We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Kefalonian Gem”
Review of Leivatho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leivatho Hotel
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Cephalonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Kefalonian Gem”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

A very charming warm welcome greets you at this creatively designed hotel. The public spaces and the layout of the modern hotel are very well thought out. Maria and her attentive staff were all friendly and helpful at all times; Sofia was a ray of sunshine. The hotel is fairly close to the airport (although you would never notice) in a quiet location that requires a car to get around the island. A very clean picturesque beach is about 5 minutes walk away with 2 Tavernas serving tasty local food and wine.
We stayed in A Sea View studio for over a week and loved the place; would go back tomorrow - if we could.

Room Tip: Would recommend a Sea View; we stayed in F12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    61
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
119
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I booked this hotel after friends had already paid for their rooms. I asked to be located close to my travel companions, and this was sorted quickly and easily by email.
By the time we travelled circumstances had changed. Once again, a quick email to Maria and all was sorted.
Being a rather cynical traveller, I thought our open-arms greeting on arrival was just that: For the arrival. However, I'm happy to report that the wonderful Greek hospitality extended for the duration of our stay and every day or time we popped into reception, the restaurant or the pool, we were made to feel so welcome and like one of Maria's extended family.
She has assembled a fantastic team to give travellers an exceptional stay: Sofia, Anna and Mema are credits to her hotel and made us so welcome. They went above and beyond what I have experienced from hotels in the past and I'd definitely return again.
The hotel is clean, chic, looks far more expensive than it actually is, and you have unspoilt scenery and the sea all around you.
When we travelled it was very quiet - just after Easter when all the kids had returned to school - but there was still enough to do provided you hired a car. Again, the hotel organised this for us (a local company) and it worked out cheaper than sorting out before flying there.
I'd definitely recommend a trip to this lovely hotel - and meet the fabulous staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites if they're available. You get fabulous views and you'll feel quite exclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DickyKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Manager at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Karl,
thank you very much for your kind review.
We really hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon.
Have a nice summer,
Maria Antoniou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in Leivatho during our visit in Ionian islands last September. The hotel offers something unusual, but in a good way. First of all, we were amazed by the hospitality and kindness of the owners. This made us feel part of the family.
We stayed in one of the Sea View studios. Its design is minimal but very functional. The room comprises an ultra modern bathroom, which above that is very spacious.
The hotel lies in a wonderful area. To a walking distance, there also two local restaurants which provide good traditional food.
Finally, from our experience we would totally recommend Cephalonia as it is a wonderful island, which can satisfy even the most demanding traveler. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very nice, but during our stayed we have also been shown the Superior Garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear guest thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Surprising find and would endorse the recent reviews. We loved the modern design, the spacious Bauhaus rooms and public areas. Its in a great location - 5 minutes walk to the beach and two tavernas. We only booked in for one night so that we could have a relaxed drive to the airport - our immediate reaction on arrival was "why didn't we book to stay here longer".One thing to mention was the bed - it was sooooo comfortable! Pool was good to. Will definately be going back and not for just one night!

Room Tip: We had a first floor studio - not expensive but really nice and quiet. That said I think all the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear guests, thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your staying even for
one night . We hope to stay more next time and explore the island .Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Reccomend this hotel for the amazing views, spacious but minimalist designed rooms & baths, care and attention of the owner lady, Maria. She did all her best to make our accomodation one of the best. Still the hotel needs some improvement for pretentious travelers. The hotel is very close to a small but very nice beach. It is 10 minutes drive to Argostoli, the capital which is nice to visit. If you have a GPS is easy to find the hotel also following the signs. The breakfast is very basic so if you stay more than 1 week you'll be bored. It's a place of tranquility in the middle of nature and rural Greece. Don't expect to find pubs or other entertainment close. There are just 2 taverns close to hotel with view direct to the sea where you can eat good sea & greek food. I prefer the first tavern as you go to the beach where the owner is a young man very professional. So if you want rest and silence and don't expect a luxury room I recommend. I think Kefalonia is the most beautiful greek islands.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jooana89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear quest we very much appreciate your comments to get better .
Best regards and a fruitful new year.Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in sea view suite which was very spacious. Very clean but rooms could do with some pictures on the walls but thats being picky. Very good breakfast buffet included but little shade from the sun on the terrace. Good taverna nearby. Would recommend for short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dea r guest thank you for your kindness to comment on us and get better in the future.We are trying to make our guests to feel at home and enjoy their holidays in the island of Cefalonia.

Our best regards hoping to be able to stay with us in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

1.the owner Maria always there to assure a comfortable accomodation and to give tips for a pleasant stay in Kefalonia
2.spacious rooms
3.wi-fi always present
4.daily cleaning of the rooms
5.extremely comfortable beds
6.spacious parking place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo-Nocturno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear guest .Thank you for your comments. We do our best to keep our performance in a high level
and make our guests to feel at home and try the best so nothing to spoil their holidays.
Best regards and wishes for a fruitful new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
13.9 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
1.3 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
5.5 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
25.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
484 reviews
7.7 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leivatho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leivatho Hotel

Property: Leivatho Hotel
Address: Avithos Beach, 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cephalonia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cephalonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leivatho Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leivatho Hotel, a unique four star hotel located in the beautiful Cephalonia Island, ideally located just 200m. from the sandy beach of Avithos and only 4,5 km from the international airport.This eco-friendly boutique property with its individually styled studios, appeals to those seeking a relaxing green escape, offering the ‘home away from home’ feeling while enjoying some bio - home made products. Family run, it seeks to convey the meaning of Greek hospitality while prioritizing on satisfying the needs of its customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Leivatho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leivatho Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing