We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”
Review of Villa Bacchus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Bacchus
Ranked #260 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and our 2 teenage daughters, 17 & 19 spent a week here early August 2013. The villa is in a spectacular setting, is very clean and quite spacious. The setting of the villa is perfect; very quiet and yes it is semi-detached, but the Greek neighbours are delightful, speak perfect English and hardly make any noise.The few down points I believe are reflected in the price of this villa in comparison to other Corfu villas which are not cheap. A) Only one toilet was a slight challenge b) the air con in the bedrooms made very little difference in 36 deg heat and c) lots of wasps around the pool (no fault of the villa owners we know) but they are not tolerated well by teenage girls, so we actually spent more time at the beach. However the plus points made our holiday one to remember forever - a very short 3 min drive down a dirt track and you are standing on Avlaki Beach (Google Image it now) where 2 travernas serve great food, drink with such friendly service. The villa is managed by the lovely Kostos, who looked after us spectacularly well. We were invited into Kassiopi to the Solaris apartment Greek evening for a wonderful meal and to watch Kostos and some friends do some excellent Greek dancing. The villa is the perfect place to stay and explore what we found to be the very best part of Corfu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from a week spent in this lovely villa. The location is beautiful surrounded by pretty countryside - and that view, well its just amazing and I never got sick of sitting and just drinking it in :-)

Although the villa is semi detached, its really not a problem, and of course that is reflected in the excellent price for a villa with this view. We only saw our "neighbours" and couple of times during our weeks stay, mainly when they were collecting veggies from their pretty garden.

It is possible to walk into the town, which we did every night, I timed the walk and it only took 30 mins, and a taxi back to the villa cost 7 euros.

The swimming pool area was very pretty, and it was great to watch the swallows swooping over the swimming pool for a drink, and the pool was a good size with a children sectioned off corner as well.

The villa was clean inside, and has a rustic charm. We didn't even use the sitting room, as we preferred to sit on the up stairs balcony looking at the view, so cant comment on the TV etc. The bedroom upstairs has a great view out to sea, and it was lovely to wake up in the morning and look at that view when lying in bed, also the bed was very comfortable too and there was ample storage space for clothes.

The kitchen had plenty of cooking utensils, although we only ever made ourselves breakfast preferring to eat out at the local tavernas. The bathroom was the only slight problem, which has been mentioned before, the problem was the shower curtain, which as the shower tray was so small the curtain "stuck" to you....but after a couple of showers I did get used to this, and I wouldn't let that stop me booking this villa again.....as the rest of the bathroom, although dated was perfectly fine and there was always plenty of piping hot water.

The booking procedure with Kostas was simple and he always responded quickly to any of my emails, he also met up just outside of Kassiopi and showed us the location of the villa, which all worked out very well.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this villa to anyone, and would definitely re-book if returning to Corfu in the future. All in all, an excellent villa for the price, located just outside a lovely resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG100surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The villa is good value for money. The view over the sea from the swimming pool is breathtaking. The swimming pool is really good and kept really clean. It does however have a short shallow end so you can get out of your depth quite easily so need to be careful with children.
The villa is set up in the hills behind Kassiopi and it is semi detached with a local couple living in the other part. They are really nice and gave us fresh fruit and vegetables some mornings from their farmland.
The bedrooms are both air conditioned and the upstairs bedroom has a fantastic balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. Great to eat lunch and get some shade.
OK, now the downsides. The lounge and kitchen are dark and very tired looking so you would not want to spend much time inside. The one bathroom has a shower only, no bath which was not a problem to us. However, the shower tray is only about 30 inches square which means the moment you turn round the shower curtain moves with you and the bathroom gets soaked. This might seem a bit picky but when you are showering twice a day for 2 weeks, it gets on your nerves a bit.
The cooking utensils and cutlery need updating and there are no BBQ tools. Again maybe a bit picky but what's the point of cooking a great steak on the BBQ only to find the cutlery falls apart when you use it and no it wasn't my cooking skills at fault!!
Kostas informed us that he was having the bathroom changed next year and when this has been done and replaced the cutlery and utensils we would go back. If he also updated the lounge and kitchen as well we would DEFFINATELY go back.
When we did have the odd problem Kostas sorted it out immediately and checked that we were ok.
You deffinately need a car and Avlaki beach is the closest. Really nice with 2 Taverna's.
Overall, good value for money and that view will stay with us for a long long time. Thank you Kostas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I really could not find fault with this place. It has the most amazing views, the swimming pool is fantastic and the villa has everything you would want. The neighbours just get on with their day to day life and you rarely see them, apart from when they go to collect their vegetables from the garden. If they weren't attached then the price would be astronomical because the view from the pool and veranda are some of the best in the area. The villa decor is not modern but it adds to the charm of the place and we only went in to sleep so it didn't matter. We had a cleaner 3 times per week and she even did our washing up! Also on the last day we had a late flight so Kostas said we could use his apartments and pool in the town for free of charge. The villa is a good walk into town but not unpleasant and there is a pavement when you get to the supermarket. Taxi back from town is 4-5 euro and don't pay more! Other than that, I could not see why you would not stay here and enjoy every minute and be very upset to leave!
One bit of advice would be to stock up in corfu town at one of the big super markets before getting to kassiopi as the shops can be quite expensive for groceries.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

What to say really, Villa Baccus is situated in a trully stunning spot, as you round the corner from the lane you have the most stunning scene in front of you. The pool (which is a very good size) is first on the eye then the sea beyond and the mountains of Algeria beyond that. Jaw droppingly beautiful. The Villa has one twin downstairs, and a twin upstairs which leads onto the large balcony (and THAT view) The walk into Kassiopi is about 30mins downhill (but not steep) and a taxi back up should be about 4 or 5 euros, which is great after a night in the bars. There are 3 beaches within a 15min walk. Myself and my husband and our 2 daughters (23 and 26) absolutely loved it here. We totally recommend it. and its quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank gailcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The villa's setting is lovely amongst the olive groves, and up a secluded drive. The pool and views are super too.

However... the villa is semi-detached (some descriptions say this, some don't) and you really do notice this (e.g. dog barks quite a lot and cats mingling around). To be fair however, the neighbours (certainly when we were there) got on with whatever they were doing and the pool itself is private. In some ways, it is a shame that the remoteless of the location (which is great) is offset by having someone else so close.

Also the walk to the village is long. There is *no way* that this is 1km. We had to drive each way and the mileometer shows it as 2.2km at least. So basically don't think of going out in Kassiopi unless you have (a) a car with a designated driver or (b) a taxi or (c) a desire to walk back along a relatively busy road having had some alcohol (not at all advised). This was the big minus and actually quite disappointing that the description was misleading at best. A drive in the other direction gets you to Avlaki which is a better beach than Kassiopi anyway.

Plus side is that the service was great (Solaris came up and checked on us a few times, and also came up when we had questions), pool is very clean and there's a lovely view from the villa. Only thing to watch out for is that apparently September is wasp season (all over Corfu) and we certainly had our fair share by the pool. No mosquitos though which was a blessing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie_steel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mymy8875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corfu hotels
6.7 mi away
Hotel Corfu Secret
Hotel Corfu Secret
#1 of 2 in Agios Markos
81 reviews
6.1 mi away
Harris Apartments
Harris Apartments
#15 of 39 in Acharavi
27 reviews
28.2 mi away
Elenas Garden
Elenas Garden
#9 of 63 in Kavos
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
9.5 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
8.4 mi away
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bacchus

Address: Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bacchus is a traditional-style Greek country cottage with a child friendly swimming pool with sea view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing