We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of Taverna Agni

Taverna Agni
Ranked #58 of 1,230 Restaurants in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in Corfu in September and hired a boat one day. Came across the jetty for this restaurant in the bay. Parked up and went the Agni for lunch. What an experience. The food was fresh and beautifully served. We were sitting within touching distance of the sea! The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very convivial. We enjoyed it so much we decided to sample it again in the evening. We arranged to be picked up by the water taxi and taken to the restaurant. This in itself was quite an experience! Again the food was excellent and the house wine good value. The boat took us home! Great night out which I hope to repeat next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinesimonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    117
    49
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Wow! What a setting”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Set on the beach with crystal clear water lapping at your feet, this is an amazing location. We visited twice in October & whilst service was a tad slow the 2nd time, it was more than worth the wait. Superb food in an amazing location and at very reasonable prices - one of our all time worldwide favourites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“4 star perfection!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in Agni again this year for our 17th year but in October instead of our usual May/June. It is a beautiful time of year, and just the right time to visit this Taverna, where we were given our usual very warm "family" welcome. We feel we ARE part of their family, because they make it that way! It is quieter in October, but the Taverna is still quite busy (because of its popularity). Why the confusing title? Talking to the proprietor's wife we mentioned that we had only given them 3 stars back in 2010 (see my review 29.10.2010), but felt this time we would be giving them 5 stars, not just because of the food, the wine and the welcome, but the wonderful ambience of this place, and the feeling they give you that YOU are special - never mind the great number of "celebrities" they have visiting them - everyone is treated with the same respect and attention! However, she replied that 5 stars would be nice, but then they wouldn't have a goal to aim for, and a 4 star rating would give them just that, and which to them, equalled near perfection. I have still rated them 5 star though, as their service and many other things have improved considerably since my last review. Their menu has been "tweeked" a little, but my two great delights are still there, the fillet steak with a choice of several sauces, and their rack of lamb. However, this year I changed my mind, and my new favourite (new on the menu) is a dish of massive king prawns caressed with sole fillets in a saffron sauce (I drool!). We will be returning for our Taverna Agni "fix" again next October - see you there!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Kaminaki Beach just down the coast from Agni Bay. We took the water taxi which was quick and slightly disconcerting in the pitch dark! The food was excellent and service excellent. Bit pricey compared to other Tavernas in the area but well worth the additional cost as it was our wedding anniversary.

I would (we would) recommend this Taverna but be aware it closes at night the middle of Oct and altogether at the end of Oct.

If you get the chance take the taxi, people go to Alton Towers for rides like this!

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, fantastic food, great staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We moored alongside their pontoon - staff helped us moor. Restaurant was totally beautiful overlooking the bay. Chef altered his signature dish especially for us- amazing! The waiter was friendly and efficient. Absolutely perfect in every way. We were sorry to leave

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heppers58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Agni also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Agni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing