We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hotel - I would not go back”
Review of Gonatas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ionian Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gonatas Hotel
Ranked #285 of 916 Hotels in Ionian Islands
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing hotel - I would not go back”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at the Gonatas hotel for 2 weeks. We requested a sea view room and were given a side, groung floor room with ' a private terrace'. If you squinted hard enough you go just make out the sea through the other balconies and trees. The private terrace was a doorway with a dirty table and 2 chairs. The air conditioning in the room repeatedly broke and dripped water on to the electrical sockets below. The room itself was dark (from being at the side and back of the hotel), not very clean and not very comfortable. The beds were hard and small in size. The pool area is a lot smaller than shown in the Thomas cook brochure; it looked unkept and there were ants crawling everywhere. The sun beds had no cushioning and were therefore quite uncomfortable. The beach below is the size of a postage stamp and at peak season very busy. Although the water is lovely. The breakfast in the hotel was basic - bread, cake, eggs (the usual greek way), but if you wanted other things like fruit or cooked food, you had to pay extra. The Thomas Cook brochure also recommded this hotal for adults, and I was hoping that there would bot be too many children. However this was not the case, and as the horel is small, its hard to get away from the noise. The paper thin walls in the rooms did not help!
I would not recommend anyone going to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linzsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
87
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

From the moment we arrived we could not have been made more welcome. The hotel was fantastic, with beautiful views of the sea and out to Ithaca. The family who owned the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A nice big fridge in the room which was ideal and the hotel was spotless. The pool area was never busy and was a very relaxing area. The sea was only 2 minutes walk away so this gave you the option of pool or beach (pebbled so need tour sandles!). Just up the road was a wonderful taverna (Paradissos) and the home made Greek food was delicious. Also they will sell you the local wine to take out in your empty water bottles, very reasonable and handy to keep in the fridge.

It is about a 10 minutes walk into town so it is handy to know that one of the supermarkets in town delivers free of charge. We found this out in the second week after carrying water and provisions back in the searing heat. This supermarket is located across from the taxi point.

Don't be put off using the public buses it is 50 minutes to Fiscardo and very cheap. Just make sure you are slightly early as they don't hang around and always before returning check with the driver returning time and where pick up point is.

All the tavernas in the harbour were very good with live Greek music on certain nights. On average we paid for two starters, a greek salad and two mains and a litre of local wine (the rose is very good) 35 Euros.

All in all we had a fantastic time and are seriously considering returning next year, maybe with a week in Ithaca.

Yamas!

M anx M

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This was the first time we had been to beautiful Kefalonia; we toured more or less the whole island, and without a doubt when we return we would only want to stay at the Gonatas in Aghia Efimia. The hotel building itself is very impressive, I understand it was built by the father of the 2 daughters who have run it since he died a couple of years ago. He loved the place & he has definitely left his mark on it, it is like a very large house really, I could have stayed there forever! Everything was simple, but perfect, ample choices at the breakfast table (I saw you could have an english cooked breakfast on request, for an extra charge. they looked delicious). We noticed a bar area in the huge lounge, but it was not routinely open, but frankly we were quite pleased, it simply added to the tranquility of the place. I'm sure if you wanted alcoholic drinks they would oblige. The pool & surrounding area was lovely too, with an enomous canopy on one side, so plenty of shade if you wanted it, without having to fiddle around with an umbrella. Our bedtroom was perfect, simple & clean as Greek island hotels are. Our balcony was spacious, but some are even bigger, with a terrace. The views from all the rooms at the front/upper floor are idyllic. I think the rooms to the side/rear may not be so desirable, so request a room at the front if a view is a priority for you. One thing we noticed was how cool the room stayed, this was July but we hardly used the air.con (which was free!) We didn't have a single flying insect in the room either (nor crawling ones either). The bathroom is a little cramped, but not enough to put me off again. Hot water at all times of day, no probs there. Do not hesitate to go here!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeandbelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I am always nervous staying somewhere for the first time, especially when some of the reviews are mixed. However I was so blown away with the Gonatas Hotel that I had to write my first ever review! The location was first rate for us. The village of Agia Effimia is absolutely stunning and the Gonatas is about 5-10 minutes easy walk from the main harbour front and restaurants - a perfect strolling distance after a big dinner! It was very quiet and clean and, I know many of the reviews have said how friendly Nicky is, but it is like being welcomed into the family without being too intrusive! Everyone there is so warm and friendly. I agree that the showers are a touch on the small side and the breakfasts could have been better for people who are not keen on cake first thing in the morning (I am not one of those people!) However they do say to ask if you want something else and I saw others having greek yogurt and fruit. The pool area was virtually deserted so plenty of sun loungers and the water was refreshingly cold! I would absolutely recomment Agia Effimia and the Gonatas hotel for a heavenly, relaxing holiday. Would also recommend the Stavros (I think) taverna - the first one you come to after the poseidon taverna and the next bar.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottstraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We recently returned to this hotel because of its magnificent position overlooking the bay at Agia Efimia towards Sami after a disappointing stay 4 years ago. Things have greatly improved now. The staff were very welcoming,attentive and cheerful at all times. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless with an excellent shower, the bathroom being small but adequate. The inclusive breakfast was so much better this time and it was not necessary to supplement it with our own food! A newly installed filter coffee maker was greatly appreciated. The swimming pool was also excellent - very clean and welcoming with comfortable sun loungers provided. We now thoroughly recommend this lovely simple hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Had a week here and loved the place. The sisters that run the hotel really make you feel very welcome, we both love our food and breakfast was more than adequate. The rooms were the usual greek standard with a fridge and tv and cleaned everyday. The pool and surrounding area were always clean and tidy, never too many people for the available sunbeds. We had lunch here on our last day and were well satisfied. Overall we had a fantastic holiday the only disappointment was that the bar was never open whilst we were there. Would we go back? a resounding yes!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richcoll54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGOR
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Hotel has a beautiful location overlooking the Bay of Sami, Ithaca and the Kefalonian mountains. Separated from the sea by a very quiet road from which steps lead to Paradise Beach a lovely pebble beach. Hotel is spotless, family run and very welcoming most guests going back year after year. The pool area is very nice. be aware that sunbeds do not have mattresses and that the breakfast is a Greek not a continental breakfast. Freshly cooked breakfasts of your choice are available for aroung two years. this year the hotel only served meals up to 5pm. These meals were freshly prepared, superb quality, reasonably priced and accompanied by free wine.

there are lots of nearby restaurants. Next door is Paradie beach one of the best restaurants in the island whose chocolate souffle is outstanding. Pergola on the quay is very good especially for Kleftiko. other recommended restaurants are Pergola up the Argostoli road and Maki's on the Sami road at the opposite end of the village.

Aghia Efimia is a beautiful location but a car is essential for travel around thw island. Greekstones are excellent for car hire via internet. Ferris leave Aggy for Ithaca but cheaper, pay as you arrive, caique trips are available from Sami by authentic caique and are superior. If you wish to hire a boat it is cheaper to do so in Fisgardo from which you can easily reach Ithaca. In ithaca the best located restaurant is Nichols' taverna near the lefkada ferry slip which has both excellent food, an interesting owner and superb views. further afield the To Kastro near St George's Castle is excellent.

Best panoramic drive is to go to Assos, come up from Assos and turn left and take the first right to Komatata taking a diversion to Aghia Sofia before returningto Aggy getting the best views of same.

  • Liked — Friednliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GREEKOFILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ionian Islands hotels
0.2 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greka Ionian Suites
Greka Ionian Suites
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Minas Apartments
Minas Apartments
#1 of 1 in Divarata
32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballas Apartments
Ballas Apartments
#4 of 20 in Agia Efimia
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterside Apartments
Waterside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Agia Efimia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonatas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonatas Hotel

Property: Gonatas Hotel
Address: Agia Effimias, 28081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 916 Hotels in Ionian Islands
Hotel Class:2 star — Gonatas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Gonatas Hotel Ionian Islands
Gonatas Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing