We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review of Hotel Gonatas”
Review of Gonatas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ionian Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gonatas Hotel
Ranked #280 of 917 Hotels in Ionian Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

as usual we were made incrdibly welcome by Nicky, and this year, her cousin, Maria.
The hotel has been upgraded - the pool is better and the air conditioning works perfectly.
The welcome is so warm, the baking for breakfast is so good and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and of course the location is "to die for".
We hope to go again next year - which would be our 4th consecutive visit.
Jackie and David Gerrard - august 2014.

Room Tip: second floor, balcony and sea view - too stunning - beyond words.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Gonatas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

Had a fab 10 night stay (2nd year) at this family run hotel. After initially being unhappy about being put into a ground floor room (20) next to the restaurant (as the hotel was fully booked), Nicky (without fuss) moved us up to the 2nd floor (room 36) the next morning - great views over to Ithaca and Sami.

The room and balcony were kept spotlessly clean, even had the addition of some fresh flowers (from Zaferia's garden we think!) placed in a vase! We found this room to be a lot cooler than the side one we stayed in last year and didn't find the need to use the free air-conditioning as much even when the temperature hit around 42 degrees.
Breakfast was simple, but lovely, with alternative pastries and cakes baked by Nicki. We did sample the omelettes and scrambled eggs and bacon on a couple of occasions, which were cooked very well. We also sampled homemade Kefalonian meat pie for lunch which was followed by complimentary greek yoghurt, honey and crushed biscuit desserts. Do try their cups of coffee, delicious!

There was more of an international clientele during our stay this year (Greek/Italian). Unsure if they had booked privately or used Thomas Cook (Manos) or Sunvil.

We hired a car for 3 days, online through Star Villas, before we left the UK at a very reasonable cost of 133 euros (inclusive of insurance). We visited Poros, Skala and Argostoli (saw 5 turtles in the harbour this year). Good value for money.

During the 'Welcome Meeting' we managed to book the Ithaca day trip. Luckily, as we arrived on a Saturday and staying for 10 nights on Kefalonia, we would have missed this gem of a trip as it only takes place on a Sunday (ok if your holiday starts on a Tuesday or you're staying for 2 weeks). The trip is managed by Helenic Island Tours, pick up in the village and taken by minibus to Sami harbour for the 35 minute ferry crossing. Melanie, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable of the Mythology and general history of Ithaca....a thoroughly enjoyable day and would certainly recommend it! We were informed at the meeting, that part of the main road to Fiskardo was down the mountain (due to the earthquake earlier this year) and that a boat trip attraction (the only way to get to the town) had been organised by Thomas Cook. Although we didn't want to do this trip, we subsequently found out, by other travellers, that there is a detour road to get there - takes an additional 20 minutes or so by car.

It was great to see Rita (Nicki's sister), who was on a little trip of her own for a week!

We hope to return to the Gonatas for more rest and relaxation in the beautiful village of Ag. Efimia in the future.

Efharisto Nicki, Mama, Maria, and Zaferia, once again!

Sandra and Barry xxx

Room Tip: Avoid room 20 next to the restaurant. No outlook except a wall and the steps leading up to the main...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandBar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We returned from the Gonatas on the 9th August. It was our third Stay in beautiful Agia Efimia and each time leaving gets harder! We were made to feel like part of the family. Nicki does such a wonderful job and works so hard, always with a smile on her face and nothing is too much trouble. More than adequate breakfast with small charge for delicious Greek yoghurt, fried and scrambled eggs, omelettes etc... Breakfast can be eaten sat out in the terrace overlooking the beautiful bay and Ithaca. Once again the hotel was spotless thanks to Zeferia and Mama. Sheets and towels regularly changed. The pool was never very busy so beds were always available. The view is stunning from the hotel. You can pop down to the beach for a quick dip from the pool in a couple of minutes crossing a quiet road.
Our favourite tavernas are next door at The Paradisos where we ate every other night and The Local. Food was delicious and very, very reasonable, starters, mains and a litke of local rosé wine cost around 35 euros. The small taverna underneath the Oddesey Hotel (just down from the Gonatas)run by Nico is also well worth a vist, great location, very cheap and the best grilled octopus we have tasted!
Our favourite place to visit is Assos, well worth a visit but get there early to park as gets very busy and only a small car park and good tavernas too.
All in all a wonderful holiday on a beautiful island which we will return to very soon.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the bay and Ithaca.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MandM135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went back for the third time to this very friendly hotel. We missed seeing Sonia this year as she has started a family back home - a little boy. Going slightly later this year the weather was in the 30-34 degrees every day. Niki, Mama and Maria could not be more helpfull. We have already booked 2015 there again but this time in early Sept.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antyesobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We hadn't stayed in this hotel since 2001, when Mr. Gonatas was running it, and were a bit concerned. However Nicki and her Mum (the same family) were absolutely lovely, warm and welcoming, always smiling. Views from the top floor are stunning over Sami Bay. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was simple but well done, including home-made pastries. We were very relaxed and happy throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor, the view is fabulous
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay in the Hotel Gonatas. This was our third trip to Kephalonia over the last 30 years and our first time in Agia Efimia. The Hotel is in the most perfect position. It is right in front of Paradise beach an apt name as it is picture postcard pretty and lovely spot for swimming and snorkelling. Ther is alos a taverna, The Paradiso overlooking the beach right beside the hotel.
I would descibe the Hotel as charming in a very Greek way. Our room was number 24 on the first floor. It was a good size with a double bed and a single so even thought there was only my husband and I, it could easily have slept 3 people. It was spottlesley clean and the bed linen and towells were changed evey other day.
Nicki was very freindly and helpful, even lending me her mothers hairdrier as I hadnt brought one and allowing us to recharge an Ipod on her PC as our lead didn't work.
It is run by the family and everyone makes you feel welcome. All the other guests seem to be old friends who been returning for years, always a good sign.
If you are looking for a lovely Greek Hotel in a Pretty little Harbour town with good links to the rest of the Isalnd, look no further than The Hotel Gonatas.... a real gem.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st and second floor have better views than the ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy22102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just got back from a fantastic week in Kefalonia we stayed at the Gontas where the staff were exceptionally friendly, where nothing was too much of a problem for them. Their mission I felt was to make us have the best holiday. Our room though small was clean and presented well for a Greek Hotel. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but was clean. Their breakfast terrace was lovely and though food basic for continental breakfast there was always sufficient and it was very nice. I swam in the pool everyday after a busy day on the local beaches. Thank you Gontas staff for making our holiday on your beautiful island special.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which suited us but a few were complaining because they didnt get a room...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ionian Islands hotels
0.6 mi away
Greka Ionian Suites
Greka Ionian Suites
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olive Bay Hotel
Olive Bay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Efimia
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterside Apartments
Waterside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Agia Efimia
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballas Apartments
Ballas Apartments
#4 of 20 in Agia Efimia
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonatas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonatas Hotel

Address: Agia Effimias, 28081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 917 Hotels in Ionian Islands
Hotel Class:2 star — Gonatas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Gonatas Hotel Ionian Islands
Gonatas Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing