We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with friendly staff but a little too far away from Skala town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cephalonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Georgio Hotel Apartments -3 Star
Ranked #86 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with friendly staff but a little too far away from Skala town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just returned from 10 days at San Georgia hotel. Had a wonderful time - hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. We stayed B&B and the reviews are correct about the breakfasts - bit boring. The bus service they run to the town is excellent and you need to book in advance. The taxi ride is very cheap and well worth the 5/7 euros as it is a 40 minute walk to the main 'strip'. Would love to stay in Skala again as the beach is fab but will stay a little nearer the town next time. A good selection of restaurants - El Greco and The Pines are excellent! A lovely resort in a beautiful island!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

First time in skala and hopefully not my last. Hotel was lovely very clan and tidy we opted for bed and breakfast which was fine and ate at the restaurant 5 times food was lovely.every time and the staff are very helpful.The shuttle bus that takes you into skala is really helpful and runs on time . All the places that we ate at were of a very good standard. The peole in the island are very friendly and helpful. My only concern was the pavements between the hotel and Skala they are in bad shape and I had a bad fall which was upsetting.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was also our first time visiting Kefalonia, admittedly we should have researched the area a lot more. The hotel was clean, staff friendly, lovely hotel in itself, pool area great BUT no lifts, we had half board which I naively had not realised that we meant that we would have the same limited choice of dishes for ALL seven days (breakfast and dinner). Unfortunately first day my daughter got electricuted as the previous guest had left a broken plug pin, after this shock... we decided to have an early dinner and rest but were forced to change our table three times to get away from the wasps (others guests were going through the same ordeal). The restaurant only introduced wasp traps fours days later by which time my daughter had stopped having breakfast in the restaurant at all. We also started having dinner as late as possible.

The area is beautiful but I would next time have preferred a hotel much nearer to the beach, although the hotel does provide a free bus service to Scala the area just felt a bit remote for me.

Been to Athens before so next time if I visit Greece again will go there again.

P.s. Not a good hotel if you don't like cats as they do tend to have a free run of the place (but I like cats unlike wasps)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first time visiting Kefalonia and we are already talking about going again next year. The hotel is situated on a hill and at first we thought we were far from the main town of Skala but the hotel runs a courtesy mini bus that you book in advance and it's a 5 minute drive to the town and beach. We used this bus a few times and it was convenient and on time. Our room was modern, spacious, and clean and we had an amazing view overlooking the sea, we were able to see the sun rise and set, which was beautiful. My only complaint about the room is that we had to walk up 121 steps (yes we counted) to get to it, not much fun in the heat but we survived it and had a few laughs on the way up. There are rooms lower down and we would book these in future. We had intended to eat out most nights but found the hotel restaurant food so tasty that we ate there almost every night. The staff and waiters were always smiling, polite and very welcoming. Yes there was an issue with wasps but in the end a solution was found and we were able to enjoy our last couple of nights wasp free. The hotel has everything that you need, 3 large swimming pools, plenty of sun loungers, a mini market, bar, snack bar, evening entertainment, and WiFi in the main reception. We booked through Thomson and found the reps very helpful and also booked our excursions through them. We did a tour of Kefalonia and also visited the island of Ithaca, both trips definitely worth doing as they are both beautiful islands. This was a honeymoon for myself and my husband and we had a fantastic time as a couple. Next year we will take our children with us as we're certain they will enjoy it just as much as we did.

Room Tip: Rooms can be on quite a steep hill with lots of steps, lower rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our 7th time visiting Kefalonia but we had never stayed here before. Friends of ours had stayed here previously and said it was good so as 12 of us were going away we decided here would be best and was a good price for everybody.
.
Upon arrival everything was ok - quick and easy check in and then direction to our rooms by the receptionist (grumpy greeting but softened towards end of the week and was very nice). The restaurant was open till 11:30pm which was good considering we only arrived at 10:00pm and all were very hungry. The food in the evenings was good, enough choice but we did eat out some evenings. The breakfast was poor and the situation and size of the restaurant isn't good either - wasps everywhere and little shade in the morning making it unpleasant. The staff were never very friendly and didn't seem interested in you, just wanted your order. The staff on the bar were efficient but again not over friendly which is what you expect from the Greeks.

The shuttle bus into Skala was not used effectively - the system in operation which isn't suitable for the demand. This system has been the same for over 3 years and should be changed.

The pool facilities were good and suited well for young children. Hotel is perfect for families with young children. Evening entertainment was good. Dim lighting at night in restaurant making it hard to see.

We had three people in our room and the put up bed was very uncomfortable - like sleeping on a brick wall. Putting the thick blankets on the bottom makes it a little more comfortable but still not great.

A few tweets to the way things are run at the hotel would make a big difference and increase their ratings.
Overall a nice week here, would not return to the hotel but will defiantly be returning to Skala again but in a previous place we have stayed.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruickshanks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The world is a big place and i never like to return to somewhere we've previously been, but we made an exception and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff are always friendly, helpful and polite.The accomodation is very clean and tidy and the facilities are great and as described.

The hotel is nestled in the hill side and could prove a problem for anyone with walking difficulties, the hills can be steep and there are many steps. The walk to Skala is approx 45 mins for slow walk downhill and along the beachside, the view is wonderful as you walk and is definately worth doing at least once. lighting and pavements along the way have been improved since our last visit but are by no means perfect, i wouldn't fancy it in a pair of stiletoes! The hotel does run a minibus a few times a day but you have to book in advance. Taxi's are pretty easy to arrange with reception and are 5 euros each way.

Dinner in the restaurant was lovely, however breakfast was simple, although not a problem for us at all. The lunchtime 'snacks' were fantastic too, a huge filled roll to rival any greggs! There is a well stocked bar and a simple mini market on site too.

There was always room by the pools regardless of the time of day we arrived, many people will go off for day trips or spend the day at the beach. There are sun spots and shade spots and plenty of umbrellas.

Both times we have been our rooms were lovely. Not all rooms have a sea view, but all seem to have either a balcony or outside area. Our first room was low level with a lovely garden and a view of the hill/garden if you strained your neck, but was perfect for a shady area. Our recent room was 'level 4' and had the most fantastic view over the coast (and sunrise if you got up early enough). Rooms are clean and my only comment would be that the show screen didn't actually stop the bathroom getting wet unless the shower head was at a precise angle - an extra bathmat wouldn't have gone a miss. Previous room had a huge walk in shower rather than shower over bath. Both rooms were a really good size. Air con was included and even had a quiet mode for sleeping - lovely.

Many people often return to this hotel and its clear to see why, it's very relaxing and provides a perfect place for a slow paced holiday.

Skala itself has a lively restaurant scene and a few bars, don't expect to be partying into the small hours but the atmosphere is lovely and has enough to keep you amused in different places every night of your holiday. Many places will have live music or other entertainment. There is also entertainment in the hotel most evenings although we often went into town.

There are several places to explore in Kefalionia and many are a good few hours drive away. We have taken a discover trip both by coach and by boat booked via Thompson and both were very enjoyable. Many people also rent a car which is a great way to get around and provide freedom to do what you want.

In all a very enjoyable and relaxing time, a place i would definately recommend to friends and strangers and perhaps somewhere we may choose to visit for a third time.

PS - if you like cats then you'll often find lots of them to make friends with. They are clean, tidy and well looked after by owners and hotel guests with many (like us) feeding them daily. This time 3 georgous tiny kittens.

Room Tip: High rooms really are high, several sets of steps and steep hills, be careful. Most rooms are reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tepe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I would happily recommend this place! Rooms a very modern and cleaned daily, lovely sea view! Approx 45 min walk into Skala town centre, but a pleasant walk with bars in restaurants on the way! Hotel staff very friendly. We only had BB but there was plenty of choice for breakfast, too be honest more than I expected! I would gladly come again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
0.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#1 of 12 in Poros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lygies Studios
Lygies Studios
#9 of 23 in Trapezaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 7 in Svoronata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Georgio Hotel Apartments -3 Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Georgio Hotel Apartments -3 Star

Property: San Georgio Hotel Apartments -3 Star
Address: Skala 280 82, Greece, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Number of rooms: 195
Also Known As:
San Georgio Hotel Apartments -3 Star Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing