We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
175
77
15
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
175
77
15
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews avithos beach unusual design beach bar the freshly squeezed orange juice mrs maria modern hotel walking distance from the hotel first week of september breakfast was delicious superior garden look forward to returning next year sea view studio olive trees excellent tavernas hotels around the world junior suite manager owner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 280 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

A short, end of summer, break with my wife. We’ve been to Kefalonia 6 times now and always try to stay somewhere different. The Leivatho certainly was different but in the best way. Not your average Greek architecture and quite a minimalist design. All the better for it. Great restaurants within walking distance too. Room clean and spacious, breakfast plentiful, welcome and level of service spot on. Thank you xxx

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank brucew427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Owner at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear Bruce,
thank you very much for your very kind review.
We would be happy to accommodate you in the future once more.
Best regards
Maria Antoniou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We felt gorgeous in this hotel surrounded by nature and by very friendly staff!!!
Our room had a beautiful garden with the best lavender smell ever!!!
Breakfast was delicious, varied fresh fruits and marvelous honey from local bees! Wow!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Charo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

We booked the hotel based on the high ratings on different websites and we had high hopes before we arrived. Unfortunately they were quickly dashed...

Let me do the positives first: location, location, location! Few steps from one of the best beaches in Kefalonia (Avithos). Room was spacious with a decent view. We booked a studio room and it was well equipped.

Now comes the negatives...

Although the hotel is reasonably new, as soon as you enter the room you can notice it is poorly maintained in some areas - for example, the tap in the bathroom sprays water everywhere as the nozzle is broken.. therefore you cannot wash your hands without making it looks like you have pissed yourself. The walls in the bathroom have all kind of stains and as they are white you can see everything. Also some parts of the shower were coming apart. The shower cubicle is not sealed very well and so the bathroom floods when you shower.

After staying in many hotels in Greece, this room was missing the wow factor - something was just missing...

Breakfast was a basic affair - continental breakfast where you should pay for a nice coffee to drink with your stale croissant... very disappointing; definitely not a 4* breakfast.

To summarise our stay, I left feeling ripped off and I don’t feel the hotel is good value for money.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank H7531PWneilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Owner at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Dear Mr Neil,
I am very sorry you felt dissapointed during your stay with us.
I wish you had mentioned to me the problems you were facing, we would try to satisfy you, even change room.
Regarding the spots in the bathroom, I would like to inform you that, it is the type of marble that creates white spots.
Our breakfast contained mainly local fresh products as well as homemade dishes.
Thank you for being a guest in our hotel and hope, maybe, to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Maria Antoniou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

We stayed a week here and enjoyed the friendly hospitality, amazing breakfasts, spectacular views and lovely rooms which were cleaned daily with attention and care. Highly recommend. Easy walk to local beach with two decent tavernas.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MandSCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Owner at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

We appreciate a lot your very kind review.
We would love to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Maria Antoniou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We visited from 11 to 20th September and can highly recommend the hotel, the Avithos beach area and Kefalonia in general.
The room was very comfortable and we loved the walk from reception which took us through the gardens, taking in the plants.
The pool area is really nice with a lovely view to the sea beyond. We found it easy to get a sun bed at any time of the day.
Breakfast was very good, buffet style.
Staff were very helpful in booking excursions for us.
We visited the north of the island which took in Assos and Fiskardo, both unmissable.
We also took a cruise to Ithaca which was also lovely, in particular lunch at Kioni.
The beach is lovely and less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Sandy, shallow and with a really nice beach bar which is fun to visit for an evening drink.
The real highlight are the two tavernas, both next to each other and the beach. Both are good and guests seem to favour either number 1 or number 2.
We were confirmed number 1 fans, Avithos Preview, and our lunches there got better and better each day! We worked through the fish options as well as the traditional Greek dishes. The staff were so nice and made us really welcome.
In summary, a great place for a quiet, relaxing holiday - but with scope to explore further afield if you wish.
We will definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank grahamcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Owner at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Dear Graham,
we higly appreciate your review.
We will be very happy seeing you again.
Kind regards
Maria Antoniou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews