We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eryphilli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cephalonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eryphilli
Ranked #42 of 142 Hotels in Cephalonia
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Really good accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We've just had a wonderful week at Eryphilli. We were in the new block in apartment 34 which was ground floor - extremely spacious and plenty of room for myself, husband and adult daughter. The food at the pool bar is excellent too. A/C very reasonable at 35E per unit per week (apartment has two units). I had a little peek at one of the studios in the old block and that seemed fine as well, obviously not as big as the apartment but I would have been happy there too. The pool is beautiful and well kept as are the surrounding gardens. We did not go to the food evenings(eg lamb dinner & BBQ) but that was because I was so laid back I did not book in time! I would not hesitate to return. Nicos and his family are specialists in good old fashioned hospitality - lovely place, lovely people.

Room Tip: Take a small washing line & a few pegs - there are no washing racks to dry undies,swimwear &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennywren31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    36
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
115
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked after reading all of the excellent reviews and were not disappointed. We were after a relaxing holiday and Katelios and the Eryphilli were just perfect.

I think the best things about the Eryphilli are Nicos and his lovely family, the friendly atmosphere, the beautiful pool and snack bar area and the gorgeous scenery.

We were in a studio in the old block and I have to say that it was a bit basic and could have done with some refurbishment, especially the bathroom. Also, the sink and cooking area was tiny; OK for preparing breakfast and a light lunch but perhaps not for cooking a big meal. However, it was spotlessly clean and had a decent size balcony so we were happy enough and we weren't planning to cook anyway. I think the studios and apartments in the new block will be much nicer.

The atmosphere is really lovely. Very quiet during the day, but in the evening people sat and chatted in small groups at the poolside bar until quite late and it just felt really friendly. I think this is because there are lots of returning guests and many people seemed to know each other from previous holidays. The people in the next room to us had been 7 times, which speaks for itself.

Nicos is great; very friendly in a quiet, unassuming way. His wife makes the most delicious quiche and moussaka, which you can eat at the pool bar (amongst other things). Each week they have a 'lamb night' and a BBQ. The lamb was delicious but we didn't go to the BBQ.

The accommodation is an easy ten minute walk to the beach and the small cluster of tavernas and bars that constitute Katelios. It is very quiet and laid-back but there was actually more choice than I had expected. The quality of food was very good and reasonably priced.

The beach is not brilliant, but the further you walk along it the better it becomes with fine pebbles, shingle and sand, but it is very pretty.

We were very sorry to leave and I can quite understand why people return year after year; we will probably join them!

Room Tip: Request a room in the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B&PTynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Arrived late evening and Nikos was there to welcome all guests and show them to their rooms. We then ventured to the pool bar for much needed refreshment and freshly made food, the home made options are delicious (made by Niko's wife), I did ask for the recipe for the quiche and Nikos cheekily said he would let me know next year! We had a room in the new block which had the welcome addition of a shower cubicle and hairdryer in the bathroom which is a luxury in greece. The room was clean and more than adequate with kettle and toaster.
The pool area is immaculate with plentiful sunbeds in an idyllic location. They have a weekly barbeque and lamb night both of which are excellent value for money and very well organised, highly recommended. All the family work very hard to ensure you have an enjoyable stay and we will defintely return, Thankyou Nikos and your lovely family in contributing to a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank calamityjane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Welcome hot food and a very good glass of red wine on arrival, late evening. Nicos was great and there if you needed him, but unobtrusive. The accommodation was adequate but basic. Pool, sun beds and umbrellas were great and the scenery was breathtaking. visits to Dreams and Jerry's are a must, and see the island via hire car from Venus. A fun day out on the boat from Captain Vangelis to Fiscardo shouldn't be missed. A fabulous holiday never to be forgotten!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Valipants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Eryphilli apartments were clean though VERY basic, the toilet/shower room is the smallest I think I have ever been in and it was difficult to sit on the loo and close the door without banging my knees. The pool area was clean but sadly the pool was sooo cold so I didn't go in which was a shame. The bar area was clean and well kept too. Nicos was friendly. On booking I had requested a double bed, sadly we were given two singles. Nicos asked the staff to push the two beds together and put a buffer of towels down the middle but it wasn't satisfactory, considering we were on a romantic child free break. Katelios itself is lovely but very small, if we hadn't hired a car for a few days in the middle of the week we would have gone stir crazy. We did walk to Scala one day along the main road which took 1 1/2 hours and got a taxi back which cost around E20. Felt a bit out of place as most people here were over 60 and we are in our early 40's.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DimplesMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just back from an all too short week staying at the Eryphilli studios, which live up to thier high ratings and great reviews. The rooms and the whole complex were kept spotlessly clean by Nicos's team and everyone was friendly and willing to help when required. Nicos was always available should you need him and impressed us by "doing the rounds" with a walk around the complex to say hello and make sure that his guests were okay.

The location is ideal, being about 6 to 8 mins walk from the beachfront row of tavernas and bars and therefore exceptionally quiet at night (apart from the Cockerel, but then this is why we love Greece). There were a number of cats at the complex which were being well looked after and therefore pretty tame and even one older, manky-looking cat was trying to be caught by the local cat charity.

Here are 3 things to do that may make you trip to Katelios / Kefalonia even more memorable :-

1. Visit Argostoli harbour bewteen 10:00am and 11:00am, locate the fishing boats (just to the left of the Central Market building) and watch the Turtles and maybe the Grey Seal come in to feed on the scraps. A truely memorable experience for all ages.

2. Visit Skala Old Town to get an appreciation of the earthquake on 1953. You can walk it from Skala New Town and it is about a 5 mile round trip, altenatively it is possible to drive up there or taxi up and walk back. Fantastic insight into old village life, the layout of the vilage and devastation wrought. There is a modern open taverna in the old town and the views from the top are stunning.

3. If you like walking (and not afraid of a fairly steep climb for the first half hour), I would recommend the walk we did up to and through the village of Pastra, returning to Katelios. It took 3 hours with stops, the scenery was fantasic and made the congratulatory Mythos and Spinach Pie well-earned. The route was all on tarmac roads or dirt tracks and hardly any traffic to mention. If you'd like detailed instructions email me and I'll gladly supply.

All in all, we'd return to the Eryphilli studios without any doubt, we loved the size and atmosphere of Katelios and Kefalonia as always, was at her regal best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheddarprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Eryphilli is a lovely set of apartments in the quiet resort of katelios. My boyfriend and i Have just spent two weeks there and we enjoyed it immensely.

Nikos the owner really makes the place - does everything he can to make you feel welcome and make the holiday top notch.

The studios are about 10 mins walk from the beach set back on a side road from the main (in the loose sense - very little traffic!) route into and through the resort. Theres a lovely pool, and nikos runs the pool bar serving drinks and some lush food ( the mousaka was amazing according to my man, and i really enjoyed the chicken fillet i had a couple of times). He also does special food nights - a bbq and a lamb dinner evening which are great.

We stayed in room 12 in the old block on the ground floor. It has twin beds (note: if you want a double don't bother asking thomas cook - they dont seem to pass on the info - email Nikos direct) a kettle, toaster and single ring to cook on. I know other rooms had a double ring though. The bathroom was nice with a big shower - no hairdryer though so take one if you want one. It was kept nice and clean by the maids. The only thing i would say is that the walls aren't that thick so if you're a light sleeper take earplugs! we were fine for the most part.

There are some lovely places to eat in katelios - we really liked Jerry's (just on the main road about 5 mins walk away next to the bakery). It was a very varied menu and the cakes made by jerry's wife were to die for. Dreams bar is also fab foir food - try the deep fried courgettes in mythos batter - yummy!

Also really enjoyed the food at marias on the sea front.

The eryphilli is a great place to stay - yes its typical greece with the basics - but lets face it thats all you need!

Room Tip: Email nikos for room requests...I'd ask for a room in the new block next time too - and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laneycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Olivemare
Olivemare
#4 of 8 in Katelios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's Villas
Captain's Villas
#13 of 18 in Katelios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alkioni Hotel
Alkioni Hotel
#2 of 18 in Katelios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dreams Beach Apartments Katelios
0.5 mi away
Albouro Apartments
Albouro Apartments
#7 of 18 in Katelios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Odyssia Apartments
Odyssia Apartments
#9 of 18 in Katelios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eryphilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eryphilli

Property: Eryphilli
Address: Lourdata | Katelios, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 142 Hotels in Cephalonia
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Eryphilli Hotel Cephalonia
Eryphilli Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing