We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMING HOME”
Review of Athina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Athina
Ranked #65 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

First called at The Athina in 2008 , Managed to get a Room. Been back every year since (Sometimes Twice) IT IS EXCELLENT. From Check IN to Check OUT.
Spacious very Clean Inside and Out.
Great people to Look to your needs. Olga and Corina at Reception. The Boys in The Restaraunt .Goerge is a little brusk but underneath he is Charming,and Yanis,the other chap is so polite and efficient . His Papa has a great little Coffee Stop,on the Top of The Hill to Arrillas.We only do The Bed & Breakfast ,so I can't comment on the evening Meal,I would imagine like the rest of The Athina,Its First Class.
The Pool area is massive as is the Pool. Lots of Sunbaeds and great Sunsets at Night (Of Course). Location is Perfect, a little set back from the " STRIP" but right on The Beach.
I recommend you will LOVE it. Were back in June. Can't wait. See you there. YAMAS!! Woodie & Dee

Room Tip: The Top floor are The Best for the View. The Front ones are The Very Best. weve only done the Side a...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank top chef woodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Athina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 195 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

We booked a weeks holiday HB, at beginning of September 2011, through Thomson. which cost us £484 each. we then, upon arrival had to buy aircon at 35 euros!
Having read some reviews about basement rooms we asked our booking agent to email Hotel to say we did not want basement room as we would feel uncomfortable on lower level, and would be prepared to pay upgrade on arrival But this fell on deaf ears. Our room WAS in basement & backed onto an allotment. if you sat outside the view was a wall and a very noisy large generator which ran day & night! We asked the Thompson rep,Laura, ( who was helpful) if we could be moved but she said we would need wait until guests would be vacating some rooms but that would 4 days later, and even then we would not be guaranteed suitable accommodation. Not a good start to our holiday.
this was our first time staying at Athina Hotel and we found it to be lovely and spotlessly clean & all the staff were helpful and nice.
The bedroom was a bit tired and dated & the beds were so, so hard & pillows lumpy. Bed linen, change of towels, and room cleaned every day. Although there were more than plenty of sunbeds for everyone you still saw quite a few guests laying down their towels before breakfast on same sunbeds every day (strange behaviour) The hotel entertainment was Sky Sports Football ALL THE TIME, in fact for the entire week, one holiday maker controlled which football match wanted to watch , plus all the reruns, how boring. we found drinks and any extras i.e. cooked breakfast small bowl of chips, etc. to be pricey too. even with all this we still enjoyed our holiday very much
We will most certainly Return to San Stefanos but don't know if we would return to athina.

Room Tip: rooms 101 to 110 not good they are basement level. rooms 109 110 are next to large air-con which...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuilenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Athina at San Stefanos is everything we want from a holiday. We think its great!
Have previously already written a review, and that same year returned in September, we stayed again this year in May/June and within 2 days of returning home, had re-booked again for next year! Can't wait!
The walk to the village for breakfast which the Rep's had introduced was great.
The views from the restaurant are fantastic, and all the staff are like friends, I agree with the other review - can't understand all the negative remarks about George - he's a great chap.
Looking forward to our return, it will be our 4th time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cate&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have stayed here every year since it opened. The staff cannot do enough for you. Cannot understand some negative reviews about Head Waiter George. He's brilliant. All I can say is some people dont get his dry sense of humour. It's a family run hotel and they're one of the nicest families I know. I dont think the view from the restaurant can be beaten by many places in the world. They have the BEST sunsets ever seen. (8.25pm in August - I know, I was there every night for it!!)
The hotel is spotless, right on the beach and in the centre of the small village. If you want a friendly, relaxing holiday in the company of good people, this is for you. Have already booked for 2012. It will be our 14th year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

we stayed at the athina recently and having read the previous reviews regarding the meals we were worried as we had a vegie in our party, however if you speak to reception and let them know of your needs they are very helpful and will prepare anything that you ask for.

we had a lovely stay at the athina, the location is fantastic and all staff are extremely friendly. the only downfall was the head waiter and he is rude but he did not spoil the holiday!

as the previous review says the hotel is expensive although they do not force you to buy drinks etc from them and you can always buy lunch from the local shops and have a picnic on the beach :) i have also attached a pic of the sunset which i took after my dinner from the hotel restaurant!

Room Tip: best room are sea view make sure this is on the booking
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_g26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Rooms, pool and Hotel clean but everything in the hotel is grossly overpriced. Bottle of beer by pool is 260, same bottle brand and size at supermarket 5 mins away is 180, same goes for everything you purchase at the hotel. A room for a shower before your coach collects you is 25 Euros, and its not even cleaned between users. There is a charge for the gym, sauna, overpriced snacks; thank goodness other guests stock the free library up, suprised the hotel dont charge for that as well. As others on here have said the bottom rooms are below garden level and look straight out onto a brick wall, and if you are on the opposite side to the seafront you'll get no sunset.
The waiters are okay, cant blame them for not being full of fun once you see the hours they work. They do try to be helpful and engage with all nationalities. Unfortunately the hotel is more interested in making a big profit and less about customers satisfaction.
The plus points - Spiro and his fantastic cocktails; the view from the restaurant; San Stefanos area, we've been here before and loved it, but wont stay at the Athina again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GazBouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Have just spent a relaxing week at the Athina Hotel in San Stefanos - the location of the hotel was excellent overlooking a lovely beach. The large pool was a bonus, and ensured no overcrowding of guests. We enjoyed the half board basis - meals were plentiful, tasty and well presented with changes of menu and enough choices each night. Sunsets whilst dining were amazing! All the staff were helpful and friendly and made the stay a pleasant one.
The only negative we encountered were the rather hard beds which weren't too comfortable, but otherwise the room with ensuite and balcony was fine. Would def recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmrkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.1 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tria Adelphia
Tria Adelphia
#2 of 8 in Arillas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
Athina
Athina
#9 of 63 in Kavos
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pictures Suites
Pictures Suites
#4 of 7 in Agios Stefanos
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Voula Apartments
Voula Apartments
#2 of 13 in Agios Stefanos
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina

Address: | Aghios Stefanos, 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Corfu
Price Range: $35 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Athina Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing