We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holidays”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cephalonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Sea Apartments
Ranked #124 of 140 Hotels in Cephalonia
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Holidays”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We just came back with my hushband after 2 really relaxing weeks. The place was magnificent and quite- a perfect combination for relaxing!
The Blue Sea apartments were magnificent! A bit small but well equipped and very quiet. We had the best sleep in vacations ever! Cleaning and changing linen/towels was very often (almost everyday). There was a wonderfull pool with sunbeds but the weather wasn't so sunny as expected everyday. The only bad thing was that the other few people using the pool didn't have a shower before entering so the pool turned gloomy after 2-3 days (lotsa people puting sunoil before entering - terrible habbit !!!!!!!!!!!)
We met the owner Mr Spiros (larger-than-life person!) who was very kind and provided us with enough information.
Katelios village was quite and easy to go (only 3-4 minutes on feet) with good taverns and a few bars (thanks the music wasn't loud!). We ate at Persa's and Blue Sea- both of them fantastic (fresh fish and the best meat!)
The St. Barbara beach was good but the next beach (Kaminia beach) was better, more sandy and sparkling.
We rented a car the last 5 days and made a few trips around the island. Xi beach (cly beach) next to Lixouri was fantastic and the popular Mirtos beach too. We also went to Assos and Fiskardo - quite unspoilt both - and to Argostoli. capital of the island. Skala and Sami were very good but a little bit commercialized. We had a really lovely time and we promise to come back next year!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggicalmaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We came to Kefalonia to have a quiet and romantic couple of weeks, the resort itself is absolutely gorgeous and we really enjoyed eating out every evening at one of the many seaside Tavernas, Captain Jerry's was a firm favourite, especially for the fresh fish, infact the best swordfish we have both ever had.

When we arrived at the apartments, we didn't have a welcoming, just a grunt of what room number by the owner (Jackie). Our impression of the apartment was pretty much what others have written, basic greek apartments.. we hadn't come here to cook so were not bothered by the extremely basic cooking facilities. The apartment as a whole was clean and was cleaned regularly with fresh linen twice a week and towels 3-4 times. They could do with some updating, but the price we paid

We found the pool lovely and quite often fairly empty which was very nice and relaxing until the shouting from Spiros erupted most afternoons upsetting the majority of the residents of the apartments. Both Spiros and Jackie were extremely unhelpful on many occasions and it seemed to us and others that they were more inviting to outside guests who decided to use the pool for the day, which was very puzzling!! One thing that did bother me regarding the pool was that I saw Jackie on two occasions tip chlorine powder into the chlorine feeder during the day, which would have been harmful to swimmers especially those in the shallow end where it is released. Late at night, the local frogs took a dip!!

We will definately be returning to Katelios but we will certainly not be staying at The Blue Sea Apartments!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeamMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fire3029
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

just arrived back after 1 week stay in blue sea appartments.....initial thoughts on arrival...tired appartments, on the small side and hardly ideal for "true" self cattering.
however, that aside these are perfectly placed, functional and with the all important pool which was the highlight of the holiday for my 5 year old daughter.
great bar snacks at reasonalble prices
great maid service
a very "greek" owner ! big loud but perfectly harmless
the most abnoxious useless comos rep, total joke , so fend for yourself!
eating out.......tried the resturants in the main front, my advice stick to Jerry's opposite the appartments, wonderful and better priced .
great bakery opposite too
Venus car hire just up the hill cheapest on island, opposite this the best supermarket too.
loved it x

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fire3029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The apartments are in a really nice quiet setting, just a short walk to the tavernas and beach.

Our room was on the 2nd floor which we asked for. The room was clean and consisted of a small kitchen area, small en suite, twin beds and a balcony with a couple of chairs and a table. The only problems we found were just the kitchen area looked a bit tired and the shower holder came off the wall, when having a shower the whole en suite got soaked. From the balcony, the sea view and surrounding area was really nice, this also overlooked the swimming pool.

We spend half a day around the pool area on our week long holiday which was kept very clean and tidy. We spent most of our time travelling around Kefalonia.

In the evening we visited the bar area for a night cap, the girl behind the bar was nice and chatty. The swimming pool at night was illuminated with underwater lights which look really nice.

We went self catering, so can’t comment on food. At night the area is very quiet which ensures you have a good night sleep after a long day touring the island.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamUK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The reason why we picked this hotel within the area we liked was because it came across as small and friendly and that is pretty much what it was. We liked it because there were not many apartments or people who stayed there.
Hotel
The hotel/apartments themselves were ok, we were right with there not being many though it could have done with a bit of updating and more services available.
Staff
The staff were ok, they just left you to do your own thing, which we like but there was an incident where it was my sons birthday and we just brought him a new football and buy the time we got back the shirt was gone he said he had left it on his bed andnow it was no where to be found we asked at reception they didn't do much asked the cleaning lady about it and she said it must have been in the bed and when she cleaned off the sheets it got caught up. We asked if we could check the sheets and they said sorry they have alreay been sent off. So my son was not pleased with this. There was also another incident but it was not to do with the staff.
Rooms
We were very please when we got our room because mine and my husbands was separate from the childrens but we were all still in the same room. The bathroom was quite good but small, the room was spacious and on the top floor, so we got an alright view. A problem with the room was that after the incident with the clothes getting lost in the bedding we also put our clothes away and not out anymore. My son and husband were in a rush and just dumped their tops in the closet when they went and sorted them out later my husband put his top on and you were able to see all of these tiny holes in it, that we can only assume were ants my sons was aswell but it was more noticable on my husbands. The self catering within the rooms is not very good but it is about average, you are very limited at what you can cook, but there are many little shops that you can just go and get the ingredients from.
Food
There were many resturants and bars as soon as you walk out side of the complex. There was a really nice one if you come out the hotel, go left it was possibly called jerry's and then there was a bar place after that were we played pool and you were able to go on the internet and the people there were lovely. There was also another restuarant ifyou head towards down the beach there is a little alley way on the right and you go down there, its a beautiful typical greek restuarant, they do beautiful food and the staff there are lovely. The only problem we had with the restuarants is the cats which my daughters hates and there was this one eyed one that took a liking to her, she did not like it at all. I wish that the hotel itself did a resturant, we ate there one night and it was ok but not the best food i had ever tasted.
Location
Amazing, you could not go wrong with the location. Everything you could want in the way of food and some kind of entertainment was near by.
Pool
The pool was lovely for the first four days it was only my family by the pool and then a couple arrived and that was it apart from the owners two sons. But by the second week there were loads of children and teenagers and they were all friends with the owners children. They were loud and were jumping off the bridge. We were trying to think why they were allowed to be here and the owner was not telling them off its because this is a public pool, I think this is a big fault for the owners to do this. Apart from that the pool was nice, didn't ever have to rush to get down there though the pool could do with being painted as it was chipping. Also this pool gets very very deep my 6ft husband even after trying his hardest was unable to reach the bottom. Its best to say in the shallow end if you have children.
Beach
Not a long walk at all but didn't really go in the water it is very stoney, you don't get umbrellas or loungers either so we pretty much stayed by the pool.
Overall
I think that it was a good holiday, our family enjoyed it the location was the best thing about the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Excellent location just a 5 minute walk from the beach and resort front restaurants and opposite a bar and restaurant.Fantastic swimming pool and loads of loungers. Rooms all have a balcony and a good view. Set in nice gardens. Staff all friendly though the owner Spiros does tend to be a bit intimidating because of his size and loud voice but he is a really nice fella! Breakfast and lunch here were OK but better across the road at Jerry Ellinko. Did not eat in the evening here but found an excellent restaurant Persas about a 10 minute walk up the road which served traditional Greek food all home cooked - excellent. Jerry Ellinko across the road was also good for evening meals and his brothers restaurant on the seafront was also good for breakfast and evening meals. The beach is a bit ropey but we prefere the pool anyway so no problem there. 50 minute transfer time. Car hire place 5 minutes walk up the hill. The resort was empty when we were there but it was early season. No youngsters and no drunken yobos! Jeni the afternoon/evening staff was really friendly and looked after us well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cta283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Described as self-catering but with just 2 old electric hotplates impossible to cook a meal. No breadknife, teatowel, few mugs & glasses. Wires had to cross directly over sink to reach plug. Lots and lots of little things - ice compartment completely iced up (no door), broken door handle, loo seat, toilet base cracked, cracked window, no ventilation in bathroom which opened directly into kitchen area, stained mattress, dirty bed cover, rusty airer that marked your clothes, no outside light to see keyhole. Pool area covered in weeds, grass several inches long. There was no kettle when we arrived and the owner/manager was very rude and disinterested, and responded to our request with 'where do you expect me to buy a kettle on a Sunday'.

Such a shame because the actual building, layout, pool area etc. and location is excellent. and it could be so nice with a lot more care and attention. I know it was the end of the season, but that's no excuse. The floors were cleaned regularly and the towels & sheets changed regularly too so it was basically very clean but nobody could be bothered even to fit a lightbulb. Not worthy of Cosmos 3 diamond rating.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cephalonia
21.1 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.8 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#3 of 5 in Tragaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
35.7 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
32.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
26.3 mi away
Baha Ammes Apartments
Baha Ammes Apartments
#3 of 7 in Svoronata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Apartments

Property: Blue Sea Apartments
Address: Drakas | Katelios, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 140 Hotels in Cephalonia
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Apartments Cephalonia
Blue Sea Apartments Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing