We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco Leivathos”
Review of Leivatho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leivatho Hotel
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We traveled here in July 2013. The hotel is modern, new, spacious and completely made of cement. We has a garden view room, but the breakfast area provided a wonderful view of the sea and the countryside. The breakfast was ok. I would not touch the scrambled eggs or the bacon, but the coffee, yogurt, and fresh squeezed orange juice were very nice. Our studio room was spacious, and I loved the high ceilings,. Although this design makes it hard to cool down the room.
My biggest complaints would be the bad blinds in the room, the sensor right by the door that lit up the room at night and we both felt the staff was very cold. We had a nice reception when we arrived, but after that, they were very distant. The staff at To Enetiko, the restaurant at the beach made up for what they lacked. The area is small and quiet. You will need a car to see the rest of this lovely island.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room. It was quiet but the sun was powerful. But who stays in the room all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mefal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments which are very iinteresting and helpful to improve
our services. We already fixed the blinds which was an architectural demand .
This year we will provide a greek oriented breakfast with more local products .We are very happy you enjoyed the freshly made orange juice in breakfast .
We are looking forward to see you again . Best regards and wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is a 5min walk from Avithos beach where there are 2 tavernas, other than that there is nothing in the vicinity and you definitely need a car. Having said that it's fairly new and architecturaly a bit different and interesting. Our room was modern looking and clean (we took the cheapest garden room, i don't think the 'sea view' rooms are worth it). The reception was friendly and breakfast was ok (nice freshly squeezed orange juice) with a decent choice (scrambled eggs were unedible however as they had been cooked/nuked to death!).

Only complaints would be a faint whiff of sewage in the room on the day we arrived (cleared up though) and that the road to the rear parking is unpaved - why spend what was surely a considerable amount of money building the hotel and not spend the last few thousand to pave the road!

Would stay here again though and I thought it was fairly priced

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gordongecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments which are very helpful to get us better. The scrambled
eggs are no more "nuked to death" and next time you stay with us you will find a greek oriented
breakfast and less "scrambled eggs and bakon".
The unfinished upper road is due to municipality bureucratic problems!
Any way there is always a way to get better .
Hope to see you soon and enjoy your holidays. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we stayed for one week of our holidays and everything was great...the room was excellent the service was very friendly..and the huge pool of this new hotel has great view of the sea..Maria the owner of the hotel was very kind and helpfull with us..the only thing that could be better is the breakfast but it is a new hotel so they wiill change things.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areti l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments which are very helpful to get us better.We appreciate
your suggestions and we are oriented to a greek breakfast with more local products .
Thank you and we hope to see you soon . Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very small modern hotel in a lovely location (there is no spa.) The room is concrete and modern It was spacious and had a 360 degree view We could not hear anyone else in nearby rooms. Every morning we would wake up and look out to sea, beautiful. Maria was lovely and very helpful and recommended some excellent restaurants All the staff were very helpful and friendly Andreas made some superb cocktails and was good company. The nearby Avithos beach was very good as we're the 2 local restaurants but you do need a car to see the wonderful sights of the island. We visited most places on the island but we would definitely return to this area and the Leivatho Hotel.

Room Tip: Suite had good views and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raven2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your encouraging comments. We appreciate your comments on the
andreas coctails . We hope to see you soon .Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are looking for wild nightlife, lots of noise and late nights then don't come here. If you are looking for a peaceful tranquil holiday with attentive personal service then do come to the Leivatho. Maria and all the staff will attend to your every need and being a small hotel the service is really personal with everyone on first name terms . The buildings are very modern and may not be to everyone's taste but the rooms are very spacious and the beds very comfortable, I had the best weeks sleep ever whilst being away from home. The garden studios are really nice but as you might expect only have a view of the gardens. If you want a superb sea view ask for room D5, D6, D7 or D8. If travelling as a couple then D7 and D8 have private balconies. If travelling with friends (as we were) or as a larger family ask for D5 and D6 as they have "adjoining" balconies. The hotel is well located, being a short drive from the airport (a hire car is well worth it ) and there are 2 excellent tavernas at the bottom of the hill, right on the beach.

Room Tip: D5, 6, 7 and 8 have great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments and the detailed analysis of the rooms acording to the
needs of each guest.
We appreciate your comments . Thank you .
Hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The style of the hotel is purist and modern, but it was definitly our taste. The apartments are spacious and very practical, you have a lot of space to put your stuff. They are located in small bungalows so that you have the maximum privacy. Our was in the basement so it was always cool and we did not need the aircon. Outside the of the apartment we had a small veranda, very convenient to dry the clothes and to have a glass of wine in the evening.
I have to point out the bed quality, I have never slept better in a hotel. The bed is so comfortable!
The breakfast is served by the pool with view to the sea and offers something for every taste. We enjoyed a lot the fresh orange juice, the fresh fruit and the greek joghurt.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and Maria, the owner treats you like friends!
We highly recommend this hotel to everybody looks for a special place away from the tourist traps in a good location to explore the beautiful island!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aikiaiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your staying in our
hotel . We mauch appreciate your comments and looking forward to see you again.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A truly 'Grand Designs' hotel. Beautiful surroundings and ultra modern rooms. We had one of the unusual shaped rooms with a small private garden behind, accessed through a wall of glass. The room space was great and our 14 month old loved racing round. What was great in this room was that you could never hear from rooms either side because of the beautiful, natural stone walls. The pool area was lovely, quiet, views of the sea and perfect for our little one (good shallow part of the infinity pool). Maria, her husband and brother are genuinely nice people running a lovely hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Would go back, therefore would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 186460Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fania A, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Leivatho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your comments on 'tranquility and relaxing' hotel.It was a great pleasure
to have you as guests. We are trying to improve our services and fulfil the expectations of our guests . We hope to see you again .Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
5.5 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 5 in Lourdata
209 reviews
25.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
524 reviews
2 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#46 of 141 in Cephalonia
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
7.7 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
3.3 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leivatho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leivatho Hotel

Address: Avithos Beach, 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cephalonia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cephalonia
Price Range: $131 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leivatho Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leivatho Hotel, a unique four star hotel located in the beautiful Cephalonia Island, ideally located just 200m. from the sandy beach of Avithos and only 4,5 km from the international airport.This eco-friendly boutique property with its individually styled studios, appeals to those seeking a relaxing green escape, offering the ‘home away from home’ feeling while enjoying some bio - home made products. Family run, it seeks to convey the meaning of Greek hospitality while prioritizing on satisfying the needs of its customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Leivatho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leivatho Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing