We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little hotel for rest and relaxaton”
Review of Maria Anna Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cephalonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Anna Hotel
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Cephalonia
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous little hotel for rest and relaxaton”
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We have just returned from Kefalonia,what a lovely place only 3 hours away but a different world. Everyone we came into contact with, in the tavernas shops etc. were charming and realy pleasant. In the hotel Maria Anna we were also treated by such lovely and caring owners and their son.The hotel could be described as basic but the service certainly is not.

Lourdes is great too, get a car and explore this lovely island and then come back rest on the sunbeds and go and get a lovely meal!

Must also mention Rhiannon the olympc rep.......excellent ,very friendlly and loves Kefalonia and inspires you to explore.

  • Liked — the friendly service by Gregoris and Jenny
  • Disliked — Toilet paper in bins was a problem with my two girls (but they got used to it!)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagle142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    29
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
108
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

My first time to Kefalonia and I had a wonderful time, the hotel is great, everyone is so friendly and helpful. The rooms as people have said are basic but comfortable and I was very happy to see aircon and a fridge in the room as the brochure made no mention of these. I had an inland view room and ok the room faced inland but if you see the photo I have posted this is the view from the balcony and is a better seaview than most hotels offer for a sea view room. The breakfast is ok just bread and jam with orange juice and either tea or coffee and a choice of omelet or cereal, but the bar lunch snacks are excellent especially the salads which are huge. It is the friendleness of the staff that make the difference however Jenny, Grigoris and Lee are extremely helpful and friendly and do everything they can to make your stay a pleasent one. Oh and the swallows nesting in the corridors just add to the atmosphere

I can't wait to go back and I'll definiteley try to go back to the same hotel as I had a great time there.

  • Liked — The staff were great
  • Disliked — Room not very clean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Set between Vlahata and Lourdas itself Maria Anna has commanding views of Mount Enos to the rear and from the pool terrace a suberb coastline vista also taking in Zante in the distance. No frills or fancies here, just basic, clean, honest accomodation that is very welcoming after a hard day soaking up the rays or exploring this little gem of an island. Freshly decorated for the 2008 season Hotel Maria Anna offers a great taste of the Greek lifestyle - how nice to have breakfast served on the sun terrace. Previous contributors sum it up far more eloquently than I but suffice to say Jenny, Grigoris and Lee are still in attendance, as is Rhiannon doing her 'Olympic' duties. A more genuinely friendly, generous crew you could not wish to meet. Aircon has been installed during the closed season, €25/W, €40/2W at the time of my visit and to my mind worth every cent as it was absolutely essential at the end of June. My tip? Budget for and hire a car to get out and about and explore - the slopes are fine going down but seem twice as steep on the way back!! Well done Jenny and Grigoris - keep up the good work!!!

  • Liked — Great location, neat and tidy hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloTravellerNG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We have just got back from a lovely two weeks at the Maria Anna and we could not have asked for a better holiday. The room, pool, breakfast and view were great. We have stayed in many places around the world and found this was one of the most friendly and nicest hotels. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a relaxing and peaceful holiday - with a good night at the bar if you want to stay up a bit later (esp at BBQ and quiz night!).

I would recommend Olive Lounge and Crystal Palace for good food.

Overall we had a fab time, and we are hoping to go back later in the year for a week.
Sarah & Pete

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank PoiNights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at the Maria Anna Hotel from 18th to 25th September.

The hotel has 16 bedrooms and we stayed on the first floor with balcony getting sea and mountain views.

Overall we had a really enjoyable week. The room was basic and comfortable. We hired a fan for 4 Euros for the week which kept it cool at night (no air con). The shower on flexible cable was a problem and some innovative ideas were thought of when showering!!

B&B was the arrangement and for 2 Euros a cooked breakfast could be obtained with choice of bacon and eggs or omelettes. Jenny runs the hotel with her husband and they were supported by Lee who ran the bar. He is english and was very helpful in sorting and resolving any queries or problems we encountered.

Beaches and scenery were on a par with places in Australia. We would certainly return for another holiday.

Don't be put off by the reviews unless you wish to have a luxurious bedroom which you are going to spend all your holiday in! The rooms are basic but very clean and the beds were comfortable. No TV radio or tea/coffee facilities. Sheets and towels were changed three times during the week and that was fine. Small refrigerator was handy for water and beer cooling.

As far as we were concerned the enjoyment of the Maria Anna was the friendliness of staff, the relaxed informal atmosphere and the wonderful beaches nearby.

A car is necessary for visiting other resorts on the island and the location of the hotel is definitely not suitable for people who have difficulty walking.

Restaurants and bars nearby offered excellent food and drinks. There are a couple of very good supermarkets nearby which offered good value for money.

We feel that with a bit of TLC and sprucing up this hotel would be great. The sort of hideaway that you would not advertise too much.

Overall great place, lovely people and the holiday was really relaxing. No rowdy crowds so if you want a quiet week away in the sun go to Kefalonia. Do visit Sami where Captain Corelli's Mandolin was filmed - very pretty harbour and some beautiful restaurants.

The Holiday Rep Rhiannon for Olympic Holidays was really helpful and was able to give lots of information about where to go, the island and anything visitors wanted to know. We saw her very frequently and think she does a fabulous job.

  • Liked — Small hotel with friendly staff. Barbecue and quiz night were great
  • Disliked — the Shower And Having To Put Loo Paper In The Bin
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NomadEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
1.1 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Leivatho Hotel
Leivatho Hotel
#37 of 140 in Cephalonia
201 reviews
2.9 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#55 of 140 in Cephalonia
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosa's .Beach Studios.
Rosa's .Beach Studios.
#4 of 20 in Lourdas
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Anna Hotel

Property: Maria Anna Hotel
Address: Lourdata, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Cephalonia
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Maria Anna Cephalonia
Maria Anna Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing