We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best view in Corfu town”
Review of Veranda Taverna

Veranda Taverna
Ranked #74 of 1,230 Restaurants in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“best view in Corfu town”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

There are lots of restaurants in the town around the central park, but, if you walk to eastern edge of old town (only a 5 minute walk) and follow the road downhill you will come across two restaurants hanging over the cliffside. The first one is The Veranda. We had a greek salad to share which was not only bigger than the two of us could handle, it had the freshest feta I have tasted. We then shared a plate of calamari...fresh, not frozen. Be sure to ask if they have any fresh calamari as mostly the restaurants serve frozen. It was the softest calamari I have ever eaten (and I have eaten a lot). Our mistake was we shared a plate instead of ordering a whole order each. As we were about to order a second plate, the waiter presented us with a huge dish of their home-made ice cream. Not only delicious but a generous portion to share. We did not get to order another calamari as we were full.
I highly recommend walking outside old town for this simple taverna. And, the view is breathtaking - looking over the water instead of tourists on the sidewalks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ed3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    47
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place and staff”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Its reputation is well deserved. A family run business, lovely people and excellent food and wine. We ate there three times and met variopus members of the family including mum who was chief cook. Better prices than in central restaurants, good location and a great place to spend an evening. Don't hesitate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Really good value”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ate here a couple of times. The food was really good, excellent service and good value. On both occasions the owner wanted to offer free desserts or coffee but I just didnt have room for them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An amazing view, you should come!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For a man leaving in the Caribbean, I don't get easily impress with a sea view.
Well this was not the case. The Veranda has an incredible view of Corfu sea side.
I had a Mythos beer to get in touch. Simple greek food at good prices.
The appetizers of meatballs with yogurt and spinach pastry were excellent.
The entrees of soulaki and mouzaka were fine.
A place to go if in Corfu but with high expectation of the Veranda and low expectation because of the simplicity with the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank enriquedemarchena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“tasty food, freindly staff, beautifull views”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

tasty food, freindly staff, beautifull views, middle high prices, good location, night club nearby, accesible by foot from town or coast line

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veranda Taverna also viewed

 
Corfu Town, Corfu
Corfu Town, Corfu
 

Been to Veranda Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing