand why this was provided as most places in Grecce don't bother as you have a drain in the floor so it doesn't matter about the water splashing. As I have said the area around the pool was a bit tired with a few cracked paving slabs but we didnt have any problem finding sunbeds and a working parasol ( It just needed a bit of reorganising sometimes ) The pool itself is large and deep with a small shallow pool to one end - a great place to sit and read! There was no paint chipped in the pool when we went. The Thomson website said these apartments were adults only but they have since re-worded this as most pools in Grecce are open to the public and one block of the apartments are privately let.
The apartments are set back about 75 m from the main road so you can hear some bar music in the evenings but nothing raucous.The beach is close by about 5 mins walk through the grounds of the Athini Hotel opposite.Is is long and sandy and the water is shallow so good for swimming especially for children.
San Stefanos itself is a bit busier that we were expecting with about 15/20 taverns/restaurants and probably the same number of bars ( try the 3W's , Beachcombers and Ozzy Oil )
It is a purpose built resort that attracts a lot or return visitors ( 70 % a local newspaper said )
We won't be returning but if you can get a good deal it is a nice place to spend a couple of weeks in the sun.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment for 3 or one of the rooms in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TBOWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Myself and my mam and dad have been here the past 4 years, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment- very very spacious, the staff are so nice, pool area is lovely and so peaceful. The only bad points are: the wardrobe in our apartment smelt really bad (it might just be my nose but I had to buy a airfreshner to put inside...., the shower when u turn it on it blasts so hard n fast water goes all over, but u get used to it, and the cups plates etc smelt bad I took my own cup n teaspoon n bowl etc.. Food is delicious here- we ate here alot for snacks and the cooked breakfasts are sooo nice- good prices too. The beach is gorgeous, people so friendly, our fave restraunts to eat in are 2 star, fantasea, and manthos think it's called (on the beach) I had a pizza delivered odd nights from town pizza- delicious!!!! Nightlife isn't for young people wanting the Ibiza party scene!!! It's more a relaxing hol n I loved it. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurajaneclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Having read some of the reviews we were concerned about what we might find on arrival in San Stefanos.

We should not have worried - we were met as we got off the Thomsons coach and were shown to our apartment. We were lucky enough to get one of the four larger apartments (equiped to take 3 people rather than 2). It was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony to allow us to sit and watch activity in the pool area. Even those in the smaller rooms (equiped for 2 people) were happy despite the 'cosy' nature of the rooms, with the balcony providing space for all daytime activity.

The owner and staff were constantly on hand and very helkpful..Cleaning happened 3 times in our week and the lovely lady battled on despite obvious pain from a poorly back. Like everyone in San Stefanos though, she was happy to chat as best she could and make sure the guests were happy.

The pool is huge given the small number of apartments on site. As with all other pools, it is open to anyone. This did not prove a problem at all, even at the weekend when the locals made use of what was obviously their favourite pool in town.

As for San Stefanos - it is wonderful. Small, quiet and very friendly. Do not expect a hectic nightlife scene.There only seemed to be one place open very late and being noisy (Bar Condor) and that seemed somewhat out of place. The rest of town is a series of pleasant bars, restaurants and a few small shops/supermarkets (emphasis on small) .

Buying food and drink from the shops is not cheap by any standards, but thankfully the restaurants are excellent value especially if you stick with the menu of the day - we were getting 3 courses for 9 Euros for the typical 'menu of the day'. Drinks were UK prices.

More than enough good restaurants to experience a different one every night for well over 2 weeks. We found a couple of favourites though and used them often, being treated like old friends when going back.

Finally, the beach is wonderful - a couple of lovely beach bars to sit and watch the world go by. Also some excellent walking up (and over) the hills to other small resorts.

Think Spain of 20 years ago and you will have an impression of what the resort is like. Great value especially when staying at Stamatis. We look forward to going back soon

Room Tip: E-mail ahead to ask for a 3-person room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

dont go there.rooms are not as advertised. new block at side of apartments are private not your apartments.the pictures that show a apartment with double bed with table and chaires is not a apartment. but one of the two studios dont get fooled. bad points rain water flows into your rooms most geust did not unpack there cloths cuboards were foysty smelt of old peples homes. woodwork on patio doors smelt of urine.shower tray matt was dirty and black yes black have photos to prove this.inges broken on bathroom cuboards. shower rail broken. ingenral its bottom end acomdation. the rep was usesless.asked for upgrade first day said wait till monday ok priced hotel over the road on thomson site 196 POUNDS HALF BOARD THOMSON CAME BACK WITH 880 POUNDS TO UPGRADE . at the atena lovely hotel clean good staff allso the reception is the blue moon bar / name on key fob blue moom / not stamatis makes you think why GOOD POINTS stefanos nice place good beach good food sorry about the stamatis dave linley 24/09/10

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Sorry for the essay, I have included headings so you can skip through!
TRANSFER - We arrived at the Stamatis Apartments in San Stefanos after a smooth and uneventful flight and transfer. The transfer stated on the Thomson website is 2h30, this must be a worst case as it took us less that 1h30 to get there. We had no rep on the transfer and were basically dropped off at the front of the apartments and had to make our own way in to find the owner (there is no reception). The hotels bar is on the roadside, behind that is a reasonable size pool with a diving board, a small slide and a shallow pool that has railings between it and the big pool. We were shown to our room by the bar man who carried my girlfriends case which was nice.
THE POOL - As we arrived mid afternoon we quickly got changed and went to the pool. A quick note about the pool, two in fact: 1. the paint in the pool was coming off, leading to blue legs, hands and swimwear resulting in me looking like a smurf! 2. The pool (and many others in the area) are all public with the owners asking that you buy drinks etc there. We found ourselves at the Athina Hotels pool for the majority of our stay - which is a gorgeous looking hotel! The main negative point is that the Thomson website states "These apartments are adult focussed - we won't accept bookings for under 16s" whereas in reality there could potentially be children from other hotels / locals so don’t go expecting an adult only pool!
THE BEACH - is 5 mins walk away, if that - across the road and through the Hotel Athina's pool area. The beach isn’t very deep but goes quite a way around the coast with (apparently ;) ) a nudist bit further up. You also walk past a quad bike hire place here are the prices for 1/3/7 days (as I was looking for this info before I left)
Moped: 15/43/95 euro
Buggy: 25/70/140 euro
Quad: 20/60/135 euro
Pushbike: 5/13/25 euro
THE APARTMENT was very basic as you'd expect in Greece. We were very disappointed in our accommodation, the room was extremely dated. [Side note: I am not one of these people who expect the earth out of places, I go camping a bit and have stayed in 10euro per night hostels etc]. The problems we had mainly were to do with the bathroom, we had an awful smell that seemed to come from the drains on the shower and a drain on the floor. So that every time someone in ANY apartment used a tap, flushed the toilet or had a shower we got an awful smell in our bathroom. We met a pair of girls in the adjacent apartment who had the same issues. On complaining to the rep she had the owner come out and do something (don’t know what) which didn’t alter the problem, complained again with the same action and result. As we basically only slept and showered in our room we put up with it as each complaint took at least a day to get action. We didn’t use any of the kitchen equipment but you got a worktop oven with a hob on top, a toaster and kettle with the usual plates and cutlery - something that we had to wash upon arrival! On the other hand some people we spoke to in another block (there’s 3 blocks of 4 apartments) said their room was great - I assume the other excellent reviews were from people stopping in those rooms. For info we were in room 6, room 5 was the room also with problems. Other issues include: our bathroom window wouldn’t lock potentially allowing someone to get in, shower curtain not fitted righ and water went everywhere and unsafe looking wires going to the light in the kitchen - but the bathroom smell was the main one.
AIR CON was separate and cost 5 euro a day, a must for July.
OVERALL, Other than the problems mentioned with the room we had a great holiday. Food was great and not too expensive (8 euro for a main meal, 2 for a pint lager / glass of wine, 3-4 for a starter) I recommend Zorbas about 50m down the road - they have dancing on every half hour or so. There are enough restaurants / bars to keep you going for a week / maybe just for 2 weeks. San Stefanos is a very quiet resort; don’t go looking for clubs although 16euro will get a taxi to Sidari for that sort of thing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris24747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Arrived on 4th may 2010 at 3am! -first day of the season. We were greeted and taken to our room by Eliosus-the nephew of Tom the owner.
Our room was a bit on he small side but kept spotlessly clean by the maid who we saw most days.The room overlooked the large pool and we could also see the sea between buildings. The apartments are in a good central locationwith a large pool loads of sunbeds and a reasonably priced snack bar for lunch. The vegetarian sandwich became a favorite - a roll with cheese tomato cucumber and CHIPS!!!! for 2.5E
it was very quiet in the whole resort but enough Tavernas to try. We did not have a bad meal in the whole fortnight but particularly enjoyed the 2 Stars both from a food and hospitality aspect.The stefado and stamna were superb! The prices for eating out were reasonable although we found the supermarket expensive. Gone are the days of the cheap Metaxa and Ouzo- stick to wine or beer thats the best deal The resort has kept some of its greek charm although most of the visitors are British.We walked over the cliffs to Arillas -about 45mins-nice walk if not too hot-remember the water!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#82 of 140 in Cephalonia
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Nicholas Hotel
Saint Nicholas Hotel
#4 of 17 in Gouvia
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lorenzo Hotel
Lorenzo Hotel
#10 of 19 in Lassi
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vicky Apartments
Vicky Apartments
#67 of 746 in Corfu
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamatis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamatis

Property: Stamatis
Address: Main Road | Agios Stefanos, 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stamatis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamatis Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing