We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service but hotel needs modernising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf
Ranked #18 of 402 Hotels in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks end of August enjoying one week of high season and the second week very different.

Plus points was the service we received - we didn't encounter any rudeness and found all staff both thomsons and hotel staff to be polite and courteous.

We wouldn't return there (it's our 11th trip to a Greek Island) as unfortunately although clean the hotel needs a good overhaul - you can see glimpses of what it must have been like in its hey dey but needs renovation. The pool is ridiculously small for the size of the hotel and I wouldn't ever describe the beach as a blue flag beach.

The wasps were an absolute nightmare and we were told that September was grape season and we were terrified each day that we or our son would get stung.

We relaxed, enjoyed the entertainment and the food was fine but disappointed with the pool, the room, beach and the wasps. We had paid for a family room with partitioned doors but received a twin room with an additional bed for our 5 year old so be careful when you book. Although we complained to Thomsonsnwe got nowhere with it.

Credit to all staff though as I was very impressed with their customer service but hotel needs to be modernised and a bigger pool is desperately needed. The views were picturesque from afar and disappointingly when you got up close!

Room Tip: Check when you pay for additional extras you actually receive them. We had a sea view room but again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear guest,

We express our gratitude at you visit at the Louis Kerkyra Golf and your online review.

It is a great pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that you departed satisfied with our service, with our always friendly, polite and helpful staff, our food and entertainment program, and that you were impressed with our customer service, who made you feel well taken care of. We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations fully, and that because of miscommunication you were disappointed with your room. We will take your comments about the pool, the beach, wasps and hotel into consideration for our future improvement. It saddens us that we disappointed you and you would not want to return, however perhaps you may consider other hotels from Louis Hotels in Greece for your holiday. Rest assured that we are already in the process of acquiring permission for a larger pool and once that happens we are confident that the perceived quality of our hotel will much improve.

Regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

This Hotel caters for all ages, our group ranges from 65 to 82 and we think it’s great. We have not been to any Hotel in the world where the Management are so pro-active in acting on requests from Guests and making sure everyone has the holiday they wish for.

You can rest peacefully in the splendid grounds or by the nice secluded sandy beach at the far end of the grounds or you can join in with the activities around the pool. Food and Drinks are available all day, but we have not seen anyone the worse for wear. There is a very nice facility for babies, a room for sterilising and making up bottles and a Microwave for food preparation.

There are not many shops in the area, but the Town of Corfu is only a short bus ride away. We use the long Hotel Drive for our walks, turn left at the gate, go over the River and there is a large Supermarket which sells everything you may need. It is also nice to see the Cruise Ships coming and going in to Corfu from the Hotel grounds.

You can’t please everyone, every time, but you can rest assure the General Manager, Mr. George and all his Staff always give an excellent service. We are looking forward to seeing them all again, we have already booked for 2013 and this will be our 12th visit.

Room Tip: The views from the Sea View rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnjoy038_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear loyal guest,

Let us thank you for choosing the Louis Kerkyra Golf once again, and for posting your review online.

We appreciate your words about our pro-active management team, who made sure you had the holiday you wished for, and about our staff who gave you an excellent service through all your stay. The Louis Kerkyra Golf is a family oriented hotel and we try to offer something for all ages, and we are delighted that our active holiday hotel is perfectly suited for people at your age.

We cannot wait to welcome you at our property again for your 12th stay.

Truly yours,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Always a reason why some holidays on special offer are so cheap and this is a classic? this was last w eek of season and we soon found out. the food was appalling cold and same every meal the famous andreas was not so nice to my wife one night but apologised the next night for his aggressive attitude because we arrived 20 minutes before closing and there was nothing left and all the food was being put away early he told us one more season to go?.wasps everwhere i was told they had all gone by end of october as my wife is allergic to stings and is very serious for her.in fact i rang the hotel before we got ther e { twice} and was assured it was all clear? kids were running wild around pool all day parents getting sloshed all day and the constant disco music across the whole front and beach area was the worst. tomsons reps all they were on about was going home friday and understandably could not wait for it. site needs a complete overhaul in every way never a 4 star only 2 star queued for 2 hours to get into airport nearly missed flight by minutes? cruisers allowed straight into airport though (what about young children) overall CORFU i think were glad to get last of 23 thomsons flights out of corfu and back to uk so they can have next 6 months off working in a hotel service. it is little wonder that greece is in such a poor financial situation and waiting for their next billions of euros to see them through until about april the next review is due.i am sure louis hotels have 4 and 5 star hotels in the greek islands worthy of thier ratings but louis kerkyra golf is not one of them.CORFU needs to catch up with the rest of the world and improve modernise and produce something?the cruise ships had right idea have a look and go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BRIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for spending your holiday at the Louis Kerkyra Golf and for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to hear that your holiday in Corfu was a disappointment. We regret that our hotel failed to match your expectations and that you felt that your experience was negatively affected by the time of year. It saddens us to read that you consider some of the behaviour of our staff and management team as inappropriate and we will follow-up on your comments so that we can prevent it from happening again. We deeply apologise that you received incorrect information regarding the wasps. We are aware that the wasps have caused discomfort this year and we will do our best to find an appropriate solution for next season. We are sad to hear that you found the food disappointing and your feedback will be passed on to the respective department as our ambition is to offer a food buffet of a consistent high quality and variety. The Louis Kerkyra Golf is a family orientated 4 star hotel due to its many facilities, services and activities. For example the Louis Kerkyra Golf offers 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 swimming pool, 2 tennis courts, a children’s playground, a kids' club and an ambitious animation program. Furthermore, we have recently renovated the hotel's guest rooms and we enjoy a good location close to the beach. Nevertheless we take your comments very seriously because every guest's experience is important to us so we will use your feedback as part of our work for improvement. Louis Hotels have several other hotels in the Mediterranean so perhaps another Louis Hotel would better match your expectations and preferences. Examples are the Louis Zante Beach in Zakynthos or the Iti Louis Grand in Corfu.

We thank you again for your feedback and sincerely hope that this experience will not refrain you from trying another Louis Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Louis Kerkyra Golf - 19th to 26th October.
I did have concerns that it would be overrun with children due to half term but felt that it was a small price to pay for the location so close to Kerkyra town. Happily it turned out that there were not too many children and those that were there were well behaved - thanks to the parents.
The hotel is ideally situated just 15mins by bus for 1.10 euros each so we had plenty of days just roaming through the history of the wonderful capital.
It was a shame that the season was so near to the end, the only tour available was around Corfu itself - a good tour packed with experiences. However we had really wanted to visit Albania and do the Parga and Paxos tours so were really disappointed with Thomsons for not anticipating that some people might want to do more that laze around a pool or on the beach. When I checked on the Tomsons website prior to going out it did not say that those tours were not running - I wonder what would have happened if I had pre-booked on line?
The food was good and varied - perhaps not as varied as it could be but then again with the season ending and so few people there to make even more choices would be wasteful. The bar staff took a bit of warming up but when they did warm to you they were great. Maria in the restaurant was super as was Maria our room cleaner. (233) The hotel was very clean and well run with all staff cheerily wishing a Kalimera or Kalispera and appearing genuinely pleased when we tried out our very limited Greek language.
I am not too sure that we would have had such a good time in high season and can envisage that the pool would get very crowded - people seem to prefer a pool to the beach.
The Tomsons crew were good for families and especially children but were not interested in a couple who did not have children. We were ignored by them and when we did try to get their attention to ask a question were ignored until there was no-one else left for them to talk to and so they could not avoid us, their responses to our questions were patronising and dismissive. The entertainment by the animation team was quite good and when there was entertainment in the hotel that was good - again end of season so not very frequent.
All in all a good time and would go again out of season. Would advise to go well armed with mozzie repellant and stay off the grass.

It is a shame that the fiasco at the airport had to be endured - we were all lined up in the sun for over an hour before we could even get to check in - no information given, no seating, no time for a coffee before take off or to have a look at the shops - Tomsons really need to get this sorted - would not have wanted to endure this in high season and in those temperatures.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth th extra but the rooms do not get the sun - depends whether you want to burn on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pjlmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for deciding to spend your holiday at the Louis Kerkyra Golf and for taking the time to write your detailed review.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you appreciated our hotel's clean facilities and pleasant location. It is satisfying to know that you consider the Louis Kerkyra Golf as being a well-managed hotel with friendly staff and food of good quality and variation. We are sorry that you as a holidaymaker experienced a slightly more limited choice than usual due to the time of the year, but we are very happy to hear that you still had a good time and that you would be happy to visit us at the end of the season again. We deeply apologise if you felt that you were not given adequate attention from some of the Thomson representatives just because you were travelling without children. Even if the Louis Kerkyra Golf is a family oriented hotel the happiness and comfort of all our guests is extremely important to us so your feedback will be passed on to prevent others experiencing something similar in the future. We also regret to hear about your unusual discomfort at the airport and your feedback will be passed on to Thomson for future improvements.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Louis Hotels.

Warm regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have just returned from a week 19th to 26th october at Louis Kekyra Golf. Let me start with the good points .Lovely location with fab views of the bay .Lovely big room with great sea view and plenty of room for two adults and a toddler.Hotel staff mostly great .Creche staff really great and a credit to Tomson.Lovely beach very relaxing to feed the fish with bread from the hotel.Right now for the negatives.Tomson staff constantly talking about how they were all going home on the friday,from the moment we got our transfer from the airport (the first thing the rep said was one week to go and we all go home ) to even naming the quiz team you were in "what your flight home would be called " .Then men will drills taking all the signs down half way through the week .When I work all year to take my family away I dont want to be reminded that i'm going home every second of the holiday.Tompson staff were mostly good but one Greg Turner who had an uncanny resemblance to Smithy from Gavin and Stacey was very rude .He owed me money and I had to ask him many times for it .My husband asked him only to be greeted with " how many times do I have to say your name over the tannoy " we have a 2 year old who was in bed by 10 .If I owe someone money I go to them with it .The worst thing was that my husband got a horrible 36 hours of agonising stomach cramps with diarrhea .We were told by the Tomson rep we could not say it was food poisoning .This leads me to the food .Luke warm and mince based with not much choice.The show kitchen where you could watch the food be cooked was my saving grace .Fish night was a horror to behold .Dried up sardines and elastic calamari not my thing .The beach bar was shut down 2 days before we laft and no bar staff to be found for cocktails .Just nasty self service wine and beer.Also the all inclusive ice cream seemed to stop 2 days before we left so we had to buy it from the shop who charged a small fortune for everything .The last day all the Tomson staff were in their own clothes and off duty so no one gave a hoot about if all of us got on the airport bus .When we did get to the airport we were left in the smoke filled heat for an hour with no toilets or help from any Tomson staff.I have been on alot of holidays and I will never go with Tomson again .

Room Tip: Sea view room but not near the lift .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank velcrovixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Kerkyra Golf and for writing a review about your experience.

We are glad that you appreciated the Louis Kerkyra Golf's lovely location on Corfu Island as well as the hotel's beautiful sea view. We are pleased that you approved of the majority of the Thomson staff but we greatly regret to hear that you experienced some of their behaviour as inappropriate. The Thomson representatives in our hotel normally receive great comments but we will of course forward your feedback to Thomson so that hopefully the things you mentioned can be corrected for next season. We are sorry to hear that the food did not meet your expectations and in all honesty we are surprised because most of our guests praise us for our fresh, tasty and abundant food buffets. All Louis Hotels including the Louis Kerkyra Golf apply food safety procedures and we have not had any reported cases of food poisoning in our records during your time of stay. We deeply apologise that the closing down of the hotel for the season had a negative impact on the quality of your stay. This was never our intention and we have taken note of your comment so that we can improve our procedures for next year.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope that your experience at the Louis Kerkyra Golf will not refrain you from considering any of our other Louis Hotels for future holidays.


Best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I loved this holiday so much I am already looking to book to go back next year!
I went with my Mom and my daughter 19th - 26th October and we had a great week.

From the minute we got to the hotel we were immediately made to feel welcome. Check-in was quick and easy and as there was only 20 minute left until dinner time was over we was told we could leave our luggage in reception and go eat straight away.
As we walked into the Dining Room we were immediatley greeted by Service Manager Andreas and F/B Manager Yiannis who soon became familiar faces, always smiling and making an effort to help people.
We were seated and brought drinks by Spiros who looked after us at meal times for pretty much the whole week so special thanks to him.
The food was great, a bit of everything really. They did a different theme most nights but then you also always had things like soup, pasta, salad, chips, pizza and vegetables and the childrens food station for those that are less adventurous.
As It was quite late when we arrived the first night we didn't see much of the entertainment but my daughter did get up on Karaoke!
Our room was great, we had a family room with partition. The bed was quite hard but I believe if you ask at reception you should be able to get extra matress pads.

The following morning though we did awake to the most stunning sea view from the balcony. We could see the pool, the grounds, the sea, the mountains, it was amazing. We couldn't wait to get out and explore and we weren't disappointed.
The hotel itself was lovely and clean, grounds were kept lovely. Lots of places to sit depending if you wanted quiet areas or a bit more activity.

10:30 that morning we had our welcome meeting and I would like to mention that it was the best, most informative welcome meeting that I have ever been to! This Thomson team are brilliant... I have to give Gorgeous Greg a mention as he leads them all so well.
Even though my daughter (who is 12) is too old to go to the actual kids clubs we still felt involved with all of the Thomsons reps... we did the daily quizzes, went to all the evening entertainment shows and although we didn't take part in any of the sporting activities we enjoyed watching them. Libby (my daughter) did take part in Greg's whirlpool party which looked great fun! They really made our week so I would like to thank each and every one of them!
I must also say thank you to the lovely lifeguard Andreas who helped Libby when she fell over and cut her arm but he soon cleaned her up and got her a plaster on it so she could get back in the pool (where she spent 99% of the week!)

We did go down to the beach for a walk a few times and did hire a pedalo for an hour (15 Euros for a 4 person one) which was good fun.

Overall as I've said in the title of this review this hotel is made great by the people that work there...and that is ALL of the people, the reception staff, the cleaners, the restaurant staff, the bar staff, the animation team, the Thomson team and anyone else I've failed to mention I'm sorry... they all work so hard and it shows.

I, for one can ignore the mosquitos and wasps (what is the hotel supposed to do about that? They have wasp traps everywhere already!) and I will be returning in 2013!!

Sheila :o)
XxX

Room Tip: We were in room 236 which had an absolutely stunning seaview (attached) but just be aware that you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Kerkyra Golf we would like to thank you for spending a week in our hotel and for writing such an enthusiastic review about your positive experience.

Reading your review is a great pleasure because you obviously had a fantastic holiday and we are extremely glad that everyone here at the Louis Kerkyra Golf helped to make your week so special. We are thrilled to hear that you appreciated the first class service you received from the hotel's friendly staff and in house Thomson representatives from the moment you walked though the door. We are glad that you found our food buffet abundant with plenty of fine choice, and that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel with its stunning sea view, pool area and extensive grounds. It is a joy to hear that your daughter had such a great time and that you happily took part in some of the many activities we offer here at the Louis Kerkyra Golf. It is true that we gladly supply extra mattress pads to our guest if they only inform us that they find the beds too firm because we always do our best to make our guests feel comfortable.

Thank you again for your kind admiration and we are truly delighted that you are ready to confirm your next stay here at the Louis Kerkyra Golf for 2013. It will be a great pleasure to have you back as a guest.

Yours faithfully

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Kerkyra golf from 19th to 26th oct 2012.Even though it was the last week of the season the staff could not have been more helpfull and pleasant.The booking out time was 12noon,but the hotel let us keep our rooms till we left at 20.00 ,also they left the bar open and provided snacks up until everybody left all free of charge.THE SERVICE and food we found excelent.I notice there have been 1 or 2 moans about the size of the pool,it is not the largest pool ive seen but so what 25 yards away you have 200 yards of beach with as much shallow warm sea as anyone could want.

Room Tip: It proberly is worth the extra for a sea view as the view inland not up yo much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jingo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen to spend your holiday at the Louis Kerkyra Golf and for writing a comment about your stay.

It is lovely to hear that you were deeply content with our excellent and abundant food buffet as well as the exceptional service you received from our attentive staff. We are also glad to hear that you appreciated our hotel's wonderful location right on the sandy beach where you could enjoy the Corfu sun and the lovely blue seawater.

We hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Louis Kerkyra Golf next season.

Best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corfu hotels
2.7 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
9.0 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
531 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,435 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf

Address: | Alykes Potamou, 49100, Greece (Formerly Louis Kerkyra Golf)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corfu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Corfu
Price Range: $55 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well-kept holiday complex lies directly on the gently-sloping, sandy beach, 3km to Corfu town. Comfortable, elegant, cozy. 95 Hectares of wonderful gardens. Ideal for families and sports lovers. All inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Kerkyra Golf Hotel Corfu
Iberostar Kerkyra Hotel
Iberostar Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing