We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...architectural design in harmony with a relaxing enviroment....”
Review of Leivatho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leivatho Hotel
Ranked #34 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

1.the owner Maria always there to assure a comfortable accomodation and to give tips for a pleasant stay in Kefalonia
2.spacious rooms
3.wi-fi always present
4.daily cleaning of the rooms
5.extremely comfortable beds
6.spacious parking place

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo-Nocturno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest .Thank you for your comments. We do our best to keep our performance in a high level
and make our guests to feel at home and try the best so nothing to spoil their holidays.
Best regards and wishes for a fruitful new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is a gem. Well hidden in the countryside - very modern and stylish and designed to blend into the environment. The pool was marvellous, and the hotel is only 5 minutes from one of the best beaches in Kefalonia - sandy, with a fabulous beach bar run by friendly staff. There are two great restaurants nearby meaning you don't have to get in your car in the evening.
What made the hotel so special was the constant presence of the owner who had lots of interesting insights to the island and who made sure all guests were happy, and was incredibly responsive to our requests. She even provided a chocolate birthday cake for my son's 6th birthday which made his day. Liz. UK

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments, It is our obligation during your staying in the hotel
to leave anything to spoil your holidays and most important to make you feel at home even with a
birthday party . Many thanks to you and your family for you have trusted us your holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great building, beautiful gardens, excellent view, modern architecture. Even though this is a boutique hotel all of the rooms were very spacious.
There has been a mix up with our reservation (we booked a standard room for 4 nights) and as a good gesture the hotel gave us 3 nights the hotel suite room. The suite room did not live up to our expectations (no bathroom door and the room was quite big and therefore difficult to cool down with the aircondition on). The last night we got transfered to a standard room which was perfect.
We would have expected a 4 star hotel to provide us with beach towels. We actually had to buy them from the hotel at the price of €8 each.
The breakfast was not of top quality but we enjoyed the croissants. The breakfast was served at the pool area, with great sea view but there was no shade which made it a little hot.
The staff gave us a warm welcome on day one but other than that we did not get the required attention during the rest of our stay.
We would like however to give a special thanks to Mrs. Antreas who was very kind and friendly.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments as they help us to get better .Unfortunately we provide
pool towels on request on a daily basis and no beach towels as they are not treated properly by
many quests. However we are looking to find a solution. We are trying to introduce new products
in our greek oriented breakfast .
We appreciate your comments and hope there are "potentials to get better".
Best regards and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fully recommended and absolutely worth the price! We spent eight nights here and enjoyed the quietness, personal service and sea view at this gem of a hotel. The room was spacious and clean, with a great view over the Avithos bay. The staff helped us with a good deal on a rental car, which is necessary to explore the island. They also arranged for pedicure and manicure in the room and called restaurants for us. The pool had two sections, one for kids and one for longer swims. Breakfast catered for all tastes, whether Scandinavian, Continental or US. The bar also served some meals, suitable for lunch or a light dinner.

Our only complaint to the hotel was that we could not bring the big pool towels to the beach. This was corrected the following day when they provided beach towels for sale.

The nearby beach had fascinating sea turtle nests, marked with signs. When we walked a few minutes to the left or right at the beach, we even found some wonderful, secluded spots.

Room Tip: The first floor corner rooms facing the sea probably had the best views. The bridal suite looked ast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toraske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guests, thank you for your comments .We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your
staying in our hotel and in general you were satisfied. Unfortunately we are not able to provide beach towels as many guests do not treat them well ,however as you know we provide pool
towels of excellent cotton quality hypoallergic and on request on a daily basis .Thank you again
and we expect to see you again ! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A really nice quiet hotel. It was very modern and minimalistic. The room was very spacious and clean. We had a little patio that we did not use, but the pool area was nice for evening drinks and breakfast. There's are some nice beaches (turn right around the corner on the main beach) down the road. There are 2 tavernas too on the beach for lunch and are open for dinner if you do not wish to drive that evening.
The hotel is about 2 hours drive to Fiscardo and 1.5hour to Myrtos beach.
The only complaint is that the hotel does not provide any fans, only aircon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest , thank you for your comments which are very useful to make us better ! We are trying
the best for our guests to make them feel at home. Regarding the abscence of fans we do provide
on demand in case our guests prefer them instead of the known for their quality daikin air conditioners. We hope to see you soon and enjoy your staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We traveled here in July 2013. The hotel is modern, new, spacious and completely made of cement. We has a garden view room, but the breakfast area provided a wonderful view of the sea and the countryside. The breakfast was ok. I would not touch the scrambled eggs or the bacon, but the coffee, yogurt, and fresh squeezed orange juice were very nice. Our studio room was spacious, and I loved the high ceilings,. Although this design makes it hard to cool down the room.
My biggest complaints would be the bad blinds in the room, the sensor right by the door that lit up the room at night and we both felt the staff was very cold. We had a nice reception when we arrived, but after that, they were very distant. The staff at To Enetiko, the restaurant at the beach made up for what they lacked. The area is small and quiet. You will need a car to see the rest of this lovely island.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room. It was quiet but the sun was powerful. But who stays in the room all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mefal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments which are very iinteresting and helpful to improve
our services. We already fixed the blinds which was an architectural demand .
This year we will provide a greek oriented breakfast with more local products .We are very happy you enjoyed the freshly made orange juice in breakfast .
We are looking forward to see you again . Best regards and wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is a 5min walk from Avithos beach where there are 2 tavernas, other than that there is nothing in the vicinity and you definitely need a car. Having said that it's fairly new and architecturaly a bit different and interesting. Our room was modern looking and clean (we took the cheapest garden room, i don't think the 'sea view' rooms are worth it). The reception was friendly and breakfast was ok (nice freshly squeezed orange juice) with a decent choice (scrambled eggs were unedible however as they had been cooked/nuked to death!).

Only complaints would be a faint whiff of sewage in the room on the day we arrived (cleared up though) and that the road to the rear parking is unpaved - why spend what was surely a considerable amount of money building the hotel and not spend the last few thousand to pave the road!

Would stay here again though and I thought it was fairly priced

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gordongecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments which are very helpful to get us better. The scrambled
eggs are no more "nuked to death" and next time you stay with us you will find a greek oriented
breakfast and less "scrambled eggs and bakon".
The unfinished upper road is due to municipality bureucratic problems!
Any way there is always a way to get better .
Hope to see you soon and enjoy your holidays. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
5.5 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 5 in Lourdata
209 reviews
25.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
2.0 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#46 of 141 in Cephalonia
134 reviews
14.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leivatho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leivatho Hotel

Address: Avithos Beach, 28100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cephalonia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cephalonia
Price Range: $129 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leivatho Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leivatho Hotel, a unique four star hotel located in the beautiful Cephalonia Island, ideally located just 200m. from the sandy beach of Avithos and only 4,5 km from the international airport.This eco-friendly boutique property with its individually styled studios, appeals to those seeking a relaxing green escape, offering the ‘home away from home’ feeling while enjoying some bio - home made products. Family run, it seeks to convey the meaning of Greek hospitality while prioritizing on satisfying the needs of its customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leivatho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leivatho Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing